Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowers for the Judge
The publishing firm of Barnabus is suddenly in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons when one of its directors is found dead in a locked cellar which the firm uses as a strong-room. Albert Campion has already been called in to investigate because Paul has disappeared and naturally becomes involved in the subsequent investigation.

What follows is an intricate...
Published 17 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh so slow
Everyone has different tastes but I am afraid this book was not to mine. It was far too slow for me and after a while I realised I didn't care how it ended. So I never did get to the end. There are better books out there.
Published 2 months ago by Lawrence Foye


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowers for the Judge, 21 April 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The publishing firm of Barnabus is suddenly in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons when one of its directors is found dead in a locked cellar which the firm uses as a strong-room. Albert Campion has already been called in to investigate because Paul has disappeared and naturally becomes involved in the subsequent investigation.

What follows is an intricate story with many strands both past and present and the tension gradually builds to a nail biting finish and an intriguing epilogue. I found myself totally engrossed in this story and having read three or four Albert Campion stories I am starting to warm to Campion himself as a character.

Margery Allingham's writing is excellent as is her plotting and her characters and the reader has to be very observant to work out where the story is going. This story has stood the test of time well and it is still readable eighty years after it was first published. If you like crime stories in the conventional mould then try this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Lugging about., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great Allingham book. Campion is one of my favourite sleuths. Who is he really? We never do find out, although Lugg obviously knows. I truly didn't see the end of the story coming. Looking back on it, the hints were there, but not laboured. Glad to see the Campion books starting to appear on Kindle, they have been long time coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic crime, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Tereszczuk "grenville30" (SE England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
direct from kindle, it is so easy to buy your favourite books. Anyone who has never read Margery Allingham has missed out on one of the great crime writers (better than Christie)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh so slow, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers For The Judge (Paperback)
Everyone has different tastes but I am afraid this book was not to mine. It was far too slow for me and after a while I realised I didn't care how it ended. So I never did get to the end. There are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone wanting to add a good book to their collection cant go wrong with this,it's excellent. A very good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I hoped for, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers For The Judge (Audio CD)
This product completely met my expectation.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. A well produced package, the book is very well read by Philip Franks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice trip into the past. A good read and plot ok. I will read more Margery Allinghams when find them cheap for a kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 5 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers For The Judge (Paperback)
This is one of Allingham's London mysteries. The plot is tight enough for fans of Christie and Dickson Carr, but it has her distinctive period feel for London too. If you love the bizarre side of Allingham's writing you won't be disappointed, but the plot isn't overwhelmed by grotesquerie, making this a good read for everyone who likes classic detective fiction. Incidentally, I suspect one of PD James' novels pays silent homage to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought on line version ? No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers for the Judge
Flowers for the Judge by Margery Allingham (Hardcover - 2 Nov 1964)
Used & New from: £2.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews