Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Elder Races" series book 3
Following on from the events in book 2 "Storm's Heart", Gryphon wyr Rune is called on to deliver the favour he owes vampyre sorceress Carling Severan. It's no surprise that he is attracted to her (remember his reaction to her in book 2?) and he's delighted to discover that Carling is equally attracted to him. He knows that establishing a mating bond between them isn't a...
Published 9 months ago by Book Addict

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought the first book in this series on the back of the reviews, and I loved it. So, I then purchased this, expecting the same, especially as I liked Rune in 'Dragon Bound' and thought his story would be good. Unfortunately not. Although when the main characters finally get together, the loves scenes are hot, it doesn't make up for the 'slog' I found the story to be...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by Bookworm29


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Elder Races" series book 3, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Following on from the events in book 2 "Storm's Heart", Gryphon wyr Rune is called on to deliver the favour he owes vampyre sorceress Carling Severan. It's no surprise that he is attracted to her (remember his reaction to her in book 2?) and he's delighted to discover that Carling is equally attracted to him. He knows that establishing a mating bond between them isn't a good idea; particularly when Carling reveals she is dying, but Rune's love for Carling and his determination to find a cure to save her life may just mean he'll have to change the very course of history.

I enjoyed the developing relationship between Rune and Carling; particularly the latter who hasn't felt attraction to anyone in centuries and doesn't know how to deal with her feelings for Rune. The story line is intriguing with some very surprising moments, plus of course some that will tug at your heartstrings as things start to look bleak for Carling's survival. This is another great addition to this series and a must have for fans of fantasy romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it love it love it, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another cracking book by Thea Harrison. As with the other two books, could not put them down and just loved the storyline and key characters. Had a numb bum reading this as I just could not put it down from start to finish. Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elder #3, 9 Oct 2011
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serpent's Kiss (Elder Races Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
In order to save a friend's life, Wyr sentinel Rune Ainissesthai made a pact with Carling Severan - without knowing what she would ask in return. Now the time has come for this First Sentinel to fulfill his obligation. Of course, Dragos, Lord of the Wyr, is not happy, but a magical debt is legally binding. With luck, the former Vampyre Queen would not demand anything from Rune that would take the massive gryphon decades, if not centuries, to accomplish. Yet when Rune appears before Carling, he finds an ailing woman on the edge.

Carling is dying. There comes a time in all vampyres' lives (if something does not kills them first) when they begin to suffer from periodic episodes and their minds drift off. Carling has spent over two hundred years studying the phenomenon, researching for its cause and a possible cure. All in vain. Carling's Power has become erratic and her episodes are increasing in severity and frequency. Most of her followers have fled in fear. Other than a dog and one of her youngest progenies, Carling is alone on her island.

Though Carling tosses away the debt Runes owes and releases him from their bargain, Rune simply cannot bring himself to leave. Regardless of the risk, Rune decides to help Carling find a cure for whatever the disease is that is killing her. Rune is very attracted to the dangerous vampyre. To be honest, Rune likes her penchant for violence. He finds is exciting. And even a handsome, immortal shifter can never be conceited while Carling is around.

Rune brings the talented pathologist, Dr. Seremela Telemar, in for a private consultation. Seremela is of the Medusa race and often has a unique perspective on her cases. Rune is not the only one pulling strings. The Djinn, Khalil, still owes Carling two more favors. With the very real possibility of her death in the near future, Carling has no need to horde them. Might as well use them while she can.

If all of this is not enough, something odd and dangerous is happening every time Carling has an "episode". (Ahem, I mean whenever she wanders off to feed the bats in her belfry.) Then there is Julian Regillus, King of the Nightkind, who may be willing to risk a war in order to either control Carling or hasten her to her doom. With the entire situation quickly escalating, the sentinel and the former Queen will have to rely on each other is they have any hope of surviving.

**** FOUR STARS! Thea Harrison has created a magnificent world where the night overflows with malevolent intents, yet rare romances can still be found to last for eternity. Both main characters are more dangerous than most in the Elder Races. In fact, Carling seems to ooze danger from her pores and Rune seems to radiate hostility from his aura. Still, the author manages to show a lighter, more flirting and humorous, side to the pair.

The Djinn, Khalil, will be getting his story told next in the book titled, Oracle's Moon (Novel of the Elder Races). I am hoping that Dr. Seremela Telemar will have a story sometime in the future. A character that is a combination of a Pathologist and a Medusa is just too juicy to create and NOT dedicate a full length novel for. I found the author's unique take on the snakes, each with individual minds, to be utterly brilliant!

This story is beyond the norm, a story that has eclectic personalities, and high in drama, yet still with some romance (though often a détente-type of romance). No one writes incorrigible characters like Thea Harrison. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars liked it, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book even though I was a bit disappointed that there was not much reference to Dragos or Pia in it. However it was well written and the characterisation was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun, light read., 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed all the books in this series and this one doesn't disappoint. Bring on the next one please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Start with book 1 Droagon Bound - such a good series fantastic characters and very hot romance with so much more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love every one of these books - cannot wait for the next one to be released in this series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill book, 22 Sep 2013
By 
J. Wymer (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loves this series and they have all been great, looking forward to the new one. Can't wait for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it., 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another in the series, this was also very well written and had a good story line, less of the explicit sex scenes and very enjoyable.
5 starts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i loved this book, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was another amazing story in the elder races series, I loved every page I have really enjoyed all the other books in the series I can really recommend them. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serpent's Kiss (Elder Races Novels)
Serpent's Kiss (Elder Races Novels) by Thea Harrison (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews