Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vital information and examples.
No, this book does not have lots of activities in it for teachers to fall back on, but that's why I like it and why I chose it for my department. It's got lots of excellent soources, exam question examples and exam question answers to study. It makes an excellent balance of making sure the content is covered without too much to baffle weaker students.

When we...
Published on 26 Feb. 2012 by Mr Adams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Standard text book. Disappointing
I bought this book because of the reputation of John D Clare as a well known GCSE History teacher. I was hoping there would be some interesting and thought provoking activities included - there are none. The 'ACtive Book' CD Rom simply gives an electronic format of the text book: The CD Rom which provides activities for...
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by A. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vital information and examples., 26 Feb. 2012
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
No, this book does not have lots of activities in it for teachers to fall back on, but that's why I like it and why I chose it for my department. It's got lots of excellent soources, exam question examples and exam question answers to study. It makes an excellent balance of making sure the content is covered without too much to baffle weaker students.

When we chose the book, we didn't want one with lots of questions to put to students, rather I rely on my department to teach in an interesting manner without dull 'read this and answer the questions' which is prevalent amongst the worst history teachers.

I would love to be able to give a copy of it to all my students to take home and revise, but I have too many students and not enough money to be able to do this. I do encourage them to buy their own if they so wish.

If you're doing AQA GCSE History B, it's an excellent resource, it's a shame that these things are always so expensive though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity, 22 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
I bought this book for my AQA GCSE History course, and it was all I used in my revision for last summer's exam. I just simply went through each relevant chapter and made spider diagrams on each topic within each chapter and read over them a few times. Then I attempted the questions at the end of the chapters and also read the model answers.
The CD that comes with it is a bit useless but the book is excellent. I'm very glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As described, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
What can be said about a GCSE book. it is required for the prescibed course, Arrived okay but packaging a little flimsy when wet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost like new, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Z. Greaves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
This was in very good condition - as it should be for the price of a second hand book. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was ok not great, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
cd did not work the page was slightly ripped even though it was new and its the older version .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taught myself GCSE History before the exam, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
Goes over the A/A* topics, great book, a must have for GCSE History students. Topics are set out in a comprehensive and easy to understand manner and the CD is an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
A great book for students doing GCSE Level. Arrived next day and in perfect condition, as new. Would recommend to all students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Standard text book. Disappointing, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
A. Shepherd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the reputation of John D Clare as a well known GCSE History teacher. I was hoping there would be some interesting and thought provoking activities included - there are none. The 'ACtive Book' CD Rom simply gives an electronic format of the text book: The CD Rom which provides activities for the units costs more than 100 pounds. To be honest I feel cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars must have, 30 April 2011
By 
G. Hunte (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
my daughter needed this to help with her revision for her up and coming exams. its the same as the school use, and she was very pleased with, it did help her a great deal. this is a must have for history revision!a very imformative book and runs parellel with school teaching, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great study book, 8 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen G. Grover "DG" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book (Paperback)
Perfect for my sons studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book
AQA GCSE History B: Modern World Student Book by et al (Paperback - 24 April 2009)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews