Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefuland informative
One book can't tell you 'everything you need to know' as some of these reviewers seem to expect. This is a very good place to start, however. It's based on the older Heinemann book by the same authors - but it's much better organised. Four clear chronologies, each dealing with one of the themes, is just what the average A2 student needs.
Published on 11 July 2012 by Corvo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor
Does not cover all of the detail required. When compared with OCR mark schemes, the exam board mentions people and events seemingly key to the topic that the book completely omits; without the mark schemes I would not have known that these apparently important people and events even existed or took place, going into the exam.

Several typos, inconsistencies...
Published 3 months ago by James


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 30 May 2014
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
Does not cover all of the detail required. When compared with OCR mark schemes, the exam board mentions people and events seemingly key to the topic that the book completely omits; without the mark schemes I would not have known that these apparently important people and events even existed or took place, going into the exam.

Several typos, inconsistencies across the book, generalisations and walls of uninspiring texts.

This book cannot justifiably call itself the aid to the OCR course, it is incredibly lacklustre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefuland informative, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
One book can't tell you 'everything you need to know' as some of these reviewers seem to expect. This is a very good place to start, however. It's based on the older Heinemann book by the same authors - but it's much better organised. Four clear chronologies, each dealing with one of the themes, is just what the average A2 student needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book. If you're on the course, get this book., 6 Mar 2012
By 
S. Patrick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
I had studied American Civil Rights 1865-1992 as part of my college course, and to be honest, I didn't really do much of the work in class. I had purchased this book without knowing 3 of the 4 themes taught. I didn't know much about labour civil rights, women civil rights or native American civil rights.

I left it late in deciding I wanted to go to university, so I bought this book to help me catch up, understand the themes and topics and to help me in my exams and I came out of the exam with an A and only 10 marks off of 100%.

Get this book if you're on the course, learn all the themes (self help, federal government help/hinder, turning points), for each topic (Natives, African Americans, Women, Unions), work on your exam technique (how to answer a question) and do a lot of practise essay and essay plans and you will do extremely well in the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe this is an official textbook!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
I tutor A-level students, and I bought this to help with a recent student who was doing the Civil Rights module this year (2013). I was looking forward to assisting with this subject as I thought it would be particularly engaging and interesting. I could not have been more disappointed with the book! If this is what I had had when I was 18 I would never have gone on to study history at university. It is full of dense, long-winded, poorly written text and its discussion of sensitive and controversial issues such as racism and feminism is extremely clumsy and insensitive (eg. reference to 'native white population' of the USA!). There are hardly any photographs, maps or diagrams and little encouragement to think about any of these issues creatively. The author also indulges in frequent generalisations and personal observations, which are not footnoted or identified as such. It's a shame that when there is such great material out there, and a really complex and sophisticated discussion of these issues in the US, the British school textbook is so substandard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job., 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
The specifiic nature of dates/events etc that are remarked in their own little passages on pages are probably what got me my A in History.

Doesn't leave anything out, however, which can at times make this a tedious read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only buy if you are very confident, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
I admit I didn't do much work in class but the way one review gave it 5* I thought this would be sufficient. Unless you get lucky and have 3 questions on turning points then this book hardly prepares you for the exam. I had a question on African American leaders and this has minimal information on them...what it does have is very scattered and hard to arrange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insufficient, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
No way near sufficient to prepare you for the exam. Not bad as an aid to revision as gives some analysis but be advised you cannot buy this book standalone for the OCR course of you want a top grade.

Howard Zinn's history of the united states of America is a far more worthwhile buy that is clearly laid out and gives tremendous amounts of analysis relevant to the unit. A bit more expansive but definitely worth it over this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Text Book, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
My daughter asked me to buy this book for her A level college course. She is really pleased it came so quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for the course but still extremely irritating, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 (Paperback)
If you are teaching or studying this course then this textbook is an essential. It has all the information needed.

However, compared to the textbook which accompanies the Russia theme it is a disaster. The book is organised chronologically throughout, only in the women section does it even I've a nod to themes. I recently attended an inset day for the teaching of the Themes unit and their advice was very clear - do NOT teach chronologically, teach thematically. That has meant I've spent most of my time this year rewriting huge chunks of the book into themes.

The exam practice sections are not very useful. The sample essays are confusing and seem to me to be unachievable for most students, and are an awkward and long winded way to getting the higher grades. It doesn't have to be that complicated.

My advice if you are teaching this course - go on an inset as soon as you can, and Buy the complimentary teaching guide available on Amazon for about 100 - not really worth that much money, but again pretty essential so you'll have to squeeze that budget).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992
OCR A Level History A: Civil Rights in the USA 1865-1992 by Susan Willoughby (Paperback - 31 Mar 2009)
13.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews