Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Once the Story Gets Moving
January of 1933 finds Lady Georgiana (Georgie for short) wishing she could travel to the French Riviera like so many of her class are doing. That longing only intensifies when the rest of her family manages to find a way to go and plans to ship her back to Scotland so they can close up the London house.

Then the Queen comes through, asking Georgie to head to...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Mark Baker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lady Georgiana, the scapegoat and la côte d'Azur
The Queen asks Georgiana to go to the french riviera and find the snuf box which has been robbed by a nasty "arriviste".
I read all the serie and enjoy very much Lady Georgian Binky the Duke and her love Darcy. This book is the only I can't say I enjoyed.
We need to read a hundred pages before there is any plot.
It is very nice to be at Nice in Villa with...
Published 7 months ago by jasmin d'été


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Once the Story Gets Moving, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
January of 1933 finds Lady Georgiana (Georgie for short) wishing she could travel to the French Riviera like so many of her class are doing. That longing only intensifies when the rest of her family manages to find a way to go and plans to ship her back to Scotland so they can close up the London house.

Then the Queen comes through, asking Georgie to head to Nice and find a snuffbox that was stolen from Buckingham Palace. Her Majesty even thinks she knows who stole the box. Delighted with what seems like a simple task, Georgie sets out. But she quickly gets involved with a fashion show, stolen jewelry, and murder. Is she in over her head?

For the second book in a row, Georgie has traveled outside of London. While I don't mind the journey abroad, they do mean some very slow starts. It's not that I mind the time spent with Georgie, in fact most of the characters in this series are fun (I'm not a fan of Georgie's maid, but she's a minor complaint), but it would be nice if the plot started off quicker. Not helping matters is one completely predictable sub-plot.

Once it does get going, it is quite fun with some great twists along the way. The ending took me by surprise and left me turning pages quickly to find out how Georgie was going to get out of that scrape.

While this series has always been light fun with some interesting history thrown in, I do wish the plots got going a little sooner. Even so, I will be waiting for Georgie's next outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naughty in Nice, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another in the delightful series featuring Lady Georgiana Rannoch, thirty-fourth in line to the British throne, as she seeks to find a balance between her life as a young lady of the Royal line (and therefore unable to work for a living) and her complete lack of funds to keep her in the style to which she’d like to become accustomed. Set in 1933, Her Majesty the Queen has decided to keep Georgiana occupied by sending her to Nice to recover an item that was taken from her. As always in Georgiana’s life, nothing seems to go quite as smoothly as she could have wished for.

Another wonderful romp, this time around the French Riviera, as Georgiana finds old friends and new among the mysteries in Nice. These books are all well written, and have wit and humour amongst the main mystery story. They are highly readable, and thoroughly enjoyable. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lady Georgiana, the scapegoat and la côte d'Azur, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Queen asks Georgiana to go to the french riviera and find the snuf box which has been robbed by a nasty "arriviste".
I read all the serie and enjoy very much Lady Georgian Binky the Duke and her love Darcy. This book is the only I can't say I enjoyed.
We need to read a hundred pages before there is any plot.
It is very nice to be at Nice in Villa with parties, Champagne dancing with princes, Dukes, french Marquess and others famous people.
The characters are empty.The maid Queenie,is so stupid that she isn't even funny.
And where is Darcy? he only comes for 10 minutes in this book.
The plot is not a good one it seems that the autor needed a scapegoat at the last minute which make the end very poor and unbelievable.
no it is a pity I usually am very fond of the serie but this one is a disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all the series so far and really enjoyed them! It is very "jolly hockey sticks", but that's part of the charm! Very good stories and I always miss the books when I have finished reading them. I pass them on to my mother and daughters so we all get to enjoy them and get very good value for my money! I can't wait for the next one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cosy whodunit, 8 Jan 2013
By 
r a e cooper (Tottington Bury UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery) (Mass Market Paperback)
1930's, related to royalty, female investigator. No psychopaths or pools of gore. A jolly romp. I think it is written more for the American market as royal protocols familiar to Brits are explained as if we were thick. It is a delightful series and I recommend anything by this author. I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charming 1930,s heroine, 2 May 2012
a great read ,delightful heroine set in the polite world of the 1930,s full of quaint british humour a real breath of fresh air and great addition to the series look forward to the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for dull British winters!, 11 Mar 2012
This time, Lady Georgiana's travels take her abroad to Nice - as seen in those gorgeous 1920's travel posters! She has the usual mix of fun and danger and is at risk of being swept of her feet!
A thoroughly enjoyable and genuinely puzzled-till-the-last-minute read. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Another great royal spyness book, thefts, murders and sunshine. The story was good and kept me hooked, the identity of the murderer was a nice twist I only realised who it was when Georgie did. I would have liked to have seen more of the dishy Darcy, and the funny Blinky and Fig, but definately a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery)
Naughty in Nice (Royal Spyness Mystery) by Rhys Bowen (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Oct 2012)
£6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews