Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Road
This is an excellent tale of the governor of Britannia during the rising of Boudicca. Nero appears not as some insane joke but as recognisably the successor of Augustus. Our hero is sent to his province not for the glory of Rome but to make it earn a surplus for Rome. What might otherwise be just a bit of military history is set in a much more complex model. Once in...
Published 10 months ago by Charles Vasey

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Imperial Governor
The Imperial Governor of the title is Suetonius Paulinus, governor of Britain from (about) 58-60 AD who had to suppress the revolt of Boudicca. The novel is written in the first person by Suetonius as a report on his governorship.

First published in 1968, it was reprinted in 2002. I looked it up on Amazon and was able to purchase a copy for 1p plus postage...
Published on 14 May 2012 by Mr. J. Hastings


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Road, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imperial Governor (Hardcover)
This is an excellent tale of the governor of Britannia during the rising of Boudicca. Nero appears not as some insane joke but as recognisably the successor of Augustus. Our hero is sent to his province not for the glory of Rome but to make it earn a surplus for Rome. What might otherwise be just a bit of military history is set in a much more complex model. Once in theatre we are treated to campaigns against a number of tribes described in ways that I am sure old North West Frontier hands must have understood. These culminate in the capture of Anglesey, but as if the relentless drive of campaign and targets is not enough the rising of Boudicca then occurs leading to the near loss of the province in a scrambling campaign. The book's subject, Suetonius Paulinus, is portrayed as a man of his class and time, and even to the end he never quite understands the politicos. My original version had a foreword by (I think) Auchinleck in which he said how much of his experience in India was paralleled by this account. A worthy successor to Alfred Duggan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping tale of the Legions in Britain, 24 Feb 2003
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
I am very pleased to see this book back in print. A gripping tale of Boudicca's revolt against the Romans, told from the Roman point of view - or at least from that of the general who defeated her but seems to have had almost as much trouble from Roman politics as from British tribesmen. The amount of detail is impressive - it may be a little forbidding for some - but it ensures the time and place come alive. General Paulinus may not be likeable but he is, in his own way, admirable. I do not know to what extent he matches the true historical figure but he is a real person to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imperial guvnor!, 27 Feb 2006
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly epic book that gives a fair account of the troubled times of the early Roman occupation of Britannia. This book presents Suetonius Paulinus as a deeply troubled man, isolated, under pressure and in desperate need of a bit of good luck. He is flawed, wracked with doubt and fails to see his own failings in his treatment of others. As such, it's a real warts and all "diary" of a man pushed to his own extremes and regardless of how we feel about the Romans, it's hard not to want Paulinus to triumph and each turn of bad luck hits the reader in the same way it must have hit Paulinus. The news of the massacre of the IX Legion hits like a sledgehammer and only makes you want Boudicca to be defeated all the more. The portrayal of events recreated in the book pull no punches in terms of the savagery of the times and some readers might find the battle sequneces a bit too full-on: the assault on Anglessey is reminiscent of the opening 30 minutes of Saving Private Ryan for its brutality and unrelenting slaughter. But the book is much more than a series of battles as it has warmth and a believeable humanity about it that is so obviously missing from those dreadful books by the likes of Conn Iggulden. Furthermore, the book is told from a wholly Roman perspective so it would make an interesting contrast for anyone who has read novels told from the angle of the Celts. George Shipway was a man of great talent and this magnificent book deserves a place on anyone's bookshelf so do yourself a favour and buy a copy. For those who have read Eagle In The Snow by Wallace Breem and thought you wouldn't find another in the same class, here it is. Savour every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph!, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Imperial Governor (Hardcover)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
George Shipway was a writer of historical fiction in the sixties-seventies, although he penned only a few works they were excellent. Imperial Governor revolves around the Boudicca Iceni revolt in A D 61, seen through the eyes of the new Governor Suetonius Paulinus a general of high renown.
Shipway as an ex army officer and historian with a penchant for great story telling has penned an exciting narrative, with historical fact and fiction expertly interwoven, gritty action, three dimensional Characters, and a vivid sense of the times. Highly recommended.
For those who would like further information on this epoch I highly recommend the OSPREY Campaign, Warrior, and men at arms booklets, with great overviews, excellent illustrations, and highly detailed maps
]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Road, 15 Feb 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent tale of the governor of Britannia during the rising of Boudicca. Nero appears not as some insane joke but as recognisably the successor of Augustus. Our hero is sent to his province not for the glory of Rome but to make it earn a surplus for Rome. What might otherwise be just a bit of military history is set in a much more complex model. Once in theatre we are treated to campaigns against a number of tribes described in ways that I am sure old North West Frontier hands must have understood. These culminate in the capture of Anglesey, but as if the relentless drive of campaign and targets is not enough the rising of Boudicca then occurs leading to the near loss of the province in a scrambling campaign. The book's subject, Suetonius Paulinus, is portrayed as a man of his class and time, and even to the end he never quite understands the politicos. My original version had a foreword by (I think) Auchinleck in which he said how much of his experience in India was paralleled by this account. A worthy successor to Alfred Duggan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, why have i not heard of this before?, 27 Feb 2012
I assume like most people who have read or bought this book i've read a raft of historical fiction. This book in my opinion is very much in the top echelon of historical novels. It's well paced and feels historically accurate (The Roman system of government both civil and military, described here gives a real sense of how thorough and ruthless the Romans were at empire making and governing).

The main characters are believable with no attempt to impose modern day attributes that often ruins many a historical novel.

The action scenes are enthralling. I'd thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Excellence, 16 Feb 2011
I first read this book when it came out in paperback some 40 years ago - and it has been a permanent member of my personal library ever since. George Shipway presents the personal memoirs of Paulinus Seutonius - a hard-bitten, patrician, professional soldier sent out to Britain in the reign of Nero to unstick a province that has bogged down economically, militarily and politically. The new governor is the quintessential change manager who rises to the immediate challenges he encounters on arrival with energy, flair and ruthlessness.

The new governor's primary mission is to put the Welsh tribes in their place and to purge the Empire of the Druids, thereby enhancing this loss-making province's economic and political potential. Paulinus accordingly orchestrates a brilliant one-two punch that king-hits the leading Welsh opposition whilst cleansing Anglsey with fire and sword. Unfortunately higher level politics in Rome and local administrative corruption trigger the Icenian revolt at a time when the main Roman force is mopping up in North Wales. Paulinus has to adapt his plans and actions to meet the crisis.

George Shipway captures every nuance of both the environment and his central character's personality with consummate mastery. The reader really does feel as though one is sitting on the terrace of a Tuscan hillside villa in the late afternoon sun listening to the forcefully-told memories of a True Roman who won every battle - but lost the political war. His evocation of Roman Britain, military tactics, troop movements [these are a delight to anyone who has served in uniform and will often spark "Been there. Seen that." flashes of recognition] and Shipway's ability to articulate the interplay of "war being politics by other means" is simply inspired.

If you are military buff or a Roman enthusiast or both - buy this book. I can almost guarantee it will be one of those works you go back and read again every few years with undiluted enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to read again, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lost my original to my father many years ago, great to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it was at sharp end of the legions, 16 Dec 2001
By 
DPK (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As always Shipway combines historical accuracy and military reality with a cynical and ambitious individual-great to see it back !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid, 13 Aug 2003
Packed with historic detail and, at times very graphically and disturbing scenes, this book has to be one of the best historic novels I have ever read. Shipway’s use of language paints a vivid picture throughout the book and, although I found the character of Paulinus totally detestable, I couldn’t help myself feeling sympathetic towards him at the book’s conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Governor
Imperial Governor by George Shipway (Hardcover - Jan 1968)
Used & New from: £5.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews