Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good story
A good suspense set in 1830 Scotland, the reign of William IV. Artist, Lady Kiera Darby has taken refuge with her sister and brother in law after the death of her husband, a surgeon and anatomist. Unable to draw and illustrate the book he was writing on anatomy, her husband made Kiera sit in on his autopsies and do the illustrations of various body parts. After his death,...
Published on 13 April 2013 by LEP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tripe!
What a complete load of drivel! The write up promised a historical mystery worthy of Deanna Reaybourn fans. Deanna Reaybourn must be horrified! I actually bought the cd to listen to on long car journeys but found the monosyllabic voice of Miss Heather Wilds (who "has appeared on the London Stage to great critical acclaim" - the critics must have been stone...
Published 3 months ago by csharples


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good story, 13 April 2013
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mysteries) (Paperback)
A good suspense set in 1830 Scotland, the reign of William IV. Artist, Lady Kiera Darby has taken refuge with her sister and brother in law after the death of her husband, a surgeon and anatomist. Unable to draw and illustrate the book he was writing on anatomy, her husband made Kiera sit in on his autopsies and do the illustrations of various body parts. After his death, scandal breaks when the illustrations are found and it is realised who drew and painted them.

Kiera's sister and brother in law throw a house party, inviting members of the ton. The women of whom are particularly scathing towards Kiera. When a body is found in the castle grounds, it makes things considerably worse for Kiera, especially when her brother in law asks her to help a guest, Sebastian Gage, investigate, as it is going to take the Procurator Fiscal 4 days to get to the house. Prickly and wary Kiera is exceedingly wary of ladies man Gage, as an uneasy alliance is made between the pair.

A good read. There are however a couple af bloomers. We don't have raccoons in the UK and the author mixes up the months somewhat is relation to flowering plants and fruit. Bluebells don't flower in August, nor do wild raspberries fruit at that time (autumn fruiting raspberries are new and wouldn't have been around in 1830). Despite those slip-ups, it's a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tripe!, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a complete load of drivel! The write up promised a historical mystery worthy of Deanna Reaybourn fans. Deanna Reaybourn must be horrified! I actually bought the cd to listen to on long car journeys but found the monosyllabic voice of Miss Heather Wilds (who "has appeared on the London Stage to great critical acclaim" - the critics must have been stone deaf!) absolutely unbearable. It was like listening to my SatNav read! The heroine, supposedly highly intelligent, goes all gooey over a man she had previously despised after a mere hour in his company! She "swallows" her irritation, her indignation, her feelings.......even her cold soup. She should be the size of a house! The writing is the worst kind of Mills & Boon. Read/Listen at your peril.

Should have been alerted to the blurb about the author on the back. "Anna Lee Huber is a summa cum laude graduate of Lipscombe University in Nashville, Tennessee" - really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder, Mystery, Romance and Early Victorian forensics at a country-house party -what more do you want?, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I greatly enjoyed this book, as the subject matter was interesting and the characters skilfully drawn. The herione is treated like an outcast by society in an almost Cinderella-like manner, and I found myself thinking 'really? surely that attitude towards her is a bit extreme...' and then I thought of the early victorian mind-set and thought - '...actually, sadly not!' At least her family supports her, which makes for some interesting dynamics at a house-party hosted by her sister. Add murder to the mix, and intrigue abounds! I definitely recommend this book for a cosy fireside read, and the two that follow. I selfishly hope this is not 'just' a Trilogy, as the relationship between Heroine and Hero is one worth exploring in greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Anatomist's Wife, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first novel in a series that is sure to be fabulous. I loved this book. Lady Darby is a very interesting woman with a painful, traumatic and suspicious past. She's also hugely talented. I enjoyed the writing style, as well. Fans of Deanna Raybourn's Lady Julia Grey series will like this I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laboured and Dull, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The modern American language and behavioural style totally unsuited to the period and place left me in a continued state of critical irritation. The mystery was plainly subsidiary to the penny dreadful romance being painfully wrung out, and the characters are more suited to 1930's Boston. Lots of silly errors and the arduous angst of the heroine had me abandon the book half way through. Even the title was puzzling...she was a widow, not a wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mysteries) (Paperback)
I found the attitudes of the period interesting and enjoyed the storyline. A different type of heroine, if that is the cforrect word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi this book was not what I expected, but I loved every page of it. Will definitely read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mysteries)
The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mysteries) by Anna Lee Huber (Paperback - 6 Nov. 2012)
£9.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews