Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A play for those who are fascinated by history
I have actually been using this play as a source for my A level coursework on Thomas More. This play was easy to read and get into, and really gave you a feel for what More was actually like. I also watched the film version of the play, which also helped with the understanding of everything. The only thing I'd have to say is I don't know whether people would fully...
Published on 3 Jan. 2007 by Mrs. K. E. Coles-Blackwell

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Man for All Seasons
An fully accomplished script, with subtlety and a keen vocabulary. Interesting to convulge Mores weaving mind manacles as he escapes the law - only through his own knowledge. A hard book to truely understand but makes interesting reading.
Published on 29 Nov. 2002 by rhcp_freak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A play for those who are fascinated by history, 3 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Man for All Seasons: Hereford Plays (Paperback)
I have actually been using this play as a source for my A level coursework on Thomas More. This play was easy to read and get into, and really gave you a feel for what More was actually like. I also watched the film version of the play, which also helped with the understanding of everything. The only thing I'd have to say is I don't know whether people would fully understand all parts of the play if they had not previously done some study on the time of Henry VIII as the play seems to assume knowledge. But if you are interested in this period of history, then pick up this play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the honour to direct and design an award winning production of A Man for All Seasons. A passion for history (particularly Tudor) drew me to this. An enormous role for Thomas More and for Thomas Cromwell (to a lesser extent) but a brilliant play with everything you could want. Well recommended both for reading and for production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A play about standing by one's principles, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this play very well planned and written, with a lot of attention to all the details of the actual performance and a great admiration for this famous historical character who refused to give up his principles and paid a terribly high price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Histroy at its best, 28 Mar. 2001
The thought of a play concerned with an historical event might put you off seeing it. But in 'A Man for all Seasons', Robert Bolt has successfully created a play which deals with the historical events of Sir Thomas More's trial and execution in 1535, and at the same time made it entertaining, accessible and thought provoking. You don't need to know any of the history surrounding the play because, as a text, the plays gives you what you need to know. And the philosophical ideas which More/Bolt plays with are still relevant today - just as they were in 1535, and just as they were in 1960 when the play was written. If you get the opportunity to see a production of 'A Man for all Seasons', or the film, you really should take it up. And if you want a copy of a play which you'll refer back to time and again, then Bolt's is one you'd be well advised to invest in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern approach to an old story, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man for All Seasons: Hereford Plays (Paperback)
What an interesting play. Written in 1960, the play uses a chorus-type character who frequently changes parts to act as narrator. The staging sounds interesting, and the story-line moves briskly without missing the highlights of More's plight. There were apparently two possible endings, and this one has the weirder of the two where two politic characters join hands in a Machiavellian sort of way, even though they weren't "on the same side" throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
first class in all respects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Man for All Seasons, 29 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Man for All Seasons: Hereford Plays (Paperback)
An fully accomplished script, with subtlety and a keen vocabulary. Interesting to convulge Mores weaving mind manacles as he escapes the law - only through his own knowledge. A hard book to truely understand but makes interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Nov. 2010
It is as new and arrived very rapidly. I cannot believe it was "2nd hand"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man for All Seasons: Hereford Plays
Man for All Seasons: Hereford Plays by Mr Robert Bolt (Paperback - 4 July 1969)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews