Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story
"Hanns and Rudolf: The True Story of the German Jew Who Tracked Down and Caught the Kommandant of Auschwitz" by Thomas Harding is a well researched and documented account of two men's lives.
We learn about Rudolf Hoess, commander of the Auschwitz concentration camp, the man responsible for millions of deaths, from his childhood to the rise within the SS, his running...
Published 10 months ago by ChristophFischerBooks

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a thriller
This is essentially a historical book concerning the men in the title. One a German Jew, the other a German Nazi. It is a very interesting account of the two men's lives and of elements of the second world war and the holocaust. It is not a thriller as it seems to be marketed as but is certainly very engaging and often harrowing book.
Published 1 month ago by Edward Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating history but most of all a human story, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. Having read many books on the Holocaust 'enjoy' is not a word you usually use. But this book was different. Past history, part detective novel, part thriller, part biography. But most of all a tale about two very different men, brought together in the worst of times. And I cried at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those books that everyone should and could read. A fascinating story told with amazing insights and written with exceptional simplicity. Never confusing and never overly dramatic. The story is handled with dignity, taste and respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a remarkable man, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extraprdinary tale of a remarkable man, Alex. I sat next to him and laughed with him for many years at Warburgs and never knew the history that had inadvertently brought us together. I am humbled. Well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A historical account that is a page turner and written like a novel. Brilliant!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engrossing, fascinating and unsentimental account. The least dry non-fiction, historical account I've ever read. I've learnt so much from this book without even trying to remember facts. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanns and Rudolf, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read. Giving two perspectives on the World War 1 as experienced by a Jew and a German. I am still in the middle of reading the book and it is my first book to read on my newly purchased kindle. So very pleased with both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real history written like a gripping novel, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic book!
It is never dull, it spares no punches and despite the early declaration of the author as to why he wrote the book, we see both characters (of Hanns and Rudolf) as rounded individuals, with likable traits and wicked flaws. In fact such is the author's skill that, at times, I was having to check myself from beginning to feel sorry for Rudolf Hoss, the kommandant of Auschwitz and one of the deadliest and inhuman mass murderers we've ever had the misfortune to witness.

You see, we are introduced to Rudolf, and Hanns, the German Jew working for the British army who eventually tracked him down, as small boys. Their tales are told in parallel and we watch them grow, see their characters develop and understand the twists of fate and circumstance that led each along their own paths in life.

Inside Auschwitz the life of the Kommandant and his family is revealed in stark contrast to the horror of existence as an inmate. For me the most sickening thing wasn't how Rudolf could kill tens of thousands and return home like he'd spent the day counting paperclips, it was how his wife, Hedwig, knew what was happening and yet was able to fret about matching curtains and seamstresses.

This is a simply stunning book. Heroic, tragic, gutwrenching and at times light hearted. Please read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an historically impotant book, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it explores how a normal human being develops into a monster and contrasts that with the life of the persecuted who becomes the hunter. A fascinating read of historical importance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanns & Rudolf, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really well written book.
The comparisons of birth, upbringing etc.. really well done. It held the attention from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To truly understand the horror of the Holocaust you should understand those who committed it and those who stopped them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most interesting and informative books I've read for a long while., 1 Jun 2014
By 
S. Hartley "Ahimsa" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every page captivating. A very interesting insight into the psychology of a war criminal both before, during and after the war. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hanns and Rudolf: The German Jew and the Hunt for the Kommandant of Auschwitz
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews