Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the genre
I deeply mean it when I say that this trilogy is the best in its genre. What that genre is, I don't think anyone can say. horror / thriller would be the obvious answer from those who have only seen the films. But Harris put so much in to the books that the films neglected, which changed the story a lot. Possibly the most frustrating is how the films portrayed Hannibal as...
Published on 8 Oct 2003 by Mr. Sa Bell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Feedback for Book Purchased
The book was ok, it was in tact with all pages however in my opinion it was more tired and the pages and cover were more aged than described
Published 7 months ago by Mrs J L Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the genre, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Sa Bell "Harpo_the_bad" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
I deeply mean it when I say that this trilogy is the best in its genre. What that genre is, I don't think anyone can say. horror / thriller would be the obvious answer from those who have only seen the films. But Harris put so much in to the books that the films neglected, which changed the story a lot. Possibly the most frustrating is how the films portrayed Hannibal as evil for evils sake, whereas in the books he was a victim of morals, an engine of reaction to the evil world around him. I personally have always seen the trilogy (more so in each subsequent book) partly as a love story. It also has elements of the detective novel. Enriched with history and culture, occasionally simple philosophy, tragedy, revenge.. it really is so multifaceted that it defies categorisation, and good for it! I for one have had enough of the same old books re-written in a different setting by a different person.
There are two things that *made* this book for me, the first and arguably most impressive is Harris' ability to express passion, colour and a flamboyance lacking from his contemporaries. But he does this while keeping highfalutin language to a total minimum. As a writer myself, I know that its often tempting to pelt the reader with words that almost hog a line to themselves and leave them fumbling with their dictionaries on every line. Harris never does this. He understands perfectly that the ability to express yourself vibrantly and eloquently while keeping the reader engaged is the key to writing for the modern day masses. The other amazing thing about Harris is his amazing ability to give birth to the most believable but colourful characters. The trilogy has a wealth of characters, nearly all of whom play a part in the story and leave you feeling a completeness, as there are very few loose ends and unanswered questions to Harris' masterpiece (if any).
If this trilogy wasn't split in to chapters, you would be forced to read it all in one sitting as you would never be able to find a place to finish. There are no dry points in the plot. A modern day classic, written for everyone to appreciate on whatever their level is. No matter what your level is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrious and Brilliant, 22 Feb 2003
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
The follow up to Silence Of The Lambs was - wrongfully so in my opinion - one which was disliked by critics throughout the land. Reading the book myself I found a sheer splendour in its writing style. Rich and picturesque. Harris does a fine job of deftly switching a reader's mind from the bustling competitively industrial Washington to the historical beauty of Florence in the turn of a page.
It helps to create a fine sense of cultural and lifestyle contrast between the two main characters in the book, Dr Hannibal Lecter and Special Agent Clarice Starling. Harris does a fine job of showing the reader that blood is easily washed away in Florence, whereas in Washington it's washed all the way onto a Newspaper. When the symbols of the two cities meet it gives a fine sense that these oppisite dimensions of the earth are intrusive of eachother. That the investigations of Clarice Starling and the murderous appetite of Hannibal Lecter each create a sense of entropy, which the conscience, psychology and culture of the book so beautifully overlap. Much like the minds and actions of the lead characters. Underpin this with a typically tense set of chapters from Thomas Harris and the marvellous fictional creation that is Hannibal Lecter and you realise you've hit upon a book that has successfully managed to resonnate with as many emotional and political issues as The Silence Of The Lambs did all those years ago.
Unusually for its genre, Hannibal also approaches the realms of Science (courtesy of Steven Hawkins) to add a sense of realism and tangibility to the metaphor of the stories being told. Yet it manages to do this in a Philosophical & Theoretical way.
It's a shame, then, that the film didn't manage to convey all of this quite so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Feedback for Book Purchased, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
The book was ok, it was in tact with all pages however in my opinion it was more tired and the pages and cover were more aged than described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anmazing, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
This is a brilliant series of books, Hannibal Lector is an awsome character would recommend to everyone! Must read for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal Lecter Omnibus, 26 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
BEST HORROR SERIOUS EVER !!!!!!!!
I usally never used to read books, but when I came across the movie 'The Silence Of The Lambs' I decided to give the books a go and I opened a brand new world of HORROR.
The Hannibal Lecter Omnibus will take you into some parts of your mind you never knew you had,take my word for it the books will SCAR you SILLY!!!!. The first book in the serious is 'The Red Dragon' based on a tortured serial killer who takes plasure in viciously murdering happy families, I found this book extreamly disturbing but found that I could'nt put the book down at night.The second book in the serious is 'The Silence Of The Lambs' the international bestseller. If you have seen the movie you know how good it is and it's definetly worth reading the book. This book is based on a killer that only picks his victims for their skin, intending to make himself a skin suite, in this book Thomas Harris gives Dr Hannibal Lecter a bigger part than 'The Red Dragon', Dr Lecter is visited in his maximum security asylem to give advice and help to Clarice Starling regarding the murders. The last book in this amazing serious is 'HANNIBAL', this book is based on Dr Hannibal Lecter's escape from the asylem seven years ago, and his six victim Mason Verger is obsessed with revenge, offering a 5 million reward for Dr Lecter alive. If you have seen Hannibal the movie, the book is alot better than it with a totally different ending, the movie was somhow disapponting compared to the book.
All of the books are a masterpiece and now they are joined as one, if you are thinking about just buying one book in the serious I strongly advise you not to and get this instead, because you'll be saving alot of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I WANT LIVER AND FAVA BEANS WITH A NICE BOTTLE OF CARLING, 5 Dec 2006
By 
The Welsh Warrior "The Para" (South Wales, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hannibal Lecter Trilogy (Paperback)
An assential buy people. Buy this bumper book of Gems and you will never regret it. Dont dismiss MR. lecter because you have seen the movies, otherwise your missing out on the brilliance of MR.Harris's creation. The only problem being is that you cant read any Hannibal book without Anthony Hopkins and jodie foster. Oh well..

GET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hannibal Lecter Trilogy
Hannibal Lecter Trilogy by Thomas Harris (Paperback - 1 July 2002)
Used & New from: 11.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews