Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four fascinating and varied paranormal romances
This book is a collection of four short stories by some of the most notable paranormal romance writers of the moment.

"ALPHA AND OMEGA" by Patricia Briggs
This story is part of the "Moon Called" series (with follow-up "Blood Bound") that I consider to be the best paranormal romance series currently being written. Patricia Briggs' skills in writing an...
Published on 6 Aug. 2007 by Helen Hancox

versus
52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag - but two out four makes it worth reading
Got to take the rough with the smooth as they say and that's certainly true of anthologies. I guess most people will be picking this book up because it has a story by an author they like. Personally, I'm a Patricia Briggs and Karen Chance fan but I'd never read anything by Eileen Wilks or Sunny.

It's very difficult to give the book an overall rating - three...
Published on 19 Aug. 2007 by clairefromwales


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Prowl - a breakdown, 29 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
There are four 'romance' stories written by four authors. The 1st is written by Patricia Briggs and when she gets it right she's fabulous - and this is a great example of this. Her story is set in the same world as Moon Called/Blood Bound and deals with a Chicargo Werewolf Pack - Anna who is an abused member gets the courage to inform the Morrok (head werewolf)in Montana of a murder within the pack. He sends an 'investigator' his son Charles and arranges for Anna to liase with him. The story then develops as Charles investigates what's gone wrong with the pack including how they treat Anna, and Anna learns about the true rules of the wolfpacks. The romance is a beautiful thread and I can't wait for the sequel! The 2nd story is by Eileen Wilks and is about a psychic called Kai with an unusual power, her inhuman friend Nathan and a deadly magical creature that is murdering Gifted people. The idea is a 'power wind' brought magic back to the world so there are now Gifted e.g mages and psychics and lots of unexpected flotsom... The race is on for them to find the killer before it finds Kai, and for Kai and Nathan to sort out their feelings. Loved the twists, including Nathan's true identity! The 3rd story is by Karen Chance who delivers a wonderfully inventive tale with a few twists of it's own set within the same world as Touch the Dark etc but this time focused on a mage called Claire who is a mage null and as such a highly prized rarity, which is how she finds herself for auction. This is not good news as her value is in her death and in escaping she ends up in Faerie - fortunately with a Fey Lord who's in as much trouble as her as they've landed in enemy territory. The 4th story is by Sunny set in the same world as the Mona Lisa series. Forget the romance, the story whacks a bit of sex in instead and it's just a chapter which could have easily been included within her books where Mona Lisa finds out some consequences of having killed the Queen Louisa and that she's getting a little mixed up with the demon dead again. Pretty important if you're reading the series, a disappointing story if you're expecting ANY romance or engaging world/characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One Bad Apple..., 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
Alpha and Omega by Patricia Briggs- this story introduces a new character to the world of Mercy Thompson and elaborates on a off-screen event in or between Blood Bound and Iron Kissed. The character Anna is a lot like Kitty ( Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville 1)) at first, being at the bottom of the pack. The nature of the short story stops much character development, but I enjoyed the peek into their lives, the plot and interaction drawing the reader along at a quick pace. I look forwards to reading more about them. Four stars.

Inhuman by Eileen Wilks - The world made by Eileen is interesting, based on some magical booster that enhanced and woke magic in some humans. There is a great deal of prejudice against the magically woken which could have been handled better, and several of the minor characters are very cardboard. It is not a quick read, the perspective swinging back and forth inelegantly and it did not captivate my attention. Three stars.

Buying Trouble by Karen Chance - Set in the world of her current series, the story centres on a new character called Claire. I enjoyed reading about it through the eyes of another character, though the protagonist was again from an unbelievably well-bred background. The adventure was quick paced and had a good flow, but the reasons behind many key points were undisclosed. The cousin was poorly written, and it is questionable whether he survived or not at the end. Despite this, I liked it. Three stars.

Mona Lisa Betwinning by Sunny - Oh dear - where to start? The setting was modern day, I assume, and the protagonist an ex-nurse. The style the story was written in was out-of-sync. No one thinks like the flowery, over poetic intonations the book was written in, not when they were a woman of the working class in America. It was beyond ridiculous. And then I realized the short story was about the main character in the series Monere, Children of the Moon, and the author was giving major spoilers about the first book. Not only that, but it made no sense. The protagonist Lisa (Mona being the title for Queen) was contradictory and painfully ignorant. I have absolutely no desire to read the author Sunny's works. I closed the book after several pages of the story. A big disappointment after a nice collection. One star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars on the prowl, 2 May 2009
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
mmm lets see I really loved the patricia briggs story she is one of my favorite authors, ,her story is the first in this book of four.

This story is the preview for the book called cry wolf, Its the story of how Anna An omega were wolf abused and broken by her current pack, meets Charles .Charles is the son of the Marrok Bran ,from the mercy thompson novels .(You'll know who I mean if you've read them`) I have orderded Cry Wolf and cant wait to read more.

The second story is by eileen wilks and it was ok ,after reading the first story I found it a let down though I gave it a chance.The main character is Kai she thinks she is a Telepath but as the story unfolds you'll see thats not strictly correct .Theres a little romance as always and there are witches a bit of a mystery, and the male main role is nathan who happpens to be a hell hound from another dimension, I'll leave you to make your own minds up about the rest of this story.

Karen Chance buying trouble

I have never read any of Karen Chances work before, but I certainly will now .This was a great read with a little comedy a fey lord ,dragons trolls mages were wolfs action mystery, and of course a strong fiesty female lead and a sexy fey male with a body to die for ,He glows like a light bulb (at least in our dimension) who she of course cant keep her hands off ,A great quick read I hope she writes some more about these characters.

I cant tell you about story number 4 ,because I read the first page and then didnt carry on, maybe I should give it more of a chance .

Overall I gave this book 3 stars because there are weaker stories in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was okay but not amazing!, 29 July 2010
By 
K. Hall "Kazzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
I always find it hard to rate anthologies as invariably not all the stories are good ones. This book was okay, but Karen Chance's short story was by far the best in the book, with the last story in the book being fairly good too. The other's I could take them or leave them really. If you have read Karen Chances' other books about Mercea, then it's probably worth buying this one just for Karen's story, as it has a connection with that earlier series of books. (Won't say anymore about it as don't want to give any spoilers)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Variable, 2 Oct. 2012
Interestingly, I agree with the three most recent reviews - word for word.

I had read the Alpha to Omega story before, and bought this anthology without realising it wasn't a new story, which was a bit of a disappointment, but since I am currently battling a cold that is masquerading as the Black Death, a little easy reading was welcome.

The weakest of the stories is the one by Sunny. If I try to be really complimentary, I could compar ethe writing style to to Tanith Lee or Patricia McKinley's writing, but that isn't really accurate. Neither of those two writers indulge in so much plotless sex and unnecessary backstory. And they both write books of mesmerising beauty. So really, that is a totally inaccurate comparison, isn't it?

Apart from the Sunny story, a pleasant interlude for a bed-ridden afternoon, and it has inspired me to try another book by Eileen Wilkes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 23 Dec. 2007
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
As others have mentioned it's hard to write an overall review for an anthology.

Patricia Briggs - as usual, especially in her werewolf series, a really good read. The characters were nicely developed with the emphasis on their feelings as opposed to the "thriller" angle. I also liked the fact that the supposed bad guy in the end had motivation that you could identify with even if his methods were despicable.

Eileen Wilks - overall a good story. It lost it's way a bit in the middle but managed to finish well. I felt as if it would be a good introduction to a series involving Kai, Nathan and Dell.

Karen Chance - This one worked well as a stand alone story although I did feel as if the sex was a little gratuitous and it would have been possible to find some other way to (more believably) have her manifest her potential. I particularly liked the conclusion.

Sunny - I'd never read any of her work previously and now have absolutely no desire to. There wasn't really a plot and the whole thing seemed to be an excuse for ever more graphic sex scenes. The main characters grief at the death of her lover would have been more believable had she not been very enthusiastically sleeping with at least three other people (I may have lost count). Frankly I think this story would have been better off clearly labeled as "adult" fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly packaged - World Books, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
Although book was undamaged (through sheer luck) ....Package had obviously been re-used...torn in numerous places and sellotaped to keep book inside....not happy will not use again for purchases.

Ordered the three books in set, but only received book 1 and 3. Not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars On The Prowl, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
A great collection of short stories which I decided to read due to the Patricia Briggs story. The book introduced me to other writers which a well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Prowl (Berkey Book) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is agood read and introduction to the authors and some of their books. Definitely worth reading the books that are introduced here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great delivery very fast couldn't ask for a better deal many thanks I will be visiting this site again thanks again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Prowl (Berkey Book)
On the Prowl (Berkey Book) by et al Patricia Briggs (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Dec. 2007)
£5.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews