Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare Bones need more flesh.
As an avid reader of Reichs books I bought this one as soon as published but was not as impressed as previous ones. There are lots of story threads surrounded by snippets of details.KR has managed to cram so much in to this book that I felt although a great read I personally would have liked to have a bit more depth to all the strands...some of the strands such as the...
Published on 21 July 2003 by P A Dubois

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Previous Instalments
I was swithering between three and four stars because Reichs continues to be one of my favourite authors. I guess it came down to the fact that by comparison with earlier books in this series this effort was just not quite up to par.

The title itself is a pun - some human remains are found amongst buried bear bones. Naturally, it is Brennan that discovers these...
Published on 19 Jan. 2012 by Hazel Jessiman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As Previous Instalments, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Bare Bones (Paperback)
I was swithering between three and four stars because Reichs continues to be one of my favourite authors. I guess it came down to the fact that by comparison with earlier books in this series this effort was just not quite up to par.

The title itself is a pun - some human remains are found amongst buried bear bones. Naturally, it is Brennan that discovers these bones (well, actually it's her dog) which is somewhat reminiscent of Jessica Fletcher never managing to leave her house without stumbling over a body. Also, in an apparent different storyline, a baby's bones have been found burnt in a stove - this particular crime has a connection to someone Tempe has worked with, yet another tired plot device.

The dry, black humour is there, interesting forensic information is patiently explained, red-herrings lead our faithful heroine in wrong directions and relationships are developed. Overall, it is a fairly exciting tale with loose ends tied up and we actually get to see Tempe interact with her daughter and even attempt to embark on a relationship. It continues the series nicely.

My problems with the novel are the various familiar plot devices reappearing - all the murders link into one another and, once again, the heroine winds up in a dangrous predicament and, once again, her life is placed at stake. Also, is it just me, or have the plots become a tad dumbed down? Another reviewer, discussing one of Reichs' later books, remarks that reading a Brennan novel used to be a challenge. I agree - I used to have to pay attention when I was reading them and at times, I felt like I was actually learning stuff. Even the characters' emotions - tensions between them, unspoken fears, etc, they too used to seem deeper, somehow. Yet, this depth and needing to be awake when reading - it was a good thing. This book seemed to be more of a light read. There were still scientific explanations but not of the same level. As a result, they seem less interesting. And it makes the series less unique. This could be any slightly-above-average-run-of-the-mill crime/thriller/mystery.

Don't get me wrong - she's still above average. But, this book wasn't gripping. Her first two or three were. And she stood out as an author. Bare Bones isn't bad - it's just not fantastic. Will I keep reading her novels? Definitely. But I'll wait til they come out in paperback in the supermarket. I will no longer pre-order the hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare Bones need more flesh., 21 July 2003
By 
P A Dubois (Dorking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bare Bones (Hardcover)
As an avid reader of Reichs books I bought this one as soon as published but was not as impressed as previous ones. There are lots of story threads surrounded by snippets of details.KR has managed to cram so much in to this book that I felt although a great read I personally would have liked to have a bit more depth to all the strands...some of the strands such as the Email stalker could have made a book on their own. However as expected all the loose ends are tied up but I felt cheated that I had not really got in to the book as I can do with some others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kathy Reichs - Bare Bones, 2 Jun. 2012
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Paperback)
So here we have the 6th edition to Kathy Reichs' Temperance Brennan series. This time we join Tempe at home in Carolina as she prepares for a well needed vacation. Before hand though, she's invited by her daughter to a picnic to meet her daughter's new love interest. While enjoying the picnic Tempe and her dog Boyd stumble upon some bones (of course) and here we have the beginning of our mystery. Soon enough Tempe's vacation is called in and the discovered bones seem to be related to another case Tempe's investigating involving bones of a new born child burnt to death in an oven.

Now this is a good enough book, fast paced and enjoyable enough but it's all just so cliched. Tempe, once an enjoyable, realistic character to rival Patricia Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta, here becomes a tired template of the genre. It was somewhat annoying in the fact that all the clues and integral parts of the mystery seemed to just fall into Brennan's lap. And I'll agree with what some other reviewers have been saying that this seems a bit dumbed down. When I first started reading this series the books where in depth and actually took a bit of effort to read and keep track of the plot. But with this offering we have the key components of the plot handed to us on a big ol' platter. And just in case we missed them first time around we have them repeated a few times after for good measure. Now none of this is a bad thing, i'm still awarding it 3 stars and if you've been following the series or are even just a fan of the genre i'm sure you'll enjoy this one. However I know Reichs' is capable of better. And on a final note the ending is so rushed and abysmally unoriginal you'll be left wondering whether or not Kathy simply lost interest in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best she has written!, 17 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bare Bones (Hardcover)
I have too admit that after reading all the other books in this series i was disappointed in 'Bare Bones'. It was nowhere near the quality that the others were written in. It was my least favourite of them all. However I would suggest that you read the others books as they are extremely gripping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really her best, but still adequate, 29 Jun. 2003
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bare Bones (Hardcover)
The remains of a new-born baby are discovered in a wood stove. Bones are discovered in two plastic bags in a wood, and further investigation finds more bones in a farmhouse nearby. A small plane crashes on a North Carolina hillside and bursts into flames. A mysterious black substance is found on the bodies of the pilot and passenger and the burnt-out interior. These events bring forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan into a whirlpool of mystery that will eventually end with her taking a life.
It’s good. It’s not great. It’s certainly not Fatal Voyage or Death du Jour, but is more like the quality of Deadly Decisions. Tempe remains the wonderfully human character that she always has been, and there are some magical moments between her and daughter Katie that are guaranteed to please readers, as well as a very welcome return from Andrew Ryan, who, even though fictional, simply sizzles on the page. However, aside from that, there isn’t a great deal in the way of further character development, even though it is interesting to see a novel with Tempe firmly entrenched in the city of Charlotte for the first time in the series. And it’s a series that, what with all the possible locations and directions it can take, certainly remains fresh and promises to do so for quite a while yet.
Reichs’ dialogue, as always, is brilliantly snappy, acute, and amusing, even if there is a little much of it, and there’s plenty of great detail to make this an incredibly good and authentic thriller on the forensics front. Reichs’ writing style is quirky and somewhat eccentric, but only because she’s such a wonderful first-person writer, really getting into the head of her main character (maybe because, I suspect, there is a great deal of the writer herself supplanted into the protagonist) and making the writing seem curiously human. However, Bare Bones (as well as being a little too short to be fully developed) ultimately suffers from something that a couple of her books have done: She gets bogged down in bones. Or, rather, the reader does. There are rather too many sets of bones and crimes and villains, and as a result it’s very easy for the reader to get them all muddled in their mind. There are too many criminals mixed up in the goings on, and to be honest by the end it’s a job to keep up with who killed which person where and how and why they did it. But, with a little careful checking of your facts, this can still remain a mostly satisfying and hugely suspenseful pageturner of a thriller.
To be honest, the quality of Reichs’ novels seems to be entirely subjective…every year, each new book runs the entire gamut of reader opinion, with some thinking it her best, others her worst, and everything else in between. This book will probably get a very similar reaction, so the most sensible thing to do is to try it out for yourself and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bare Bones., 28 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bare Bones (Hardcover)
Having read most of the other titles by Reichs, and greatly enjoying them all, i was not dissappointed by the anticipated Bare Bones.
The plot was typically thick and absorbing, with many strands being entertwined perfectly by the last page. Not a book for readers who struggle with a great many characters to remember, however the varied and large cast only adds to the colourful patchwork that it is Bare Bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best., 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Liam Sizer "Bookworm" (Romsey, Hampshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was quite enjoyable but the cast of characters was too big, making it fairly difficult to follow. Reichs is also starting to place Brennan in situations of life and death scenarios akin to those in Bond movies and cheap, poorly written thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bare Bones, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as most of her books.A rather messy plot.Very strange characters and untidy ending as though she wanted to get on with something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Her Best, 23 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bare Bones (Paperback)
Kathy Reichs naturally has a genuine talent for writing books of this genre, given she is writing about a profession at which she is at the top. Her anthropological and forensic detail are again superb in this outing. She also has a rare talent for keeping you on the edge, turning the pages at pace. One of the best ways she does this is leaving you with a real cliff hanger at the end of each chapter.
This is another strong story (Reichs also always picks a topic of general interest and concern and explains it with careful attention - in this case, wildlife), but for me, it just seemed to be over a litle too quickly.
She packs the story out with interesting diversions throughout, as in many of her books, but her finishing style remains the same. Somehow, Brennan always gets knocked out, attacked, kidnapped or otherwise taken out of action. She wakes up days later, all crimes have been solved, all bad guys locked up and her personal life much stronger for all the reasons mentioned above. And this story is no different. I got to the end, and i wanted to know more. She does explain the connections, but just a little too quickly for me.
Dont let this put you off, if you like Reichs, you will like this, but 3 stars seems right. Roll on 'Monday Mourning' in June
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let Down, 20 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Bare Bones (Hardcover)
After having read and thoroughly enjoyed Kathy Reichs earlier books I was sorely disappointed with Bare Bones. I felt it was definitely not up to the standard of the earlier Tempe novels. It was almost as if Kathy Reichs is in need of a cash injection and just knocked this novel out to boost her funds. I love books with lots of characters but these all seemed very superficial. I haven't given up on her and will try again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bare Bones
Bare Bones by Kathy Reichs (Hardcover - 3 July 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews