Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book in the Fast Track series
"Hard and Fast" by Erin McCarthy is the second book in the Fast Track series and an absolute hit. It's funny, sexy and hot, sweet and overall just great to read. I liked Erin McCarthy's books before this series but now I really love her work.
The book is about Imogen Wilson, a sociology grad student and stock car driver Ty McCordle (they met each other for the first...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Tester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ty and Emogene's Story
Hard and Fast is the second book in Erin McCarthy's Fast Track series. This is Ty and Imogen's story. Imogen is working on her thesis for her PhD in Sociology with a topic of testing the idea of “How to marry a race car drive in 6 easy steps” to see if it is true. Ty is a race car driver who's life revolves round driving. He has only dated women for sex but...
Published 15 months ago by Jo-Anne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book in the Fast Track series, 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Paperback)
"Hard and Fast" by Erin McCarthy is the second book in the Fast Track series and an absolute hit. It's funny, sexy and hot, sweet and overall just great to read. I liked Erin McCarthy's books before this series but now I really love her work.
The book is about Imogen Wilson, a sociology grad student and stock car driver Ty McCordle (they met each other for the first time in "Flat-out sexy").
On the first glance two people couldn't be more different but still they are fascinated by each other. Imogen likes how relaxed but still focused and sure of himself Ty is and Ty is fascinated by Imogen's need to understand why people behave the way they do and her honesty. When they get to know each other more closely and discover that together they can relax, have fun (their camping trip is hilarious) and talk about Skakespeare they are suprised but also delighted by it. But after turning their relationship in a serious one they have to realize that the differences can be hard to overcome especially when Ty reveals his biggest secret (but don't worry, there will be a happy ending for them).
"Hard and Fast" is a great book and Imogen and Ty are an awsome pair. The way they treat each other is really sweet and I loved reading about them. This book has everything a good romance needs and Erin McCarthy's way to write makes this a fantastic read.
Another terrific point is that you get to meet Tamara, Elec, Evan, Suzanne and Ryder from "Flat-out sexy" (you need to read that one before "Hard and Fast") again. That's just great because it's not like with many other authors where characters from previous books just seem to disappear and are neglected. It's nice to see that Erin McCarthy really cares about her characters from "Flat-out sexy" and gives the reader more of them. Elec and Tamara are still are great pair and Suzanne and Ryder are definitely not over there relationship even though they are divorced for nearly two years. And don't worry about the future because there will be at least one more book in the series (about Suzanne and Ryder, coming in 2010 - yipieh!!!).
So get yourself a copy of this great book by Erin McCarthy (one of my favourite books of the year) and enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard and Fast, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
readaholic (lincolnshire,uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Paperback)
Oh my, oh my. This is the second of this series and is just as good as the first (Flat out sexy), there just has to be a third. This is about Ty and Imogen and you will just be willing them to get it on from the very begining. I have read this book four times. I love it and want everyone to read it, tell your friends i have, they love it too. You will feel all warm and happy inside once you've finished this book. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picks up just where Flat Out Sexy ends, and the race to the finish doesn't stop, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Paperback)
Flat Out Sexy was the very first book I read by this author, and by the end, I'd googled her and ordered this book as well as Hot Finish, the third in the series due out later n 2010. I think I've discovered a fave new author.

Imogen (aka Emma Jean as Imogen's too fancy for regular-Joe Ty, and Engine as as he says, she gets his motor racing!) and Ty's interactions in FOS had already intrigued me, as it was clearly a case of a school-marm type and a bad-boy type, opposites attracting, but set in modern rather than historic times, and therefore without many of the social hang-ups, and it was great that this book started pretty much immediately after FOS ended, so all was fresh in my mind. I loved how Imogen was slightly gawky socially, despite her obvious intellect and how her frankness and honesty led to the relationship with Ty taking off in 5th gear and never stopping til they got their HEA. Nothing was taboo, and both leads played off each other so well that the book was over before I realised it. In some ways, she reminded me of the character of Temperance Brennan in the series Bones, but with more genuine warmth.

We got a fast-paced, hot, sexy and LOL funny tale, and we got to see Tammy & Elec and their HEA, as well as seeing more of Suzanne and Ryder, and I can already tell that sparks are about to fly in their tale, which I can't wait for. Yes, the path of true love could not run entirely smoothly, so there was the typical misunderstanding, heartbreak then HEA, and I enjoyed it from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ty and Emogene's Story, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Jo-Anne (Bowmanville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hard and Fast is the second book in Erin McCarthy's Fast Track series. This is Ty and Imogen's story. Imogen is working on her thesis for her PhD in Sociology with a topic of testing the idea of “How to marry a race car drive in 6 easy steps” to see if it is true. Ty is a race car driver who's life revolves round driving. He has only dated women for sex but when he gets to know Imogen, he wants more of a relationship. Imogen has been attracted to Ty for quite a while but has hidden her feelings for him so she is surprised and really happy when Ty shows he is interested in her.

I have really liked the Fast Track series but in this book I thought Imogen was too controlled and thought everything out way too much. In the last book, Ty was shown as a man who slept around a lot but not so much in this book. I enjoyed this book but found it to be more of an erotic romance than I would have liked. There were a lot of sex scene which I found unnecessary.

The covers are fantastic but, honestly, I don't picture race car drivers to be that muscular. In all of the books in this series, the only 'work out' the men get is when they are having sex and, I could be wrong, but I don't think sex gives muscles like the one on the covers.

I think “Flat-Out Sexy” #1 in this series was a great book so it is hard for the rest to hold up to that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard and Fast, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Paperback)
This book was a fun read, the pace was good and the characters lively, really enjoyed it, better to be read in sequence after Flat out Sexy, cant wait for the next one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. Leanne A. Lingwood (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
My summary of the book - Imogen gets an idea for her thesis based on following a set of rules to marry a racing car driver and she is determined to follow the rules as much as she can to find out if you could really end up with a husband. But Ty puts a spanner in the works when she starts to feel an attraction to him and she can't use him as a test subject because her feelings are getting involved. As the attraction grows and Ty starts to pursue Imogen she has to change her whole thesis idea and let herself be caught by Ty.

Thoughts on the characters - Imogen is quite amusing as she very intelligent and tells it how it is which is refreshing. But she does tend to over think things and doesn't really let things happen.
Ty on the other just goes with the flow and he has managed to get through his life without being able to read which is an achievement and kinda makes him a better man.

Overall thoughts - Really good and amusing story. I just love the attraction between the pair and how sizzling they are. I also love the fact she starts using the self help books to snag a man for her thesis because the rules in them sound really funny and a lot of hard work. This was a real entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hard and Fast, 3 May 2009
This review is from: Hard and Fast (Paperback)
This a brill book the second in this new seriers from Erin McCarthy. The story is about Imogen and Ty . A story that slizzles from the first page. I read this within a night and it was well worth the late night. I could not recommeard this book enough. This is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Going With The Series Please, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was done very well.The story is about Stock Race Car Drivers and how to follow the so-called "Rules" on how to get a man.The main stars in Book 2 {Hard And Fast} is Grad Student Imogen Wilson & Ty McCordle a Reckless Racer.The Start at a party at a friends house were Ty is hiding form his girlfriend and Imogen is just arriving in the rain in her car.Not to tell you the whole story.This is about two people who are the total opposite each other,who over the story get know each other.There is a lot off up and downs,people trying to help and making it worse.The story is well put together and looking forward to next Book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard and Fast (Berkley Sensation)
Hard and Fast (Berkley Sensation) by Erin McCarthy (Mass Market Paperback - 6 July 2010)
£5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews