Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice's secrets are revealed
"Atlantis Unleashed" is the third full length novel in "The Warriors of Poseidon" series (there are also two short stories available in anthologies "Wild Thing" and "Shifter"). In this book Justice, the blue haired warrior who sacrificed himself to save Vengeance from a tortuous fate at the hands of vampire Goddess Anubisa in "Atlantis Awakening" takes a lead role...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down
This is the 3rd full length story in the warriors of poseidon series and I was eagerly awaiting this book as I loved Justice in the previous books and wanted a book to focus on him more. Unfortunately this book while being the story of Justice and archaeologist Keely, spent an equal if not more time on other characters and situations. I wouldn't mind so much if these...
Published on 9 July 2011 by E. L. Joseph


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice's secrets are revealed, 30 May 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Atlantis Unleashed" is the third full length novel in "The Warriors of Poseidon" series (there are also two short stories available in anthologies "Wild Thing" and "Shifter"). In this book Justice, the blue haired warrior who sacrificed himself to save Vengeance from a tortuous fate at the hands of vampire Goddess Anubisa in "Atlantis Awakening" takes a lead role.

Justice's secrets are soon revealed as are significant snippets of long forgotten Atlantean history when the warriors locate another human with an ancient gift; an Object Reader able to read any significant emotional events embedded in an item. Said human, archaeologist Keely McDermott finds herself caught up in the escalating paranormal war between the Atlanteans and their enemies as she and Justice search for the Star of Artemis; one of seven precious stones required to successfully raise Atlantis to the surface world.

This is my favourite book in this series so far. Justice is an intriguing character, a powerful warrior yet left vulnerable by his childhood, his fractured ancestry (yep the blue hair is a giveaway he's not totally Atlantean) and his determination to ensure the safety of Keely; even when she chooses to risk herself by using her gift to benefit the warriors. Keely in turn is an equally well fleshed character with hidden depths; her courage overcoming the difficulties her gift had brought into her life, including rejection from her parents and isolation from friends and colleagues.

Other characters are introduced; a human resistance fighter and a reporter both matched to other Warriors of Poseidon (the former's story "Atlantis Unmasked" is due for publication next month), a further woman the reader encounters will undoubtedly bond with another Atlantean whilst High Priest Alaric and rebel leader Quinn struggle with their mutual attraction, each believing they have no possibility of a future together. Amid a variety of developing relationships, the adventurous plot line never falters as Keely and Justice strive to overcome a number of obstacles, yet they do eventually find time to get hot and steamy in an appropriate location; the equally steamy Guatemalan jungle.

The action runs thick and fast in an assortment of locations; from Boston to Atlantis and from The Void to Guatemala, with plenty of vampires and rogue shape shifters determined to ensure the Atlanteans fail in their quest to raise Atlantis. There is also plenty of emotional range within the story line; from heartbreaking sacrifice to almost farcical moments of humour, making "Atlantis Unleashed" an absolute must read for any fan of paranormal/fantasy romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down, 9 July 2011
By 
E. L. Joseph (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the 3rd full length story in the warriors of poseidon series and I was eagerly awaiting this book as I loved Justice in the previous books and wanted a book to focus on him more. Unfortunately this book while being the story of Justice and archaeologist Keely, spent an equal if not more time on other characters and situations. I wouldn't mind so much if these scenes felt vital to the overall story but it just felt like bits of average chit chat.

The parts with justice and keely were good and i did enjoy the story more at these parts but i didn't feel that the story did these characters well..justice. As one reviewer has pointed out the feel of the book needed to be darker for Justice and it wasn't. We enter the story long after Justice has been thrown to the Void and are given nothing on his time with Anubisa or any reflections on that. He spends most of the book fighting with his Nereid half and i just wasn't convinved. His personality just felt so flat - all he-man alpha male in charge of his woman and we were not given another side to him. Unfortunately this book put me off Justice and im gutted since i was looking forward to his story so much.
After justice and keely are together their mission is to find one of the gems of the trident but this plays a miniscule part of the story (it is mentioned to set them on their path and found right at the end seemingly to wrap things up with very little trouble). The story focuses more on a rescue of some Guatemalan people at the mercy of vampires.

The relationship between Keely and Justice didn't draw me in. He accepted it and she kept disagreeing for a while without much vigour until she changed her mind in the blink of an eye. Their relationship didn't grow or develop well and i feel that this is such a pity. The premise was that Keely the archaeologist/object reader found and kept a fish carving done 100s of years ago by Justice and she had visions of him that made her feel close to him. I thought that this was really a great starting point for a brilliant romance element to this book and i felt like this was lost somewhere in the middle.

I hate to criticise this book so much and perhaps i was hard on it because my expectations were so high. I felt disappointed with this book despite finding it a decent enough read. I just never felt the urge to pick it up and normally i read a decent book in a few hours. This book became a chapter before bed and nothing more. Hopefully the next book is better and this is not the sign of things to come.
To new readers of this series please do not start with this book as the first 2 were miles better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis Disappointed, 20 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Wardropper (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
Like many others, I'm sure, I eagerly awaited this new release expecting it to be a "blow-your-mid/ read over and over again" book. However, I was very disappointed when the last page came and the book was put down.

My major complaints are that, to me, the story needed to be much, much darker in order to better portray Justice than it actually was. The steam between Justice and Keely was lacking, with Keely being way too accepting of everything happening to her to be at all realistic. But, that said, the worst thing is Day's tendency to prefer setting up her other warriors' and their maidens in long winded scenes instead of paying much needed attention to Justice and Keely. Story development over several books is great (look at Feehan or Kenyon) but it left me feeling empty to see three other cast members get set up in significantly long scenes as well as the fact that the two main protagonists had to rely heavily on their brethren and supporting cast to bail them out on more than one occassion - this apparent ineptitude on Justice's and Keely's part made me wonder "why make it a two person romance at all? Should just have made a whole book about a group of warriors and their maidens fighting evil."

That all being said, this could just be the weak book in the batch and, since I still like the idea and the world Day has built, I am awaiting the next Atlantis book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good addition to the Atlantis series, 7 April 2012
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
I wont go over the story line as the other reviewers have done that, but I will say that the story of Justice was an enjoyable read.

The story has a good plot and the romance between the two leads is good with plenty of action and fireworks between the two. Justice is a great character and his leading lady might be my favourite so far in the series as she is strong and independent and dosen't need anyone to rescue her.

The only dissapointing part of the story was the whole "dual personality" bit. This is a bit of a pet hate of mine and might noot bother others so much, but it always annoys me when the two parts of the hero are so different.

All in all a good addition to the series and I look forward to the next from Ms Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis Unleashed, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
Ms. J. M. Coppen "book worm" (Derby. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you haven't read any of the book in this series you dont'know what your missing. Packed with fun, adventure and a man every woman wants, who could ask for anything else. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great book, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
another book in the continuing stories of atlantis, the stories are sexy, and every character is enjoyable to read about , stories to get involved with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon)
Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon) by Alyssa Day (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Jun. 2009)
£0.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews