Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner.
Another winner from the stable of Lorna Barrett, once again she gets right into the plot from page one and keeps the pace going to the last page. The storyline is tight and all characters are important to the plot. Lorna Barrett doesn't waste time on useless information, everything is relevant. The recipes at the end are an added bonus. Looking forward to her next one...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by M. Fowler

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long List book
I really enjoyed the first 3 books in this series but this story is a long drawn out affair and lacks pace. It's also very easy to spot "Who Dun it". However, if you enjoy escaping to the nice cozy world of small town America then this book fulfils all your expectations.
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by S. A. Bollongino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner., 19 Oct 2011
By 
M. Fowler (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another winner from the stable of Lorna Barrett, once again she gets right into the plot from page one and keeps the pace going to the last page. The storyline is tight and all characters are important to the plot. Lorna Barrett doesn't waste time on useless information, everything is relevant. The recipes at the end are an added bonus. Looking forward to her next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I want Tricia as my boss., 24 Aug 2014
I think I enjoy these books as much for the characters as for the mystery. The mystery itself is not all that challenging as there is a very limited pool of suspects but they are nonetheless fun. As for the characters each is well rounded and likeable. The main character, Tricia, makes me think of Miss Marple as a younger woman. She may not be a literary classic like the legendary old lady detective but she would make a great boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cosey mystery, 7 July 2014
Nice easy read, lots of twists and turns very well thought out mystery. The setting of booktown is excellent you really get a feel for the place and who the people who live there are. Will be reading the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I always Enjoy!!, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have enjoyed all of Lorna's books that I've read and I'm trying one of the many recipes today. i like her characters and it will be interestingt o see how thinsfor for her. However, I refuse to do most of these because I will not be required to type so many words. This is in no way directed at the author or her books but at the fools who want War & Peach in the recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing Read, 19 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a very relaxing read, although I have to say it seemed to me to slighly lack the punch of previous books.

The characters are good - your usual range. There didn't seem to be too many new characters introduced into this story, which might explain why it lacked punch.

I would like to see Tricia's relationship develope more with Captain Baker. I thought what was bugging Bob Kelly very drawn out.

Would recommend this book, but don't make it your first read of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long List book, 18 Aug 2010
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed the first 3 books in this series but this story is a long drawn out affair and lacks pace. It's also very easy to spot "Who Dun it". However, if you enjoy escaping to the nice cozy world of small town America then this book fulfils all your expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries)
Chapter & Hearse (Booktown Mysteries) by Lorna Barrett (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Aug 2010)
£4.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews