Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrific!
I love books written in the first person - I feel I can immerse myself in the character much more fully, almost as if I were her or him, so this book suited me very well, with all but the Eileen Wilks story written that way.

Each of the four stories vary in the amount of reference to tattoos - in some it's a minor issue and in another it's a large part of the...
Published on 22 May 2010 by ImReallyAnElf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Karen Chance not up to standard!
I bought this book because of Karen Chance but her story was the most disappointing compared to her novels. Was this not edited by the same people? It was all over the place and quite poorly written and I know the world this was set in. I didn't know any of the other authors and thought their stories had been written better and I will consider looking at their novels now...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Sands


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrific!, 22 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inked (Berkley Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love books written in the first person - I feel I can immerse myself in the character much more fully, almost as if I were her or him, so this book suited me very well, with all but the Eileen Wilks story written that way.

Each of the four stories vary in the amount of reference to tattoos - in some it's a minor issue and in another it's a large part of the story - really all the tattoo references do is draw the book together into a compilation. Fine by me, as the stories themselves are absorbing and really, really well written.

Usually I dislike overtly "erotic" inserts into a story, on the basis that if I wanted to read soft porn, I'd buy a book devoted to it, and for me it detracts from the storyline: I find myself skipping pages to get back to the "real" action. However the ending to Etched in Silver by Yasmine Galenorn was pretty erotic rather than feeling like soft porn and didn't put me off at all, because it was very much a legitimite part of the story, and neither too explicit nor too long-lived.

I think this book will be a keeper for almost everyone who buys it, and I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Inked (Berkley Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading the Cassandra Palmer and Dorina Basarab books by Karen Chance I bought this book specifically for her short story.

What a great read - four fantastic short stories, which I really wished were full length novels! Thanks to this book I now have another 3 authors to add to my list and 4 volumes of novellas/short stories to buy which have other Karen Chance stories in them - looks like I'll need some more book shelves and probably a bigger study to store them all in.

All in all, if you'd like a good read, that's not too heavy, that's difficult to put down - I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good collection of novellas, 18 April 2012
this is a decent collection of novellas vaguely connected by the theme of tattoos - slightly random in my opinion, but hey. the individual novellas were:

Karen Chance
In the past I've found this author not really my thing, but I liked this one. It had interesting supportng characters and a likable heroine. The love interest wasn't that interesting (I liked his brother more) but there was nothing wrong with him either. It manages the rare feat of having sex scenes in a novella that didn't feel clunky and forced so credit for that. There was a lot of backstory and political background that was quite interesting and I felt could have been explained more, though the explanation was adequate and I think the characters might be from full length boks by the author?

Marjorie Liu
The only author here I hadn't heard of. Interesting and original story, though I don't tend to like time travel stories. It took itself a bit seriously. The main character and her grandmother were both likable, the demons are cool, the child is likable but overdone, the villain is a bit vague, and the love interest is a little too perfect - though in fairness this could be because he's in it so little. Pretty sure this is in a series - parts were quite badly explained.

Yasmine Gallernon
Slightly vague plot, slightly vague characters. What heroine and love interest see in each other not clear. Sex scene tagged on the end just for the hell of it. Least good of the four. Think it's a prequel to the author's main series? If I'd read that I'd probably like it more. Almost nothing to do with tattoos by the way.

Eileen Wilks
Fairly standard who-dunnit plot line. I like the characters, the solution wasn't obvious till about halfway through. The climax felt a little anti-climactic. Part of her main series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Karen Chance not up to standard!, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inked (Berkley Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because of Karen Chance but her story was the most disappointing compared to her novels. Was this not edited by the same people? It was all over the place and quite poorly written and I know the world this was set in. I didn't know any of the other authors and thought their stories had been written better and I will consider looking at their novels now - especially Eileen Wilks which was my favourite one. So anyone disappointed in Karen Chance story - this is not a good indication of her novels they are much much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars - but only for Eileen Wilks!, 24 April 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Cardiff, South Glamorgan.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inked (Berkley Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really only bought this book for Eileen Wilks' story of Lily and Rule. I have tried the other authors within this compilation before but find I just cannot get on with books in the first person. Everyone seems to be jumping on the first person band wagon but this style of writing does not work for me and so I stay well clear. I do love to 'hear' what the other characters are thinking and feeling and Eileen Wilks has a marvellous way of allowing us to understand the players in her books without overwhelming us. Whilst this is a novella, the characters of Lily and Rule are as strong as ever. My only compalint is that it makes you want more. I love that this book has been written so that it occurs before those in Mortal Sins. It is written seamlessly and doesn't seem like a 'filler'. It gives us just a little more background on Lupi. The world building of this series is amazingly strong. You are never bombarded with more than you can handle and each revelation makes sense. I can't urge you enough to read this fantastic series so read them in the following order: Tempting Danger (Berkley Sensation), Mortal Danger (Berkley Sensation), Blood Lines (Berkley Sensation), Night Season (Berkley Sensation), Mortal Sins (Berkley Sensation), Blood Magic (Lupi Novels). Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inked (Berkley Book)
Inked (Berkley Book) by Karen Chance (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Mar 2010)
6.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews