Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Gracie, but not a Great One
For eight years Isabella has been waiting for her handsome husband to return. Amidst the horror and pain of the Peninsular Wars, Lieutenant Luke Ripton was the one good thing to happen to Bella. He married her to save her, then left her somewhere safe. But it's been four years since the war ended and there's still no sign of her husband. Perhaps it's time for Bella to...
Published on 2 Feb. 2012 by Book Gannet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didn't finish it
I used to really love Anne Gracie's book, but over the last few years I think she has lost her touch somewhat - at least for me. I gave up over half way through as I was bored. It started well, with a good premise, but when the hero/heroine met again it turned predictable. The hero had suffered some 'betrayal' by an unknown woman and foresworn any emotional attachments...
Published on 5 Mar. 2013 by Ms. S. M. Benson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Gracie, but not a Great One, 2 Feb. 2012
By 
Book Gannet (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride by Mistake (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
For eight years Isabella has been waiting for her handsome husband to return. Amidst the horror and pain of the Peninsular Wars, Lieutenant Luke Ripton was the one good thing to happen to Bella. He married her to save her, then left her somewhere safe. But it's been four years since the war ended and there's still no sign of her husband. Perhaps it's time for Bella to accept he's never coming back.

Luke, now Lord Ripton, had no intentions of ever returning to Spain. Yes, he married the girl, but he's been nineteen at the time, and she only thirteen! He never intended the marriage to stand, but now an annulment has been denied, leaving him with no choice. Not only does he have a wife, but fetching her means returning to a county he hates. Because the courageous, even noble young lieutenant who saved Bella all those years ago is gone. War changes people, but it's not only Luke who's been transformed beyond recognition. He may have left Bella in a convent, but if he's expecting a meek, dutiful bride then he is in for a big surprise.

Finally, the last of the Devil Riders has arrived. We've already got to know Gabe (The Stolen Princess), Harry (His Captive Lady) and Rafe (To Catch a Bride) - and even Gabe and Harry's brother Nash (The Accidental Wedding) - quite well over the last four books, but Luke's always been a background, shadowy figure. Yet of all of them he'd the one with the most stable family background - so where does all his darkness come from?

That emotional mystery lies at the heart of this story, as Luke returns to Spain stubbornly determined to ignore his demons. He's autocratic, handsome, stubborn and wounded, but luckily for him Isabella has a fiery personality to match. She may not be pretty, but she's brave and set on righting a past wrong. In fact she's so busy seeing to it, while trying to keep her romantic heart under control, that Luke has no choice but to follow someone else for a change. With some pretty amusing results. Travelling across Spain, clashing wills and delving into Bella's past leaves Luke no choice but to confront his own. The way she helps heal him is sweet as well as passionate, and they make a wonderful team.

However, with no secondary plot of mystery or extra characters to provide something more, this story does feel a little light at time. All the focus, all the time, is on Bella and Luke, and as interesting as they were I would have liked a little more... something to add weight to their tale. The ending is sadly rushed too, feeling like an after thought, while certain other resolutions were too convenient for words. They would have made a better secondary plot woven throughout the book.

With all the hallmarks of Gracie's usually wonderful work - strong heroine, handsome hero, beautiful love story - this may not be my favourite of her novels (The Perfect Stranger does a similar plot in much better style), but it's still thoroughly enjoyable and better than many others out there. Dare I hope that the last Renfrew brother, Marcus, might be up next? That shadowy earl needs his own tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didn't finish it, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Ms. S. M. Benson (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to really love Anne Gracie's book, but over the last few years I think she has lost her touch somewhat - at least for me. I gave up over half way through as I was bored. It started well, with a good premise, but when the hero/heroine met again it turned predictable. The hero had suffered some 'betrayal' by an unknown woman and foresworn any emotional attachments. The heroine had been thinking of him as her knight in shining armour. Then we get a road trip through the mountains. This is where I gave up.
May suit other readers, but I miss the Gracie who wrote Gallant Waif, and the Merridew sisters books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, better than the previous one, 11 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Bride by Mistake (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
At 13, Isabella is being attacked, her life and virtue at risk. Lieutenant Luke Ripton shows up and saves her, but also marries her from being forced to marry someone she hates. Leaving her in a convent school, he goes back to England. Over the years, Isabella tells her friends she's married and her husband will come back for her, but as the years go on without a word, she begins to doubt herself. Little does she know in those years, Luke had been trying to get the marriage annulled to no avail. Seven years later, Luke returns to Spain for his bride, hoping her covent life will have made her docile and obedient, as a wife should be. He hopes to return to England quickly, as he's promised a dance to his younger sister, but Isabella tells him she has to fulfill her father's dying wish before she goes. Luke tells her no, but Isabella is determined to do what she should have done all those years ago. When she leaves him, Luke chases after her, and agrees to her demands. Isabella is touched, and they start to fall for each other. But Luke has his own dark secret, and isn't happy when Isabella prods for the truth. But when he tells her, he's ashamed, but it makes her love him even more. Luke's past comes back to haunt him, and Isabella has to save him.

Overall, the book was good, better than the previous one with Nash Renfrew and Maddy. However, it wasn't as good as the one with Rafe and Ayisha. There was something lacking, and I think it was to do with Luke blaming Isabella for being forced to marry on some level. It's not her fault she was attacked. She was 13, he was nearly 20. Sure, he probably didn't want to marry so young, but he left her all those years, doing goodness knows what with whom, whilst Isabella has been dreaming of the day she'd be rescued, only for him to not be the Prince Charming she'd envisaged.

3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, It is the first time I have read Anne Gracie, I found it very light to read but couldn't put it down So the book was carried everywhere with me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, easy to pick up where you left off earlier, would recommend to a friend who finds reading difficult. good holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical romance, 21 Feb. 2013
This was a window into the Spanish war and the effects on both sides. A great read and a very happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read. I thoroughly recommend this book. I didn't want to put it down. It is a great story and is very well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bride by mistake, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Hillier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A light and enjoyable read for romantically inclined. But a good story nevertheless. Anne Gracie is a good writer therefore recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., 16 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. Jp Fitch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the first chapter to the last this book held my interest and imagination. Anne Gracie is a brilliant writer bringing the story to life on every page. From the first meeting of Luke and Isabella in Spain when she was 13 through her years in the convent to Luke marrying her in England. The book is captivating. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Tale, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. There were times when I wanted to pick Bella up and give her a good shake for being so pig-headed, and amazed at Luke's forbearance. The demons that had dogged him for so many years finally come out bit by bit, but none of it shakes the feelings that Bella has for him, and there is, of course, a happy ending. This is definitely one to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bride by Mistake (Berkley Sensation)
Bride by Mistake (Berkley Sensation) by Anne Gracie (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Jan. 2012)
£5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews