Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 of 4: Resurrecting an ancient powerful foe...
This novel, "Day Watch", follows "Night Watch" and anticipates "Twilight Watch" and "Eternal Watch" (the last title is available already in Russian and German).

Described as Russia's (belated) answer to Tolkien, Lukianenko has created a lively and absorbing narrative evolving around the forces of the Light and the Dark, who, embraced in an eternal battle for...
Published on 2 Jun 2007 by Mao

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel
Like the first book, this one is also separated into 3 different books, each one written from the perspective of a different character. The first, tells the story of a witch, Alisa, who was introduced in the Night Watch. She seemed like a bitch in that book, but here she has character and you feel sorry for her. The author uses the same easy flow of words, so if you...
Published on 6 July 2009 by Helen Agiantritis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 of 4: Resurrecting an ancient powerful foe..., 2 Jun 2007
By 
Mao (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day Watch (Paperback)
This novel, "Day Watch", follows "Night Watch" and anticipates "Twilight Watch" and "Eternal Watch" (the last title is available already in Russian and German).

Described as Russia's (belated) answer to Tolkien, Lukianenko has created a lively and absorbing narrative evolving around the forces of the Light and the Dark, who, embraced in an eternal battle for the minds and spirits of the human population, share the responsibility to monitor each other's activities to uphold an equilibrium agreed upon a thousand years ago in the "Great Contract". Thus both forces have set up units tasked to control each other, making sure the respective other side observes granted quota of influencing humans: at night, the wizards and shapeshifters of the Light (the Night Watch) will police the streets, while at day it is the vampires and witches of the Dark (the Day Watch) who monitor the Light's activities.

Lukianenko does not simply take a manichaean stand point in his stories where the Light is the absolute Good and the Dark is the absolute Evil, but describes both sides as natural aspects of live and thus willing to go to considerable lenghts to assure their own status (aspiring dominance over the other). A feature Lukianenko uses to infuse the narrative with mysticism is the concept of the 'Twilight' and its several layers through which the forces of Light and Dark can move - unobserved by humans in the 'real world' - always endangered to be sucked into the void of un-being (the third instalment in this series of four will deal more thoroughly with the 'Twilight'). I'm under the impression that this 'Twilight' is the source of power for the two forces, similar to Terry Pratchett's 'light fantastic'.

"Day Watch" continues where "Night Watch" left off, with the same main characters (including initially anti-hero Anton), but with a new plot: an ancient sect of the Dark has resurfaced and attempts to resurrect an ancient and most powerful Dark wizard to finally gain the upper hand. The novel, split into three 'stories' each with a certain aspect-focus of the overall story arch, follows the Light's attempts to apprehend this sect and foil their plot. In the last few chapters, a third force is introduced: a class of judges consisting of members from both sides who hold trial over the events in this book.

Each of the novels feature a pre-prolog stating this story's significance to the cause of the forces of Light and Dark, indicating both sides' actions. The narrative in "Day Watch" is described as being 'harmful' to the cause of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant a fantastic sequal to the first, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. K. E. Pinder (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was uncertain how i would take to the second book, i enjoyed the first immensley. But because i had already associated with the characters in the night watch i thought it might be difficult to change allegencs so to speak as the presumably the Day Watch was going to be written from the side of the Day Watch. But surely enough the author soon had me disliking the night watch and favouring the dark ones. it had a brilliant plot just like the first one and once again i thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 6 July 2009
By 
Helen Agiantritis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like the first book, this one is also separated into 3 different books, each one written from the perspective of a different character. The first, tells the story of a witch, Alisa, who was introduced in the Night Watch. She seemed like a bitch in that book, but here she has character and you feel sorry for her. The author uses the same easy flow of words, so if you enjoyed the Night Watch, you won't be disappointed with the Day Watch. The second story introduces a strange character and the story has an interesting twist at the end. The whole books gives an interesting view of Moscow and Russian insight. I fully recommend this for any Night Watch fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like Potter!!, 10 Jun 2011
I picked up the first book in this trilogy at random as I was looking for a new author and liked the sound of the name. After the first 2 chapters I was hooked. The Day Watch is a mirror image of The Night Watch. It shows situations from an entirely different perspective.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel, 23 Mar 2010
This is a good follow-up to the first book in the series, where the plot thickens and the cast of characters increases. It follows the same format as the first book, in that there are three stories, but Anton Gorodetsky is no longer the main focus. The first two stories are written in the first person - the first through a dark witch, and the second through a unique character - but the third is written in the third person, and there are several more passages of this form in the first two stories as well. It is interesting to see this world through the eyes of a Dark Other, and even though the border between the light and the darkness is still somewhat ambiguous, I think the author did a good job of writing from the side of a woman. As in the first book, there is plenty of action and plenty of mystery, so the pages just seem to fly by. There is a lot (too much, in my opinion) of moralizing in these books, but they are not deep. There are some good observations, and an occasional piece of wisdom, but I read them because they are exciting, entertaining and unpredictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Kids, 8 Jan 2009
By 
G. Ashworth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Day Watch is the middle book of a trilogy which is now expanding into five novels of the Night Watch series. The series is superb, imaginative and original and although it is advertised as being like Harry Potter and has been compared to Tolkein, the concept is absolutely original and very subtle.

I would advise any parent to a teenage to buy Night Watch, Twilight Watch or Last Watch for their children, but not Day Watch as the story deals with the activities of the evil characters in the community, incudes an attempted gay rape at gun point and a prolonged sex scene.

The other books in the series are understated in the sex and gore field and the emphasis is more on intellectual problem solving and character depiction. The concept of the Others, a group of people who have the ability to step into the Twilight and have powers and actions that are restricted by the Inquisition, who try to keep the peace between the dark and light, is extraordinarily clever and the very Russian way in which the emotional relationships between characters influence their actions makes western novels of the same genre feel cold, detached and lacking in humanity.

I cannot recommend the series enough for an adult audience; I can honestly say that these books are the most fascinating that I have read in a long time, but this particular book is not for youngsters, unlike the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The switch of view is exciting, but i fail to see the difference between the sides that would lead to an eternal conflict with world shattering consequences - both sides, "light" and "dark" seems to behave in much the same way and even hold much the same ideology.
If you liked the first then this is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, nicely different, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came across this book by accident and wasn't too bothered about reading it but was immediately hooked. The writing style is very different from your usual - possibly due to the translation from the original Russian - but it works well. I particularly liked hearing a Russian's thoughts on his own country and the rest of the world which comes through the main story. The story line itself is clever and believable and the three section structure used that others have discussed is brilliant - two self contained stories linked in the third. Anyway, a very enjoyable book on a lot of levels and I went straight out and bought the rest in the series (all just as good)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strange, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is hard to get into them but once you do they are brilliant. Glad i took the chance and puchased them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars day watch, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book really enjoyed reading this after the nightwatch was happy as it was well written and a good follow on to first book i couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day Watch
The Day Watch by Vladimir Vasiliev (Paperback - 23 Dec 2006)
10.48
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews