Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much for a Restful Christmas, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Lady Georgiana is not looking forward to Christmas in 1933. It looks like she will be stuck in the family castle in Scotland with her sister-in-law's horrid relatives. Then she sees an advertisement for a member of the English nobility to act as co-hostess of a Christmas house party. She's thrilled when she gets the job and sets out for the small village of Tiddleton-under-Lovey.

When she arrives, she finds the house in an uproar. A man has died in their orchard from a self-inflicted gun shot while climbing a tree to pull a prank. It's unsettling, but when another body is found the next morning, Georgie begins to worry. The locals are chalking it up to a curse, but is more happening? Can she find the connection between the crimes? Or are they even crimes?

Reading this at the beginning of December certainly put me in the Christmas mood. And while I have never observed a proper English Christmas (being American and all that), I enjoyed seeing their traditions. Georgie and the supporting cast of regulars are all charming as always (yes, even Queenie when I warmed to her again), and I enjoyed the new comers as well.

I figured out a key plot point long before Georgie did, and I was beginning to get frustrated waiting for her to get there. Once she did, I forgave her since the lapse was explained quite believably. From there, it was a race to the finish, and I couldn't put it down.

Fans of the series certainly won't be disappointed. And anyone looking for a Christmas cozy will be delighted by the find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Twelve Clues of Christmas, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is another in the great series featuring Lady Georgiana Rannoch, set in the 1930s. This story begins at Christmas 1933, with Lady Georgiana at Rannoch castle, home of her brother the duke, `Binky' and his wife `Fig'. Hearing that Fig's sister `Ducky', her husband `Foggy' and their dreadful daughter Maude are coming to join the family party, where Fig's mother Lady Wormwood is already spreading her misery, Georgiana takes an opportunity to make a run for it to Tiddleton-under-Lovey where she hopes to find her mother, and her beloved grandfather.

This is another great mystey story, intermingled with the great old traditions of an English country Christmas celebration; a house filled with guests and lots of fun. But there is a serious mystery at the heart of the story, and Georgie's attempts to save everyone make for a great story. Definitely recommended, and I can't wait to read more of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great stephens day read, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I saved this for the Christmas break and had a great day wallowing in the warm, drinking prosseco and reading about murders...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Fun, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love all of this authors books, but this is probably my favourite. So Christmassy and descriptive with a very good story of mayhem and murder. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 22 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Margaret Bruce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
As usual, this book in the Royal Spyness series was great fun! Ok, the story line was simple and predictable but it was enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rhys Bowen Royal Mysteries, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Good storyline and well paced. Thoroughly enjoyed it and have ordered more in the series. Looking forward to a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unavailable, 17 Feb 2014
Does anyone know why Rhys Bowen's books are unavailable to download onto kindle in the UK at the mo? What's up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars `12 ckues of christmas, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the tips about ye olde english Christmas at the end of book for American readers good story bet you can t work out whodunnit to the end of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Festive Romp in the Tradition of Christie, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not quite as good as Dame Agatha, I stress, but lovers of the blend of Romance Mystery and Frankly Outlandish (though completely explained and - in hindsight - understandable) solutions will love this one.
Hard to discuss the plot without giving too much away, but suffice it to say that Georgie and D'Arcy are up their ears in bodies, the deaths are suitably bizarre, and the solution (though it might be 30 or 40 pages too late in coming) is wonderfully satisfying.
The supporting characters - from Series regulars Queenie through Georgies mother, grandfather, and the vile Fig to the cameo of Noel Coward and on to the various Houseguests that make up "This weeks special guests," are wonderfully realised, and the entire thing is fun and immersive.
Just the ticket for a Christmas read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
usual classic Rhys Bowen, with all the glamour and mystery of his books. It is a joy to read, if you are a fan already you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries)
The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Mysteries) by Rhys Bowen (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Nov 2013)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews