Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!
This is Chris Kuzneski's self published first novel. Former Special Forces soldiers Payne & Jones track down kidnappers and uncover a sinister money making scheme that goes beyond the usual ransom demands. Colourful characters, controvertial themes and some great action scenes make this an enjoyable read that moves along at a cracking pace. A star gets knocked off for the...
Published on 20 Nov 2008 by R. Ward

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Target for a Team America Parody
To start with a positive, the central theme is different and interesting. However it is well telegraphed and by page 54 you should be able to get 90%+ of the plot - one of the breathy reviewers on the jacket squeals "a great plot twist... all I can say is hang on for the ride". All I can say is don't, and preferably don't pay the entrance money. The plot twist doesn't...
Published on 1 July 2010 by A. Duckworth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!, 20 Nov 2008
By 
R. Ward (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Chris Kuzneski's self published first novel. Former Special Forces soldiers Payne & Jones track down kidnappers and uncover a sinister money making scheme that goes beyond the usual ransom demands. Colourful characters, controvertial themes and some great action scenes make this an enjoyable read that moves along at a cracking pace. A star gets knocked off for the constant wisecracks from the two main characters which can quickly become tiresome and a couple of twists that can be seen a mile off. Overall, this one is actually better than the next in the series and is recommended to fans of action thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ!, 15 Aug 2009
By 
G. E. Lee "Kuzneski Fan" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read Chris' other 3 books first, (Sign of The Cross, Sword of God and The Lost Throne) as The Plantation was only released in the UK this July (2009).
The Plantation is every bit as good as his other 3 books!
It starts off at a fast pace and never ends, it is simply 'un-put-downable'.
This book has everything, suspense, twists and turns in the plot, and an insight into what makes Payne & Jones this indestructable duo. Their humour, wit and fearless pursuit of what they believe in captivates the reader, and keeps the pages turning effortlessly.
Yet another Kuzneski masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Target for a Team America Parody, 1 July 2010
By 
A. Duckworth (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
To start with a positive, the central theme is different and interesting. However it is well telegraphed and by page 54 you should be able to get 90%+ of the plot - one of the breathy reviewers on the jacket squeals "a great plot twist... all I can say is hang on for the ride". All I can say is don't, and preferably don't pay the entrance money. The plot twist doesn't turn up and you know what's happening an eighth of the way through the book.

There is some reasonable humour although it usually gets dragged down by clunky and obvious statements in the dialogue. This is compounded by the author's need to glorify the physically perfect (e.g. from p1: hero "eased his chiselled, 6'4"", 230-pound frame under the surging liquid") and uber-deadly violence of his main characters, using gushing language which at several points makes you want to yell "America - F - yeah!".

Amusingly the devastatingly professional killing brilliance of his (yet whimsically charming) heroes at times seems to utterly desert them, providing several moments of annoying inconsistency where scenes they should have handled with ease become complicated and compounded in the attempt to maintain the thread of the increasingly tenuous (and determinedly not twisting) plot.

So with dialogue which is often clunky and ripe for parody, and a plot which is obvious early on and forced through via several inconsistent scenes, this is definitely a book to avoid.

In the foreword the author tells us that this was his first novel, now re-written after his subsequent successes and re-released, claiming that he has corrected several errors that were in the first edition and which are typical of beginner authors. Hmmm. You missed a bit Christopher, quite a bit, but please don't re-issue a third edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Book to have on your Shelf, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Alan Field "Uk fan" (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a must for all those fans of Mr Kuzneski. Its got balance in the story and a good theme taht keeps you going for the length of the book. Up to his usual standard. A good book to shock and make you think as the story turns history on its head. I had a task to put it down as I wanted to know and read more.!! Five stars..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the plantation, 11 May 2011
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
i started this book eagerly, being a fan of Chris Kusneski, unfortunately i was quite disappointed. the style of writing wasn't what i am used with his books and, although the characters are the same as the rest of his books they just weren't believable. if i had read this book as the first of Chris' works then i probably wouldn't bother to read anything else of his, fortunately i have read everything else he has ever written and they are brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to read this one...., 19 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
Like most I have read the 3 previous books due to the order the books were released. I could go on about how addictive this read is and how you will not be able to put it down until its done with you but I won't. Please simply see for yourself...and if you haven't already get the other books too, trust me, you will be far from dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
I find Chris Kuzneski's novels very entertaining and this one did not disappoint. I have the whole series at the moment and just waiting for more as they arrive. very happy with my purchase and seller delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was thrilled when ifound this book big fan, and hard to belive I have found Chris Kuzneski hard to find in UK must be looking in the wrong shops but happy I found this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book by Chris Kuzneski, and having read others wanted to get the beginning of the story.
This explains the beginning of the Payne and Jones adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathless, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Plantation (Payne & Jones) (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent reading, in the same vein as James Rollins, another of my favourite authors, I just love Payne & Jones, love the banter that goes on between them, it gives a breathing space throughout the story helping the reader to cope with the intensity of the plot.
Compared to other books written by CK, The Plantation is a chilling read but manageable with the help of Payne & Jones.
Highly recommended for those into adventure, mystery and a gripping story.
I couldn't find anything to dislike about The Plantation, up to CK's usual standard.
I look forward to reading many more books that involve the duo of Payne &Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb268439c)

This product

The Plantation (Payne & Jones)
The Plantation (Payne & Jones) by Chris Kuzneski (Mass Market Paperback - 4 July 2009)
5.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews