Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royally Fun Mix of Comedy and Mystery
Lady Georgiana, thirty-fourth in line for the throne, has been doing rather well for herself in 1932 London. She has managed to keep her secret job as a maid from the others of her social set and is even developing a few domestic skills of her own. She just might be able to pull off living on her own.

Unfortunately, things are about to get sticky. Her...
Published on 15 July 2008 by Mark Baker

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but needs to be fully Anglicised
I found this book very entertaining, as I did the first title. It has good reviews on here, with which I concur as to plot, atmosphere and characterisation. It is clearly written by a Brit, but someone has tinkered with it to its detriment, as I shall show.

As to verisimilitude, there is room for improvement because it seems that someone has gone and...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by Anglo-Irishman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royally Fun Mix of Comedy and Mystery, 15 July 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Royal Pain (Hardcover)
Lady Georgiana, thirty-fourth in line for the throne, has been doing rather well for herself in 1932 London. She has managed to keep her secret job as a maid from the others of her social set and is even developing a few domestic skills of her own. She just might be able to pull off living on her own.

Unfortunately, things are about to get sticky. Her Majesty has agreed to host the Bavarian Princess in hopes that this beauty will catch the Crown Prince's eye. And the Queen thinks that Georgie is the perfect person to host Princess "Hanni." Suddenly, Georgie must find a way to hire servants with no money. After all, one doesn't say no to the Queen.

But things only get worse when Hanni arrives. She has learned her English by watching American gangster films. Her companion is an awful Baroness. And wherever Hanni goes, trouble follows. And that's before the first body appears. But the potential political implications of the murder could set the uneasy balance in Europe spinning into another war. Can Georgie solve the crime without starting World War II?

This book is equal parts historical novel, comedy, and mystery, and if read that way, it is a pure delight. There are so many funny scenes in the first half of the book. In fact, I had to stifle some laughs when I was reading in public. While there are some strange questions early, the mystery portion doesn't get going fully until the second half, but I was never bored getting there. Once it does get going, it becomes a good puzzle. I caught a few things long before Georgie, but I would never have pieced the solution together. The book is filled with memorable characters who are strong. It was a delight to spend time with them.

There is nothing painful about this book or series. So be sure to catch up with Georgie's latest adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but needs to be fully Anglicised, 18 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very entertaining, as I did the first title. It has good reviews on here, with which I concur as to plot, atmosphere and characterisation. It is clearly written by a Brit, but someone has tinkered with it to its detriment, as I shall show.

As to verisimilitude, there is room for improvement because it seems that someone has gone and Americanised it, which jars when you consider that the narrator is supposed to be quintessentially British and writing in her own diary. Examples:

"The queen" - it should be capitalised as Queen every time. The same goes for King, of course (and Prince/Princess if used with a Christian name or if "the" precedes it).

"Royal Highness" cannot be shortened to Highness - no person of the Blood Royal like Lady Georgiana would possibly make that mistake.

The date is Americanised every single time, which simply wouldn't happen in Lady Georgiana's diary. So, it should be "23rd June 1932" not "June 23rd".

These and other glaring Americanisms detract from authenticity and could so easily be put right, especially in Kindle editions (and I'd be very pleased to download them in corrected version from my archive to read again another time).

I also noticed a mistake in Chapter 28. Lady Georgiana asks an elderly gentleman in the Wren library who the "apostles" are. He replies, "I take it you don't mean Matthew, Mark, Luke and John?" A scholar would be unlikely to make that mistake: St Mark was not an apostle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Pain, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another in the series featuring Lady Georgiana, thirty-fourth in line to the British throne, making her independent way in the world of the 1930s. This book is the second in the series, following on from Her Royal Spyness.

It's 1932, and Lady Georgiana is managing to keep her private and professional (house opening and airing business) life separate; until Queen Mary asks her to entertain as a guest a young Bavarian princess, and try to entice Prince David to settle down by marrying suitably. How can Georgie have someone like a princess to stay when she is living in the family's London house all on her own, and eating baked beans and boiled eggs? And just when you think things couldn't possibly be any more complicated, people appear to be dying!

This is another great book in this series; they're jolly good fun, full of dastardly characters and jolly good beans; there is a great undercurrent of mystery all the way through, which Georgie in her rather slapdash and `modern girl' way tries to solve. I love the mix of real historical characters, such as the Queen, with `real' people such as Georgie's grandfather, the retired policeman. Great stuff; can't wait to read more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not a pain to read!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Brilliant. I love the main character Lady Georgiana and her exploits. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy and Crime, Romance and Royalty, 24 April 2011
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book by Rhys Bowen featuring Lady "Georgie" Georgiana, who apart from being a single woman, feisty in her outlook and trying to make her way in the world is also thirty-fourth in line to the British Throne. With that comes some promises, Queen Mary is still trying to separate her first born son, David and that dreadful American woman Wallis Simpson. Georgie becomes involved again with another plot to distract David's attention.

A Bavarian Princess is coming to London after being in a convent, a young girl Queen Mary feels it would be better for her to stay with Georgie, so she can learn something about the social niceties, English society and make sure she turns up at the same functions as David. Georgie cannot say no despite not having any staff and living in a couple of rooms in Rannoch House and eating boiled eggs! So Georgie embarks on something that resembles a farce trying to entertain a young girl who seemingly has one thing in mind - men! Then trouble starts when a at a party someone falls to their death, a chance encounter with someone in Speakers Corner leads to a visit to a bookshop in a rather dodgy part of London, where the Princess stumbles across another body. Georgie does not know whether she is coming or going, and the Queen still insists that she put this princess in the way of David.

A rather fun book, building on the first in the series. Characters are back such as the care free, free loving Belinda, Darcy O'Mara who always turns up at the right time for Georgie as well as more of a feature of Georgie's mother and her steadfast down to earth granddad who ends up becoming her butler as well as a detective.

This book made me chuckle in many places, especially the exploits of the Princess and her fascination of American gangster movies and calling everyone old broad, a fear that Georgie tries to expel from her just in case she says it to the Queen and at times I forgot I was even reading a book that was essentially a crime mystery. The romance is still there between Darcy O'Mara the Wild Irishman, who Georgie has, eyes for but cannot bring herself to succumb to his ways. In the end all the little threads and plots are woven together into a climatic ending, where lives are put at risk, but who suffers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UPSTAIRS DOWNSTAIRS WHODUNIT..., 9 Feb 2012
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book in a new, charming cozy mystery series by the author, and it is a winner. This is a charming, funny look at life among the upper crust in 1930s England, as seen through the eyes of Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, known as Georgie to those near and dear. Her grandmother was one of Queen Victoria's daughters, making Georgie thirty-fourth in line to the throne.

Georgie is definitely a thoroughly modern Millie, who has left her family's manor home in Scotland for a sojourn in her family's New Hyde Park London townhouse, where she will fend for herself. While there, she meets old acquaintances, makes new friends, and continues to feel romantic stirrings for an irresistible and handsome Irish peer. Unfortunately, she is flat broke, as her brother, Binky, cut off her allowance due to a reversal of fortune. So, Georgie is without servants, virtually penniless, and unable to obtain even the bare necessities.

So, what is a girl to do, especially a royal who is not supposed to work? Well, what Georgie does is sure to set tongues wagging were members of her set to find out, and it would certainly get the Queen in a tizzy were she to discover Georgie's occupation and means of support. After all, it is not every day that a member of the nobility works as a maid.

In between cleaning jobs, Georgie is summoned to the palace by the Queen, who is going to host the beautiful and young Bavarian Princess Hannelore, whom the Queen hopes will distract her son, the Prince of Wales, from the dreadful and very married Wallis Simpson. The Queen asks Georgie if she would do her the favor of entertaining and chaperoning the Princess in her home. Unable to say no, after all, who would dare say no to the Queen, Georgie agrees. What Georgie does to ensure that no one knows of her dire circumstances is quite funny. It also turns out that Princess Hannelore turns out to be somewhat of a handful and not at all what Georgie expected. When dead bodies start popping up and become a recurring nightmare, however, Georgie is put to the test to discover just what is going on.

As with all cozy mysteries, it is the lives of the characters that propel the story forward. While the mystery is intriguing, it is merely the framework around which the characters evolve. The combination of some history with mystery, as well as a touch of romance and lots of humor, is irresistible. Set within the social mores of the time, all the characters, both downstairs and upstairs, manage to add to the ambience of the book. Those who enjoy cozy British mysteries will find this one to be an entertaining and humorous romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frothy read, 19 Dec 2012
By 
C. L. Taylor "Cheeky Scots Chick" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this sequel and its historical context. The heroine is in the position where she is constrained by convention, her royal relatives and the "poverty" she can't admit or resolve, but is starting to see the modern world more clearly. The romantic elements are fun and the mystery was quite intriguing, although I did guess before the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries)
A Royal Pain (Berkley Prime Crime Mysteries) by Rhys Bowen (Mass Market Paperback - 7 July 2009)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews