Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grammar book I've found
Having taught French for several years and seen many grammar books with, at best poorly presented information and, at worst, completely inaccurate grammar, I am delighted to find this grammar guide. The explanations of each grammar point covered are clear, particular applications are high-lighted and there is a wealth of good practice exercises with each one...
Published 20 months ago by Helen Piper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No answer key for this book
This seems to be a good book, but it contains no answer key, nor is that key available as far as I can see. So I wouldn't recommend it for anyone wanting to study at home.
Published 10 months ago by James Daniel Holt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best grammar book I've found, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
Having taught French for several years and seen many grammar books with, at best poorly presented information and, at worst, completely inaccurate grammar, I am delighted to find this grammar guide. The explanations of each grammar point covered are clear, particular applications are high-lighted and there is a wealth of good practice exercises with each one.

I particularly like the section on "qui" and "que" explaining which one to use depending on whether the person/object referred to is the subject or object of the verb. "Le livre qui se trouve sur le bureau/le livre que j'ai lu", for example. I've been explaining relative pronouns this way for years!

The coverage of all tenses is excellent with the formation and usage of the present subjunctive, past historic, future and conditional perfect tenses clearly explained.

The index would maybe be more useful at the back of the book and with a little more clarity of each point's content but that's a minor gripe.

Please ignore the mnemonic "Mr. Damp's Tavern" on page 23 though - and the equally useless "Mrs. Van der Tramp" taught at schools. I've never met a student who could remember what the letters represented. Much better to use the the next tip on page 23 "memorise the verbs in pairs (or opposites) e.g. go in/go out (entrer/sortir), go up/go down (monter/descendre, come/go (venir/aller).

I would recommend this book heartily to any "A" level student or anyone studying French at a more advanced level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
I have been using this book to help my friends learn French and it's a great tool to learn and revise grammar. With each chapter, you have exercises to practise the grammar. It's a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No answer key for this book, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
This seems to be a good book, but it contains no answer key, nor is that key available as far as I can see. So I wouldn't recommend it for anyone wanting to study at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
This series is as good a grammar practice book as any of this ilke, if not better. A student will never have a bored moment if they dip into this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No answers, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Brian Morris (Languedoc, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
This book is packed with exercises, for which there is no answer section. How do the author's really think students can progress on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent grammar explanations with accompanying exercices, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
This is an excellent grammar book with helpful explanations and a wide range of practice exercises enough to cover the many aspects of the use of grammar points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we were looking for., 4 Oct 2013
By 
Skibeaky (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
Easy purchase, just what son needed for his 'A' levels.
Delivered quickly, good price, good condition.
Not much more to say really! it's a textbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well explained with very relevant exercises, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
Great, concise, simple. A great way to revise for your A level or to improve on your grammar in general, with good exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent aid., 12 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Derry "spangles47" (Winchester. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive revision/learning aid for those bridging the gap between GCSE and A/S level. It complements the text book, even following the months of the course, anticipating which areas need to be revisited and which need to be explained as a new step is introduced.
The answer booklet helps it become an autonomous tool in each case. It provides step by step support to the learner. I have found it so useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice
Heinemann A Level French Grammar Practice by Schofield (Paperback - 2 Sep 2008)
£10.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews