Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 8 of the "Sons of Destiny" series
At the end of the 7th (disappointing) book of this series, the final destined bride of the eight Corvis brothers stepped through a magical portal to at last meet face to face her destined mate. Yet on her arrival to Nightfall Island Hope O'Niell; Queen Kelly's best friend from Earth reveals some totally unexpected truths to her future husband, his family and her...
Published on 7 May 2009 by Book Addict

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No sizzle!
I was really looking forward to the conclusion to this series, but it felt flat to me for some reason. Yes, as the previous reveiwer has said, Hope, Morganen's bride has a secret few of us readers could guess. But the threat to Kelly and Nightfall was dealt with really quickly and anticlimatically, and even the romance between Hope and Morganen was dull.

The...
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by Voracious for Books


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 8 of the "Sons of Destiny" series, 7 May 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
At the end of the 7th (disappointing) book of this series, the final destined bride of the eight Corvis brothers stepped through a magical portal to at last meet face to face her destined mate. Yet on her arrival to Nightfall Island Hope O'Niell; Queen Kelly's best friend from Earth reveals some totally unexpected truths to her future husband, his family and her friend.

I don't want to give away Hope's secret, but boy oh boy JJ completely blindsided me with this. There is far more to Hope than anticipated and she becomes an increasingly interesting character because of the events she is involved in. But no more on Hope, I'll let you discover her juicy little secret yourself.

Of course there are three main events occurring in "The Mage"; the courtship between Hope and Morganen, the extraction of the magical fountain from Rora and the re-instatement of the Convocation of the Gods. Well JJ spends plenty of time on two of these events, but completely glosses over the ceremony to remove the fountain from Rora, which I though strange considering this risks Rora's life.

The exciting scenes featuring the Convocation of the Gods make this book, and although Hope is the leading lady in "The Mage"; Kelly is definitely the heroine of this story. If you thought she was pushy when she first arrived on Nightfall and bullied the brothers, wait until she has to deal with over three hundred Gods and Goddesses, some not necessarily in favour of the authority she wields.

The final book of "Sons of Destiny" is back to the high standard of the earlier books in this series and is filled with passion, humour, excitement and intrigue; however "The Mage" is not the conclusion of this series. Although the eight Corvis brothers are now all blissfully married and have fulfilled their destiny, this author intends to write further books featuring other characters found in the magical world she has created. Yippee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, clever challenging, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warmth, surprises, imagination.

I usually do not read such 'out of normal life' books with mages and so on, but she takes us on a journey and continues on all her books about the seven brothers - this is the second best of them in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mage(Sons of Destiny Novels), 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mage, The (Sons of Destiny Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another book by Jean Johnson that I have enjoyed like all her books just cannot put them down as thy are a follow on about seven brothers and there mates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sons of destiny novels, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. Hazelann Alexander (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a set of books that i have read several times and passed around to my friends and family, get all of them at once as you will want to have the next one ready for starting as soon as you put the previous one down, loved the story and how it flowed from brother to brotherThe Master: A Novel of the Sons of Destiny (Sons of Destiny Novels)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No sizzle!, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Voracious for Books "Voraciousforbooks" (South London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to the conclusion to this series, but it felt flat to me for some reason. Yes, as the previous reveiwer has said, Hope, Morganen's bride has a secret few of us readers could guess. But the threat to Kelly and Nightfall was dealt with really quickly and anticlimatically, and even the romance between Hope and Morganen was dull.

The adventure and characterisation in the previous books was missing from this one.

I've loved the series and wanted to know how it all ended; but this is my least favoured book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holy wow!, 23 Jun 2009
By 
C. East "ce345" (plymouth,devon,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i thoroughly enjoed reading this series by Jean Johnson and i can honestly say having to wait months and monts for the final 2 books was worth it, although when it came to it when kelly said that hope lost her memories from the original tornado got me thinking because Hope herself did not conferm or denie such a thing in the prvious books, it got me thinking because someone would of eventually got some of there memories back not all maybe but some, and then at the end of book 7 when she said she was home was adding to the truth of who Hope O'Niel truly was. devistatingly enough Jean Johnson delivered what and who i thought Hope O'Niel was. although i found it very entertaining to see Morganan who refused to rule Nightfall Isle as a kingdom in his own right as the strongest mage in his family but to be second to none in the whole Katan as well become King Morganan of Katan got me chuckling because i remember him saying he would never want to rule as soverigne EVER and to be thrust into the posision of King of the Empire of Katan was a very good twist to his story as he married a 200 year old Seer became king of Katan and frankly i enjoyed it when they did the frivolous things with the food and the chocolate sauce. it would be nice to have a book that continues on the story of Nightfall but set 5 to 8 years in the future with the desalinator that Danu and Koronan would be implimenting in her home city and for all the brothers to have had children at sompoint in between and Dominor and serinas twins to have grown up a little to be able to keep the boystruss Mikor happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WASTE OF MONEY, 7 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ABSOLUTLEY LOVED THE FIRST IN THE SERIES, GREAT START TO A SERIES, GOOD CHEMISTRY ETC, HOWEVER AFTER BOOK ONE IT ALL WENT DOWN HILL, REPETITION, CHARECTORS WERE NOT INDIVIDUALS, AND FOR CHRIST SAKE, DOES EVERYONE ON THE FRIGGIN ISLAND BLUSH ALL DAY LONG, ITS VERY ANNOYING AND MUNDANE AND BORING, WASTE OF MONEY. SORRY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mage, The (Sons of Destiny Novels)
Mage, The (Sons of Destiny Novels) by Jean Johnson (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
6.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews