Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2013
I _loved_ the previous two books, and while I like this one, the several of the many battle sequences seemed more filler than plot.
The finale seemed a little too signposted - clues to tricks should be readily seen only in hindsight to leave the reader thinking 'Ohh, I should have seen that coming!' rather than 'yup, plan worked according to schedule.'

That's not going to stop fans of the previous books from reading this, and I'll keep buying the sequels for as long as they are written.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
The crew of Hellfire are all hand picked to be experts in multiple skills. Yet also picked to not be critical to any other part of the war effort. An entire crew cannot simultaneously be the best in the fleet & not significant. Even if the author says they are.

The main gun on Hellfire doesn't really need a precog to aim it, to minimise friendly fire. Just make sure you always fire up/down relative to the plane of the ecliptic. Or if close in to the star, fire when your target is directly between you and the star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Jean Johnson manages to keep my interest in this series by showing Ia dealing with her ship and crew in various crises with the enemy, also dealing with distrust from her commanders, her personal development of her powers, and lets her develop a personal life, not bad in a relatively short book. I look forward to the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
As much as I love the whole series, this book was even better.

Enjoyable to read I couldn't put it down until it was finished, I can't wait for the fourth book (Theirs Not To Reason Why: DAMNATION)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
1st of two books to round out the story, I enjoyed the storyline, and look forward to see where things go from here....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
a nice read very well written i found a hard book to put down very enjoyable looking forward to the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
reasonable read I do like if the author doe not get to much into fantasy and this volume was rather that way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I bought this set of five books to go on holiday and found them fantastic reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Military Space Opera, though rather more for the girls than the boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Good story but once again giving and repeating too much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.