Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. Of course.
The spaceship was big and yellow and hung in the air in exactly the same way that bricks don't.

Assembled in one giant bundle of wordplay are all five books in Douglas Adams' magnificent trilogy investigating life, the universe and everything. Simply put they are the funniest books ever written and the great tragedy is that their creator, Douglas Adams, went...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Petersbrooking

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great
Decided to reread all 5 books, having read the first three many years ago. There are some absolute pearls of wisdom in here.

Still stands up. But must confess it does go on a bit, towards the end.
Published 15 months ago by Paul Evans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the Fish, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not believe my eyes when i saw this as the deal of the day. Now having reread it, all I can say is thank you whoever you are at Amazon for getting this out on the Kindle. Other thing I cant believe is how long ago it was when i first read it.

I thought i knew the book(s) but boy was i wrong as I read I rediscovered things I had forgotten and laughed out loud again. If you dont know the story shame on you but its basically the misadventures of Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect as they bumble around the vast (and it is really really big) emptiness (or not so emptiness) of space. A slight delay in a piece of paper getting to the right folk (Aliens) at the right time leads to Earth being bulldozed for an intergaltic bypass that wasnt needed. Of course no one on Earth had read the planning application and so in move the bull or planet dozers, and with that off you go on a trip around the biggness of everything.

So if you want to discover who really rules the Earth, what the answer is, why Dolphins are Dolphins and what those lights in the night sky really are then this is not the book for you, however it might just be the answer to all your dreams you wont know till you read it or them or whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second Funny Book I've read today, 15 Mar 2012
What a bargain! I got this book for only a few pounds then discovered another funny book Funny Status Both made my weekend very enjoyable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HHGttG, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
I always enjoy Doulas Adams's books,such a shame he died relatively young.Having already read The Hitch Hicker's Guide to the Galaxy,getting five of his books in one volume was excellent and the price for a nearly new book,great.With Amazon you get a good choice of new,nearly new etc.I shall be taking the book on holiday to read whilst sitting on a beach,can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
Douglas' 'trilogy in four (now five) parts' based upon his amazing HHGTTG has become the only compendium I habitually take away as holiday reading. I've lost track of the times I've read each of the books yet somehow find nuance and ideosyncratic nuggets during each new airing. All of the characters, major and not so major, have become friends sharing each new holiday destination and I couldn't contemplate leaving them at home.

The quality and sensitivity in Douglas Adams' writing style deliver shrewdly-observed humour by poking fun at life in all its ridiculous splendour. This world (and every other one throughout the ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha sector - read the book) is a much poorer place without his genius. Douglas, we miss you so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
I am using this book teaching children English language.
The book is funny and well suited for this purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a cornerstone in my beliefsystem, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
a cornerstone in my beliefsystem it stands next to Lord of the rings, the bible and Richard Dawkins collected works. You need nothing more to realize the absurdities of life..;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars douglas adams was a genius, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
i had all these books many years ago, in the 1980's...the 5 parts of the trilogy and detective agency..i watched the bbc hitchikers series when it first came on television.

back then, i lent all the books, one by one..and i never got them back !!

so finally i have reordered them. i wish i still had the original ones i had, but the new copies will have to make up for that !

douglas adams was a genius and an inspiration. bless him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Oracle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
Douglas Adams had a great imagination and this collection of funny and witty cult novels is a testament to his skills. Some of the later books drag a bit (Random's story in particular failed to captivate me), but so much of this is iconic. Here we find the meaning of life, the universe and everything, the Babelfish, 'Don't Panic', and much, much more. Not quite as good as Pratchett who writes in a similar vein, but still excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 1 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
I've read this book countless times and it simply gets better with every read. Amusing science fiction that will have you laughing to yourself at the turn of every page due to the sheer silly humour that is printed throughout this book, a must read for any reader. As Arthur Dents is about to be distroyed to make way for a bypass earth is destroyed to make way for an intergalactic expressway and Aurther Dent takes on to travelling accross the universe with his friend Ford Prefect and meets various lifeforms and interesting people on his journey, including a President with two heads and an extra arm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collection, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. K. J. Hawk "Kali" (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts (Hardcover)
I've lost count of how many times I've bought the individual books, lost one or another, or let people borrow them, never to be seen again.
So, I bought this, with the set all in one hard backed edition that will NOT go into anyone else's sweaty mitts ever again.

I love these books and re-read them every few years so, having this all-in-one collection is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts
The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy: A Trilogy in Five Parts by Douglas Adams (Hardcover - 16 Oct 1995)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews