Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Bones and Bodies to Brood Over
Kathy Reichs approaches her books' contents in the detailed style that must resemble her professional life as a forensic pathologist with the added spice of a novelist. This kicks off with a tell-tale gruesome maggot-infested location of a neonate whose body is uncovered in an apartment. The initial passages hold the readers' attention readily. Dr Temperance Brennan, the...
Published 23 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shiver in the bones...
From the distressing opening scene of a small maggot-infested corpse, you know straightaway that this latest from Kathy Reichs is seemingly more edgy in it's subject matter and choice of victim than her usual fare, as Temperance Brennan once again finds herself embroiled in murders most foul. With typical attention to detail, we follow Brennan's crucial forensic...
Published 23 months ago by Raven


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Bones and Bodies to Brood Over, 18 Aug 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) (Hardcover)
Kathy Reichs approaches her books' contents in the detailed style that must resemble her professional life as a forensic pathologist with the added spice of a novelist. This kicks off with a tell-tale gruesome maggot-infested location of a neonate whose body is uncovered in an apartment. The initial passages hold the readers' attention readily. Dr Temperance Brennan, the Canadian (Quebec) expert uncovers two more preserved babies mummified in the same room. Her post-mortem and observational findings indicate features linking the deaths as suspect, possibly unnatural causes of death. This is the setting for the pursuit and identification of the culprits with the putative mother at the top of the agenda. The lonesome trail leads to Yellowknife, atmospherically and historically portrayed in graphic style. A site of threat, tension and more questions thrown than answers given.

Kathy Reich's novel is in keeping with previous writings. Short, punchy dialogue, gripping and unfolding gradually with tension, twists and logical unravelling of the storyline. Relentless in her scientific pursuit, Temperance Brennan complements this with her unfailing ferreting out of the case. Only then may matters be satisfactorily concluded. Not quite so easy or comfortable, however. Further revelations unmask dangers that may be more personal than anticipated. As with Kathy Reichs's stories, there are asides that add to the professional procedures. Some romantic interludes are an additional source of interest within the more solemn nature of her endeavours. We are reminded of her motherly responsibilities that inevitably cause some conflicts of interest with her vocation.

Another enjoyable example of the author's talent and the protagonist's occupational hazards. Consistently excellent and no doubt again popular. No qualms about her style nor her varied expression of successfully delivering the suspenseful stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shiver in the bones..., 15 Aug 2012
By 
Raven (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) (Hardcover)
From the distressing opening scene of a small maggot-infested corpse, you know straightaway that this latest from Kathy Reichs is seemingly more edgy in it's subject matter and choice of victim than her usual fare, as Temperance Brennan once again finds herself embroiled in murders most foul. With typical attention to detail, we follow Brennan's crucial forensic discoveries as she pieces together- sometimes literally, as later she solves a macabre jigsaw involving exhumed remains- the secrets that dead bodies can yield up under her close scrutiny . No matter how many times the song `Dem Dry Bones' crosses my mind in Reichs' detailing of which bone connects to which, I always find the specificity of this information strangely compelling andit always adds to the perennial authenticity of Brennan's logical and focused investigations of the human body.

Another weapon in Reichs' armour is her ability to perfectly capture place and atmosphere, whether in the `nuts and bolts' description of location, or is as particularly evident in the setting of Yellowknife, the own peculiar history of that location. Reichs' takes us on a historical trip back through Yellowknife's former fortunes as an area rich in gold, to it's now new lucrative position as a diamond -mining town. Personally, I rather enjoy this sojourn down a rags to riches memory lane (at least for some of the prospectors) to flesh out what is at times a slightly leaky story with some twists in the plot signposted a little too clearly for the seasoned crime reader. Also, in the course of the book, Reichs' tries a little homespun social analysis on the subject of race and dips her toe into a somewhat stereotypical depiction of environmental campaigners and, although I can understand her needing to employ these facets of the story to drive the plot forward in a particular direction, it does feel a tad forced and, dare I say it, slightly clunky at times.

On an altogether lighter note, Brennan finds herself torn between two lovers as a couple of former suitors flex their muscles and vie for her attention, with the inevitable butting of heads that always ensues in these situations, and with rather a surprise announcement by Brennan's daughter Katy to add to her personal chagrin, there is a nice balance as usual between Brennan the professional forensic anthropologist, a concerned mother and quite possibly a lover...no spoilers here!

I must confess after not having read a Kathy Reichs for a while it was quite nice to revisit a familiar character- like pulling on a comfy pair of slippers- and despite its flaws it was great to spend some time in the company of Temperance Brennan. I'd rather missed her!

(And it goes without saying, extra points for the adaptation of a Bond movie for the title...!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bones of a story, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read most of her books and felt, in this one especially, scientific details were added to the pad the book out; I glazed over with some of them but perhaps that's just me. Although I finished it for me it lacked something of her previous books and without giving the plot away the story line didn't make sense in parts - nor did it have the suspense factor of earlier ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back up to standard, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) (Hardcover)
Bones Are Forever is the 15th book in the Temperance Brennan series by Kathy Reichs. The action starts in Quebec with the corpse of a newborn baby in the bathroom of a run-down apartment. Tempe discovers the mummified remains of another two babies, and investigation results indicate an Edmonton prostitute with at least three aliases. Liaison with Edmonton PD has Ryan and Tempe travelling there in search of the mother and possible further corpses. Events there send Tempe, the arrogant RCMP officer Oliver Hasty (with whom Tempe has a long-ago history) and Detective Andrew Ryan (whose attitude seems to indicate a problem he is not sharing) to the small diamond mining community of Yellowknife, in the North West Territories. Is the mother fleeing from her violent pimp? Or is there more to the story? Are the local drug lords involved? What about the environmentalists? Reichs fills this novel with plenty of information, presenting it in an easy-to-assimilate form. As well as the expected facts related to forensic anthropology (determining age of neonatal bones, biogeographical ancestry, exhumation, dental records, determination of sex from bones), Reichs gives the reader plenty of facts about the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, diamond mining, exploration, staking claims, prospecting permits, gold mining and arsenic. I even learned facts about our own BHP Billiton mining company. The characters and dialogue were back up to Reichs usual standard, and the plot was original, with enough twists to keep the reader guessing. A big improvement on Flash and Bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bones Are Forever, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual gritty story but the writing has deteriorated. Short, single-sentence paragraphs; over-use of North American habit of turning nouns into verbs plus a lot of N.Am slang which grates with this English reader. Still, I expect I will buy the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointments are Forever, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) (Hardcover)
I am a devoted fan of Kathy Reichs, having read every one of her books. This time, however, I was in for a surprise. Lack of suspense, denouement and pace flaw this non-page-turner from the start. I had to struggle to finish it. Not at all up to Reich's skill with intrigue and interesting plot development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 8 Jun 2013
By 
J. D. Douglas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Reichs novels seem to be trying to go the same way as the Cornwall novels - and they have become so 'plot driven with bad people trying to kill her' that she has lost a bit of focus on the book. Just write a book - like you used to. We loved them. Stop trying to be too fancy. Still enjoyed the book, but I don't think it is as good as previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Started well, then really bored me, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) (Hardcover)
I had read the preview chapter of this book and couldn't wait to read it. What a disappointment. The beginning was good and the end was quite good, but the middle bored me. Will I read the next in the series? Probably, if I find it in a charity shop, but i certainly won't rush to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bones are forever, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as with all Kathy's Reichs novels its another one thats informative and keeps you thinking from start to finish excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best from this author, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I look forward to Kathy Reich's New books and when I saw this I couldn't wait to start reading......what a disappointment...too much explaining of mundane techniques. Ok if you want to become a doctor or scientist. I felt if wad there to pad out the weak story line.
The Ruben character plot was easily worked out. I usually cannot put her books down but this one I could leave alone for days I hope the next book from Kathy is written in her usual style, this book was boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15)
Bones Are Forever: (Temperance Brennan 15) by Kathy Reichs (Hardcover - 16 Aug 2012)
14.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews