Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! An anthology can't get much more diverse than this.
This anthology contains four short stories from top authors in the fantasy and paranormal genres. These four stories couldn't be more different if they tried. Quite an interesting lineup.

NALINI SINGH -- WHISPER OF SIN
This story is from the Psy/Changeling series of novels and shows fans of those books how Emmet and Ria met. Emmet is a leopard changeling...
Published on 14 Nov 2010 by J. Lesley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 4 stories ain't bad
Angela Knight has been a favourite author of mine for a long time, and she does not disappoint. Her story, Blood and Roses caught my interest straight away, with very likeable and strong lead characters. Hot love scenes, adventure, danger, noble causes and a despicable enemy wind together to make a very satisfying read. This is a vampire story from a more accepted,...
Published on 30 Jan 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! An anthology can't get much more diverse than this., 14 Nov 2010
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
This anthology contains four short stories from top authors in the fantasy and paranormal genres. These four stories couldn't be more different if they tried. Quite an interesting lineup.

NALINI SINGH -- WHISPER OF SIN
This story is from the Psy/Changeling series of novels and shows fans of those books how Emmet and Ria met. Emmet is a leopard changeling working with the Dark River pack to protect San Francisco from a vicious gang that is trying to muscle in and frighten the residents, mainly in Chinatown, into paying for protection. Ria is the victim of an attack foiled by Emmet and Dorian.

This was really a good story and helped more fully fill in the information regarding how these two came together. There are not that many human/changeling couples in the series so it was very nice to see how leopard and human came to an understanding. The latest released book in this series is Bonds of Justice and another novel, Play of Passion (Berkley Sensation), will be released in November of 2010. It is really wonderfull to have this many Psy/Changeling stories in such a short period of time. On a sensuality scale from 1 to 5, I would put this at a three. (For me the scale is: a 1 would be, "what sensuality?", and a 5 would be "too, too much".)

ANGELA KNIGHT -- BLOOD AND ROSES
Raniero is a vampire warrior sent by his King to see if the border wizard Lord Korban is being completely faithful to him or if he may have begun plotting with their enemy, the Varil, to break the boundary which keeps them apart. Amaris, a Blood Rose, is being blackmailed by Korban who is holding her three year old sister captive. He will kill the child and use her magical power to help fuel his magic to breach the boundry unless Amaris agrees to seduce the vampire to give him time to complete his spell.

I have not followed the series written by this author so I am not familiar with whether this story is part of any series. It seemed likely to be a stand alone. This one was a four on the sensuality scale for me.

VIRGINIA KANTRA -- SHIFTING SEA
Major John Harris has suffered serious wounds in the war with Napoleon so when he learns he has inherited property in Scotland he goes there to live on the estate and try to bring it back to productivity. While out riding over the property he meets a beautiful woman, Morwenna, by a tiny cottage all alone by the sea. He knows she is different from any woman he has ever met, but he has no idea just how different she really is.

I've read several other short stories by Virginia Kantra and absolutely loved them all. This was no exception. This is the story in the collection which is slower, softer, more gentle. I definitely enjoyed the respite! I think that this story is tied to the Children of the Sea series, with a new novel Immortal Sea (Children of the Sea (Berkley)) due out in September, 2010. On the sensuality scale this would be a very sweet three.

MELJEAN BROOK -- HERE THERE BE MONSTERS
Ivy Blacksmith (named that because of her trade) must escape London immediately. That is the only reason she would even think about asking for passage with Captain Machen on his ship leaving port tomorrow morning. But there is a reason this man is called Mad Machen. When Ivy finally manages to ask him for passage she is sure he is going to turn her down. With no money to pay him, and with his vessel already having a blacksmith on board, she offers him the only thing she has which she thinks will be a temptation to this horrible man, her virginity.

Now, this was very, very different for me. I am not familiar with this author and this book just dropped me in the middle of a world I was not familiar with and left me to sink or swim. Luckily I'm a stubborn soul and decided to learn how to swim. This is a steam punk story - a first for me - and after I caught on to what was happening I enjoyed it very much. According to the excerpt in the back of this book, Iron Duke, The (Iron Seas) will be released in October 2010. This story is definitely connected with that book which will probably become a series. I will be heading on over to the book page to get on the pre-release list for that one. On the old sensuality scale this one has to be a good four.

RECOMMENDATION: All four of these stories was a very pleasurable reading experience. They were all very different in both "world" and style of writing. There are sensual scenes in all four of the stories, some more intense than others so you need to be aware of your tolerance for that aspect in your choice. If I had to describe this book as a whole I would say that these are love stories. One feels very modern, one feels old fashioned, one feels paranormal and one feels almost futuristic, but all are really interesting examples of the writing craft of each author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Changeling, a Vampire, a Shifter and a Kraken walk into a bar..., 2 Nov 2010
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Four top paranormal romance authors, with four not-so-usual novellas which all have one thing in common - hot, hot heat.

** Whisper of Sin - Nalini Singh **
Trouble stalks the streets of downtown San Francisco, but when the ruling Psy make no moves to stop it, the DarkRiver leopard changelings see their chance to take control. And when human Ria Wembley is attacked, the fight for one particular cat becomes personal. DarkRiver soldier Emmett only needs one glance to know - he'll kill anyone who dares harm his mate.

Set before the PSY/CHANGELING series, fans will recognise feisty Ria, and here is how one small human ended up so entwined with those sexy cats. For newcomers all the information you need is here, and before you know it you'll be swept up in this incredible world. Emmett is strong and sensual, Ria is forceful and more than a match for him, and Grandmother Miaoling is just brilliant. 4.5 Stars.

** Blood and Roses - Angela Knight **
Lord Raniero is the King's Investigator, an incorruptible vampire knight sent to the north to investigate plots of treason. But what he finds there is more dangerous than monsters, more tempting than desire. But as the evil rises and a rare Blood Rose falls into his arms, he can't help wondering if Amaris is the greatest of gifts, or the most perilous of traps.

With betrayal and plots, treason and trust issues all seeming to vanish without much effort once they get into bed, I'll admit I didn't buy the romance here. With more lust than love, it wasn't my favourite. 3 Stars.

** Shifting Sea - Virginia Kantra **
Scotland, 1813, and Major John Harris has returned from war to take up his unexpected inheritance. Struggling to adjust to civilian life, everything seems to change when he is seduced by a beautiful stranger, but Morwenna is even more mysterious than he knows. And if he's not careful, his beautiful love might drift away on the turn of the tide.

With a touch of historical, a smattering of selkie legend and a sweet romance, this is a lovely tale. An honourable hero, an otherworldly heroine and secrets galore. Good stuff. 4 Stars.

** Here There Be Monsters - Meljean Brook **
Terrified for her life and freedom, Ivy Blacksmith once made a bargain with the pirate Mad Machen: passage on his ship at the price of her innocence. But when an alternative was offered she fled, as frightened of him as of the slavers. For two years she's been hiding, but now he's found her again. They made a bargain once, and Mad Machen won't be happy until it's fulfilled.

Strong men, ingenious women, automata, nanoagents, airships, clockwork, giant sharks and a kraken - what's not to love? And then there's that five sous kiss... Brook kicks off her new steampunk series in style. 5 Stars.
**
On the whole an excellent anthology with some really good stories. Existing fans won't be disappointed, and newcomers will find plenty to enjoy too. For me, Brook's tale was the best, but all the novellas have something to offer. One of the better anthologies I've come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 out of 4 stories ain't bad, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Angela Knight has been a favourite author of mine for a long time, and she does not disappoint. Her story, Blood and Roses caught my interest straight away, with very likeable and strong lead characters. Hot love scenes, adventure, danger, noble causes and a despicable enemy wind together to make a very satisfying read. This is a vampire story from a more accepted, almost an aside view, so, if you're sick of all the vampire romances, do not despair, this is still fresh and a good read.
Nalini Singh pens a lovely story with her psys and leopards. There is a lot of humour, with great familial relationships for both leads. Emmett, a leopard, falls for human, Ria, a woman with an interesting family and an adorable grandmother. They meet after she is attacked in a city that is supposed to be under the protection of the DarkRiver pack. I enjoyed the story and found that Nalini has managed to keep these stories fresh without going through a formulaic telling as so many authors of other series do.
Virginia Kantra's offering was a little boring and little odd to me. It is a short story, so character development and interaction are short, but compromised as there is a lack of romance and thrill, somehow. The story lacked that element of excitement, with a heroine that was just a little too cool, and little too odd.
Meljean Brook's book is mediocre, despite having an amazing imagination and exciting leads. She just could not get their relationship right, and their interaction was completely at odds with their characters and their supposed strength. The book lacked any depth and I found the relationship entirely lacking.
I'd buy this book for the first two stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I adore Nalini Sighn. Her book was good. Not her usual amazing. The others were a little disappointing because of my high expectations. With a read but I won't be reading a second time. If you have never heard of Nalini Sighn I suggest you don't read her books or you will en up buying every single one and loosing a couple of weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Burning up, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed all four short stories although I admit I only bought it for the psi-changling story (I'm a big Nalini Singh fan). Each author built up their own world and brought it to life. I particularly enjoy Angela Knight's Blood and Rose's story as it was a completely new angle at the average vampire idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliant book with lots of hot and steamy scenes. A good way to get to know some new authors. All the stories are slightly different but all well written and very enjoyable. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One fantastic, one great, one ok, one poor, 28 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Others have summarised the stories - I won't do it again.
The Nalini Singh story is, as usual with her, great. You know exactly where you are with this series, and it's lovely to have a 'prequel'. Does it surprise? No, not really. Does it thrill? Well, yes, in that her stuff always does, but it's the thrill of an old friend rather than something surprising and new. Like other reviewers, I would give it 4.5 stars.
The Angela Knight story. Yawn. Had little interest in the characters and ended up leaving chunks out to get to the end - which was unremarkable. She's really gone off the boil for me, it's all very much the same old, same old ... 2 star
The Virginia Kantra story reads suspiciously like something I've read before, in another anthology but I simply can't remember where or when. It was sweet and unremarkable - perfectly readable but nothing special. 3.5 stars
Meljean Brook - what a revelation! I haven't read any of her work before, but I'm going to now. What a great story - fab world, totally engrossing, and great interactions. Simple can't wait to get hold of the next book in this series - I just hope it's as good as the story - more of a novella really. 5 stars (10 if possible!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 out of 4 good stories - not bad at all...!!, 29 Oct 2010
By 
K. Macgregor "KMac" (Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked the book up whilst on a trip in Canada just a fortnight ago, and although I'm not usually keen on short stories, I gave it a go because Nalini Singh had a story in it. I've also read Meljean Brook's Demon Moon, and it was not bad. I was pleasantly surprised by the story by Virginia Kantra. I quite like VK's style of writing and the story was good, so have ordered her other books. All in all, the book was worth it. The only story I didn't care for was Angela Knight's "Blood and Roses" - that's how I've only given it 4 stars. (Always on the lookout for new authors to read!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8de5750)

This product

Burning Up (Berkley Sensation)
Burning Up (Berkley Sensation) by Nalini Singh, Virginia Kantra Angela Knight (Mass Market Paperback - 28 Oct 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews