Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master of the trade, 6 Dec 2011
Joanna Bourne is an excellent, evocative and lyrical writer. Some of her sentences could be set to music. I loved this series (especially the first one) and this book - the fourth in the series - is the story of Adrian and Justine and it is way up to standard. The intricate and clever plot centres around two people, after the war is over, finding out that things they did in the past have caught up with them.

While rooting for them to get together, you are led through unusual twists and turns, familiar in a Bourne book. It is a page turner and delicious to read. I thoroughly recommend it.

Having said that, I do hope Joanna has now heaved the French Revolution and spies out of her writing system because I simply cannot wait to see what she makes of other periods of history (but please, no more spies!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, poetic writing!, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've said it time and again, - Joanna Bourne is incredible. Her books are pure poetry, philosophical, deep, melancholic and immensely romantic. She also put huge amount of research in the subject - French Revolution and Napoleon's Empire.

French Revolution is one of my favourite settings for historical romances - spies, assassins, looser morals, than in Victorian era, desperation and survival of the fittest... It's wild, brutal, and it's time of great changes.

The Black Hawk follows the life of two spies - a French one, Justine, and an English one, Adrian. The book starts in the present and goes back in flashes through years of their complicated relations, because Adrian and Justine have know each other since they were children.

Even as children they are so old ad wise for their age it's creepy and sad. Adrian grew up on the streets of London as a thief, Justine, a daughter of an aristocrat, was molested as a child and sold into a brothel. Both escaped and survived by being picked up and trained to be spies.

Even as teens they are mad for each other, but their responsibilities come first. It's hugely romantic how they snatch precious moments to meet risking their lives over both sides of the Channel, how they save each others' lives countless times despite trying to reject their relationship for each others safety.

They are pure star-crossed lovers, and when they reunite in their late thirties, Justine is dying, and it's up to Adrian to save her life and find those responsible for an attempt to assassinate her.

Joanna's writing is gorgeous, and this book was one of the two best historical romances I've read last year. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ripping Yarn, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
The dashing hero of this story started life as a guttersnipe and pickpocket. In the previous books we see him rise through espionage's ranks to become chief spy, through his bravery, daring and ability. In a series of episodes we see the developing relationship between him and his sometime protagonist and love of his life, from childhood, through revolution and war, to resolution. Despite their harrowing adventures Adrian and Justine find each other, and are a perfect match There are no long dull passages in this book, all the villains are suitably vile, and the heroes dashing and resourceful. The author does not succumb to sentimentality or slow down the narrative by delving into the characters' motivation yet they all behave in a way that feels psychologically true. The book is amusing and enthralling; in fact totally satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adrian Hawkurst! Sigh......, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of a handful of books where you fall in love with the hero just from reading about him.

Where has Joanna Bourne been all my life? She is an exceptional writer and storyteller.

This book has been nominated for a Rita award and, trust me, there can be no justice in the world unless it walks away with it. All four books in the series were marvellous. I wish I could unread them so I could read them all over again.

Bring on your next book, Joanna! It will be on pre-order from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly constructed, 7 Mar 2014
I started this series by reading 'The Spymaster's Lady' and immediately followed it up with 'The Black Hawk'. I loved both books and am looking forward to the remaining two. Ms Bourne writes extremely well and with a great deal of atmosphere and period detail. I particularly liked The Black Hawk because of the way in which we're taken back in time for a first-hand look at some of the major incidents in Aidrian's and Justine's past. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite books, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read this book so many times now but I keep coming back! It is a wonderful mix of romance, intrigue and history that really brings the story to life. I can't say how historically accurate these books actually are, but they definitely feel realistic. My only suggestion would be to readers who haven't read the other books in this series, start with the others first, it's not absolutely necessary as this is a good story anyway, but it would give a bit more background info to some of the characters and the flashbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adrian and Justine were worth waiting for, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
So glad I have discovered Joanna Bourne. Have read the three books leading up to this one and loved them all so couldn't imagine Joanna could better them. That was a mistake, obviously I shouldn't underestimate her! This book was amazing, loved the way it started almost at the end and then took us back over their meetings through the years. Loved, loved, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation)
Black Hawk, The (Berkley Sensation) by Joanna Bourne (Mass Market Paperback - 19 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews