Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Grand
Perhaps one of the most delightful of Ms. Heyer’s Regncy Romances, The Grand Sophy is a treat from beginning to end.
If Mr. Charles Rivenhall could have foreseen the havoc his cousin Sophia (Sophy to friends) would wreck in his life he would never have allowed his mother to invite her for a visit. Or would he?
For Sophy is as irresistible as she is...
Published on 18 Nov 2005 by shagufta

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Abridged
The abridged version of this brilliant book, one of Heyer's best, loses a lot of the story's panache and vivacity. Some picturesque characters and their story lines are virtually omitted altogether. What a shame. I was really disappointed.
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Abridged, 1 Nov 2011
The abridged version of this brilliant book, one of Heyer's best, loses a lot of the story's panache and vivacity. Some picturesque characters and their story lines are virtually omitted altogether. What a shame. I was really disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The grand sophy, 4 Jun 2012
Very disappointing. The book has lost all of its character. Whoever decided to approve this version does not understand heyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Version of The Grand Sophy, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed in this abridged version of The Grand Sophy. It seemed to me that all Georgette Heyer's comedy was left out and surely this is what makes her books so special and so different. More time should be spent with the reading and less or none on music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Grand, 18 Nov 2005
By 
shagufta (karachi Pakistan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
Perhaps one of the most delightful of Ms. Heyer’s Regncy Romances, The Grand Sophy is a treat from beginning to end.
If Mr. Charles Rivenhall could have foreseen the havoc his cousin Sophia (Sophy to friends) would wreck in his life he would never have allowed his mother to invite her for a visit. Or would he?
For Sophy is as irresistible as she is incorrigible. From the moment she steps into this sombre household she sees that they are all sadly in need of her help. Beautiful Cecilia is pining away in her love for a poet; poor Herbert is in the clutches of a moneylender and Charles himself is betrothed to the most depressing female imaginable. But Sophy is nothing if not resourceful. With wit and charm as her only weapons, she sets out to sort out the family’s problems, and in the process finds her true love as well.
Heyer’s brilliant wit and intelligent humour make her work stand head and shoulders above the rest. Avoiding the usual clichés of this genre, she endows her heroines with as much brain as beauty and an independence of spirit that makes them so much fun to read about.
If you feel romance novels should be explicitly passionate, Heyer may not be for you. But if a comedy of manners, with engaging characters, hilarious dialogue and between-the-lines romance is your cup of tea, The Grand Sophy is just the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Regency romance, 30 April 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Kindle Edition)
Sophy Stanton-Lacey is staying with her aunt and uncle - Lord and Lady Ombersley - at their house in Berkeley Square. Sophy horrifies and delights them by arriving accompanied by a horse, Salamanca, a parrot and a monkey, not to speak of her greyhound, Tina. The parrot and the monkey are for the children of the household. It is a household in a sorry state.

Charles, the oldest son, is betrothed to a lady who seems lacking in the slightest sense of humour; Cecilia has fallen in love with an impoverished poet and Hubert, a younger son, is deep in debt. Sophy vows to sort everyone out and find a husband for herself as well.

Full of amusing incidents and fascinating characters this is one of Georgette Heyer's liveliest Regency romances and one of the most delightful. It is interesting to see the effect the energetic Sophy has on the rather depressed household especially when she decides to organise a ball for four hundred guests without her hostess knowing exactly how many people are coming.

This is one of my favourite novels probably because nothing defeats the redoubtable Sophy. I love the humour and the way the characters interact especially the way the apparently stuffy Charles soon starts to reveal a much lighter side to his character. If you haven't tried Georgette Heyer before then this would be an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious examples..., 2 May 2011
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
After reading Laurel Ann's review there can only be left the addition of some hilarious quotes from this lovely book.

She laughed. 'Oh, that is too bad of you, Sir Vincent! I don't create disturbances: you know I don't!'
'I know nothing of the kind, my child. When last I saw you, you were engaged in arranging in the most ruthless fashion the affairs of the most bewildered family of Belgians I have yet encountered. They had all my sympathy, but there was nothing I could do to help them: I know my limitations.'
'Those poor Le Bruns! Well, but SOMEONE had to help them out of such a tangle!'

'And Charles Rivenhall is therefore your cousin. (...) Almost my heart goes out to the family. Do they tread blindly towards their doom, Sophy, or did they willingly receive a firebrand into their midst?'
She gave a chuckle. 'They tread blindly - but I am NOT a firebrand!'
'No, I used the wrong word. You are like poor Whinyates's rockets: no one knows what you will do next!'

He said stiffly: 'Since you have brought up Miss Wraxton's (his fiancée) name, I shall be much obliged to you, cousin, if you will refrain from telling my sisters that she has a face like a horse!'
'But, Charles, no blame attaches to Miss Wraxton! She cannot help it, and that, I ASSURE you, I have always pointed out to your sisters!'
'I consider Miss Wraxton's countenance particularly well-bred!'
'Yes, indeed, but you have quite misunderstood the matter! I MEANT a particularly well-bred horse!'
'You meant, as I am perfectly aware, to belittle Miss Wraxton!'
'No, no! I am very fond of horses!' Sophy said earnestly.

He burst out laughing. 'Major Quinton spoke nothing but the truth about you!' he declared. 'I am already terrified of you!'
She smiled, but said: 'Well, you need not be, for I mean to help you.'
'That is what terrifies me.'
(...)
'Do you know,' he said seriously, 'you are the most startling female it has ever been my fortune to meet? You will observe that I do not say good or ill fortune, for I haven't the smallest notion which it will prove to be!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand Sophy is a devilishly fine girl!, 24 July 2009
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
First published in 1950, The Grand Sophy contains one of Georgette Heyer's most endearingly outrageous heroines. In this newly released reissue by Sourcebooks, you are in for a rollicking good time through Regency era London with Miss Sophia Stanton-Lacy. As one of her many male admirers proclaims, "By all that is wonderful, it's the Grand Sophy!" Too true.

A diplomat's daughter, Sophy has traveled the Continent with her widowed father Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy following the British army in their pursuit of Napoleon during the Peninsular War. Two years have passed since the Monster of Elba was finally defeated and Sir Horace's duties now take him abroad to South America. He feels it is time for Sophy to marry, and who better than to present his motherless daughter to London society than his amiable sister, Lady Ombersley. But, will her eldest son Charles approve? Things in her dysfunctional family are so oddly arranged. Her indifferent husband Bernard Rivenhall, Lord Ombersley has run through his fortune, and now relies on his eldest son Charles, who inherited another estate, to pay his debts and finance his household. Charles, known for his ill temper and tight pocketbook, is engaged to equally priggish young woman, Miss Eugenia Wraxton, whose rigid grasp on social stricture is at odds with everyone who she deigns to look down her very long equine nose at. Lady Ombersley's beautiful young daughter Cecilia should marry the very eligible and wealthy Lord Charlbury, but prefers instead the handsome poet Augustus Fawnhope whose odds at fame and fortune are slim as his picking a Derby winner. Her second son Hurbert, whose moods sway with the tides of his debt, is ensconced with dubious money-lenders and in need of extraction. They all live a dull life according to Charles's autocratic commands. If ever there was a family in need of a make-over, the Rivenhall's present a tall bill.

Enter The Grand Sophy. Quick, intelligent and exuberantly capable, twenty-year old Sophy is a bracing reveille to her cousin's the Rivenhall's staid existence at Berkeley Square. From the moment she arrives on her aunt's doorstep elegantly attired with her entourage of a dog, a horse, a monkey, a parrot, a groom, a maid and a mountain of luggage, they are left with no uncertainty that this is no ordinary young lady. Outspoken and unafraid to stretch the edge of decorum, Miss Stanton-Lacy sizes up the household's problems and sets about to make them right, much to the chagrin of her cousin Charles and his meddlesome fiancée Miss Wraxton, who thinks she's a hoyden. Sophy is fearless in the face of propriety venturing beyond the constraints of the Regency women's world visiting banks, buying horses, a Phaeton carriage, and planning and paying for her coming out Ball, all the while pushing her cousin Charles' buttons at every turn. Their repartees are absolutely hilarious - Sophy almost always in command of the final outcome - and Charles not knowing what hit him. Life as the Rivenhall's had known it has been quite undone. Along the way, Sophy has a great deal of fun, and so do we.

'Life at Berkeley Square had become all at once full of fun and excitement. Even Lord Ombersley was aware of it. "By God, I don't know what's come over you all, for the place was used to be as lively as a tomb!"'

Visiting Regency London is always a treat through Georgette Heyer's astute eye. Her historical references are quite amazing. The descriptions of clothing, fabrics and furnishing were sumptuous. Her attention to the details of Regency carriages and horsemanship, was spot on. The plot kept me turning pages quickly, eager to see what Sophy's next antic would be, and which couples would be together by the conclusion of the novel. Through Sophy's exuberant personality we meet a heroine whose qualities of self assurance, conviction and zest for life are infectious. I had to laugh out loud when even the stuffy Rivenhall butler Dassett acknowledged that Sophy is a gem.

"I venture to say, she is a lady as knows precisely how things should be done. A great pleasure, if I may be pardoned the liberty, to work for Miss Sophy, for she thinks of everything, and I fancy there will be no hitch to mar the festivities."

Yes, The Grand Sophy knows precisely how things should be done, and I would not have it any other way. This was by far my most enjoyable read this year. Fun, engaging and hilarious, I can not recommend it more highly. Sophy is a devilishly fine girl.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 14 Mar 2001
By 
Ms. Fiona E. Middlemist (Nothumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
This Heyer title ranks among my favourites (admittedly there are quite a lot of them in this category...) Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy a diplomat (though one wonders), on being posted to South America from Europe lands his "little" Sophy on his sister, who presides over a rather unhappy household. But never mind, Sophy will sort it out. I'm not going to say any more. For those who know Heyer, this is a most delightful example of her work. If you are new to her, I don't think you could do better than start here. You will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfied reader!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Kindle Edition)
My favourite book from my favourite author - just had to have it in my Kindle, for anytime comfort reading and cheering up! Miss Heyer creates delightful characters, and her impeccable research enables her to take the reader into a convincing world of colour, charm and adventure - the perfect escape from today! Above all, her books bring happiness - who cares if they all end happily? The last sentence of every book leaves readers smiling, and with a strong desire to read more of her wonderful works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand Sophy, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Grand Sophy (Paperback)
It's been some years since I last read a Georgette Heyer, and I decided I really ought to pull them all out from the bookshelves and read all the ones I have again. They really are great books, and Heyer's writing is witty, sharp and incisive. Although these are quite categorically `Regency Romances', there is nothing soppy or wishy washy about Heyer's characters and her writing brings a sharpness of observation to all her stories.

This story is about Sophia, daughter of Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy, who, on her father's call to overseas business, is left with her aunt Lady Ombersley, and Lady Ombersley's family. Sophy, as she prefers to be called, has had a fairly `bohemian' upbringing by Regency standards, and is a bit of a shock to Lady Ombersley's system. But it's not long before Sophy is involved reticule-deep in the affairs of all the family members and goes about sorting them out in her own unique way.

Funny, witty, sharp, elegantly phrased, perfectly timed, Georgette Heyer's writing quite appropriately lives on after her death. This is one of her books which I can wholeheartedly recommend. I look forward to renewing my acquaintance with the others I have piled on the bookshelves. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d26aa14)

This product

The Grand Sophy
The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer (Hardcover - Dec 1961)
Used & New from: 0.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews