Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams you are sorely missed!
After Douglas Adams exhausted what he could of the Hitchhhiker's Guide "Trilogy", he set off on a new ramp with the Dirk Gently character. He ended up only writing two books: "Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency" and "The Dark Tea-time Of The Soul". These are both as hysterical as could be expected from the Hitchhiker author and good friend of Monty Python. Dirk...
Published on 18 April 2005 by JJ&TT

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moderately good, but dissapointing for Douglas Adams
"Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency" is okay, which is massively disappointing if you have read The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: Volume One in the Trilogy of Five (Hitchhikers Guide 1). I thought the plot was pretty average, although the character of Dirk Gently is good. Adams managed to write well, yet did not carry me along in quite the same way as he did with...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adams you are sorely missed!, 18 April 2005
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
After Douglas Adams exhausted what he could of the Hitchhhiker's Guide "Trilogy", he set off on a new ramp with the Dirk Gently character. He ended up only writing two books: "Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency" and "The Dark Tea-time Of The Soul". These are both as hysterical as could be expected from the Hitchhiker author and good friend of Monty Python. Dirk Gently is the British Columbo (TV's Peter Falk) and I only wish Douglas Adams had set out to write more about this fun schlepp of a character.
The stories are not as bizarre as Hitchhiker and feel a bit more "restrained" (for lack of a better word). Great reads both of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dirk Gently Omnibus, 10 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
Any fan of Hitchhiker will love these books. Great themes and ideas are explored with the same acute oberservation skills that identify Douglas Adams' as one of the most enjoyable reads around.
Explore the concepts of time travel and earthbound Gods with a detective twist. I have read both many, many times and each time it is a joy and a laugh out loud experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Douglas Adams as we all know and love him!, 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
Reading the two books (now combined into one) for about the third time in 7 years still makes me laugh! Dirk Gently has got to be one of Douglas Adams most loved charachters - simply because the guy is odd - no other way of describing him!
This time around I am able to relate to some of the locations mentioned - having recently moved to the UK. Douglas Adams will be sorely missed - for those of us that enjoy a slightly off beat read.
Having started off with The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy as an introduction to Douglas Adams - I must admit that I much prefer Dirk Gently - so anyone who enjoyed reading about Ford and Arthur - try reading about Dirk, the electric monk and good old Thor!
Wonderful read - great escapism from the mundane and norm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Summary of Tea-Times and Souls, 25 Jun 2004
By 
Oymaprat (Nowhere In Particular) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
I shall summarise all the other reviews below mine for you. This is a book (or rather two books) that someone who has enjoyed another of Adams' works should enjoy. That is the majority, not everyone. These two books are writen in the same vain as the Hitchikers books (recommend) in that there are a lot of surreal things going on, however it has a different feel to it. It is darker and more serious. (which is not to say it IS serious, just more-so) This works well to build up a good atmosphere throughout the book. Yes the title charactor doesn't appear until well over half way in the first book but he is covered for rather well by another intriguing charactor. And yes the ending to No 1 isn't easy to follow but for Christs sake niether is most of Hitchiker! As for the second book, it is far fetched from the off but great none-the-less.
They are both good books and in my opinion this compilation edition is just as good as the books seperately and is cheaper! And, from the opinions expressed on this page, it seems they suggest this is worth the risk of buying and disliking it. I can only hope that I have given valid advice. I hope you enjoy these books (this book) as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent books, 16 April 2007
By 
N. Mollat - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
Both of the Dirk Gently books are absolutely brilliant. I would recommend trying to find them in their audiobook versions if possible as Adams' reading only makes them more entertaining. It also helps you to follow all the different threads a little more easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big favorite, 31 Oct 2004
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
The humor is less "silly" than in Hitch-hiker's, and it does not dominate the story as much.
The writing is amazing, and complex, and full of startling and funny similes and metaphors, and also full of amazing ideas which connect surprisingly in the end.
Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
I bought this a s a christmas present for my brother and it arrived quickly and was exactly as advertised. It was also a very good price considering its a hard back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dougie's posthumous book, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
A brilliant read including some works that he did on Dirk Gently that never got put into the books. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly loco - perfect for me., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
I just loved these stories couldn't put them down. Very original ideas.

I must get an electronic monk. Where can I buy one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome progression from HHGTTG, 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Dirk Gently Omnibus (Hardcover)
Douglas Adams will always be predominantly remembered for the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy books/scripts. But for those who are unfamiliar with his follow-on work of Dirk Gently, you're in for a real treat.

In the two Dirk Gently books Adams continues with the maturity which had become evident in the later books of the HHGTTG series. The stories, especially the first - Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency - are a wonderfully interwoven mix of genres, including sci-fi, whodunnit, and comedy. Adams describes it perfectly himself when describing the first book as 'a thumping good detective-ghost-horror-who dunnit-time travel-romantic-musical-comedy-epic'.

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency rolls along, never losing pace and is, in my opinion, the very pinnacle of Adams writing. It's a book which stands up to repeated reading. The second book - The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul - is only inferior in that it would be impossible for Adams to have matched the compact perfection of its predecessor. Adams had started work on a third Dirk Gently book at the time of his death, but while early work-in-progress chapters feature in The Salmon of Doubt, it would be unfair to comment on them as Adams was notorious for changing and even completely re-writing his work.

It's pointless to offer any kind of summary or description of the Dirk Gently books. It's Douglas Adams, so you know what to expect - brilliantly creative random thoughts woven into a compelling story. But if you enjoyed the legendary Hitchhikers books you will thoroughly enjoy the Dirk Gently books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirk Gently Omnibus
The Dirk Gently Omnibus by Douglas Adams (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2001)
15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews