Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting memoir to a great historian
This is a wonderful book and reminds us, if we need any reminding, that we have lost, with Tony Judt's untimely death in August, perhaps the foremost historian of our troubled times.The Memory Chalet is a memoir that traces Judt's life from a secular Jewish childhood in South London to his last years as the Erich Maria Remarque Professor of European Studies at New York...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by Robert Golding

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not redeemed by the solemnity of its context
It seems mean and nasty to write a damning review of a book written by an acclaimed intellectual in what was more or less his dying moments. To people who treasure his historical work this must be a very poignant collection, full of sorrow and reflection.

I'm afraid I haven't read any of his other work, and this was just a bore to me. Reading through someone...
Published 16 months ago by Jezza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memory Chalet, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Memory Chalet (Hardcover)
This book is just so good.
It's well written, and you want to read it very slowly, so that you don't miss anything. Also the author besides his huge historical knowledge, writes with great philosophical approach.
It'is one of the best books, I have read for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Chalet (Hardcover)
Seems to me to be more of an anti-England reflection (sort of the reverse of looking back with rose tinted spectacles). The early stuff was interesting, his recollections of travelling the public transport system of London were evocative. But I found it hard to find a sense of purpose in the book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memory Chalet, 3 Mar 2012
By 
S. Sajin "Kiki" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Chalet (Paperback)
Great book! I enjoyed it very much and bought four more for my friends. For my daughter I got in two languages. Fully recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief review, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Memory Chalet (Hardcover)
There are very few books which I have read straight through twice without tackling something else in the interim. This is one of them.

I'd be interested to know how it reads to someone younger than Judt, to whom Judt's experiences (and mine) are, in L P Hartley's words, "a foreign country".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FRAGMENTS OF AUTOBIOGRAPHY, 11 Jan 2011
By 
J. Scott (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Memory Chalet (Hardcover)
The Memory Chalet is a series of autobiographical sketches written by a historian in the shadow of an illness rapidly destroying him.
His most vivid recollections are of post-1945 London where he grew up and was schooled.
He was aware of just how much had changed in half a century and that in some ways, education being an example, this amounted to deterioration.
Unhappily there are large gaps. He grew up in a secular Jewish household but became an ardent Zionist.
This is not fully dealt with. His father was a member of the Socialist Party of Great Britain (possibly the most sectarian of socialist sects) but, unlike his father's passion for cars, very little is made of this.
There is a strong sense of having being deprived of the whole story by the author's death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Memory Chalet
The Memory Chalet by Tony Judt (Hardcover - 4 Nov 2010)
13.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews