Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burning with Brilliance
'Mira Hoskins doesn't know she's a natural-born witch who possesses the rare-and powerful-element of air. And she never expects to find herself tied to a mahogany bed frame, captive of a man who aches to fulfill her every desire and let loose the magick that dwells inside her...
Heat emanates from elemental fire witch Jack McAlister. The Coven, a governing authority...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Winters Kiss

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This blows
Witches and Warlocks make up a hidden supernatural community where the two sects, `The Coven' and `The Duskoff' have a long lived standoff, Warlocks only differ by being rouge Witches, ones that break the laws put in place by the Witch governing body. Witches are connected to the world in a way that humans aren't, different Witches can control varying elements; earth,...
Published on 21 July 2008 by Jessica


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burning with Brilliance, 9 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
'Mira Hoskins doesn't know she's a natural-born witch who possesses the rare-and powerful-element of air. And she never expects to find herself tied to a mahogany bed frame, captive of a man who aches to fulfill her every desire and let loose the magick that dwells inside her...
Heat emanates from elemental fire witch Jack McAlister. The Coven, a governing authority of witches, has sent him to protect Mira from a band of warlocks who drain witches of power...and life. Long ago, he saw Mira's parents murdered by this same dark magick. He'd like to quell his guilt and offer her everything she deserves. But she's the long-lost cousin of his boss-making seduction off-limits. With Jack's strong guidance, Mira is luring forth her inner magick. But his sense of duty is quickly swelling into insatiable hunger. He was warned about the natural attraction between air and fire. Now he risks being consumed by the woman he shouldn't want-but can't stay away from...'

'Witch Fire' is the first novel in the fantastic new 'Elemental Witch' series.
I Love it! It's great that the series starts off with an unsuspecting 'normal' waitress and therefore allows the reader to uncover the new 'magical' world along with her. Mira is a strong, funny and loveable main character. Along with the tough, protective and caring Jack, these two make entering this new world a delight of not only the elements, but the senses. Throw in some more intriguing characters, magic, foes, a yearning to know more and you have one extrordinary first book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book one of the "Elemental Witches" series, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Twenty five years ago warlock William Crane released a demon into the world by sacrificing the lives and magicks of four elemental witches; each with power over fire, earth, water or air. That night, Mira Hoskin's mother and father died; their bodies left unable to function following the rape of their magick. Realising their child would undoubtedly be born an air witch (the rarest and most powerful of elemental magicks), Mira's parents kept her existence hidden from "The Coven" the governing body of witches. Following their last request prior to their deaths, Mira's aunt raises her niece in complete ignorance of her magical heritage, yet even with no proper training Mira instinctively taps into her power; small events she is easily able to pass off as coincidental. Unfortunately once Crane learns of her existence he will stop at nothing to harness the power of an air witch.

Thrust suddenly into a magical world; a world in which someone very much wants her dead; Mira is put under the protection of fire witch Jack McCallister. Although fire and air always produce an intense attraction, Jack's pretty sure he can keep his hands to himself until their magicks settle ..... how wrong can he get? The pair quickly give in to the chemistry flaring between them; however both soon find their initial passion developing into something far stronger and permanent. Yet Jack keeps a terrible secret to himself; fearing Mira will never forgive him for past deeds, whilst Mira; still vulnerable from her messy divorce from her cheating ex-husband has huge trust issues and perhaps cannot forgive Jack his reticence when she learns of his past.

This is a fantastic paranormal romance and a hugely entertaining read. With its almost epic action as witches battle warlocks plus plenty of explosive love scenes between Mira and Jack, "Witch Fire" is a magical read. Secondary characters are well developed (both good and bad) and the powers each elemental witch can wield (dependant on their magickal strength) are diverse and cleverly thought out by AB. I now eagerly await the second part of this series to make it into print in March next year. "Witch Blood" will be the story of Thomas Monahan (Mira's earth witch cousin and leader of The Coven) and Isabelle; a water witch determined to avenge her sister's murder by The Dustoff; the evil counterpart of The Coven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scorching summer read, 26 Jun 2007
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like your romance with a paranormal twist, & enough eroticism to start an inferno, then this book has it all.

This is the start of Anya Bast's series for Berkley & I can't wait for the next installment.

But be warned, if you like your love scenes with the door closed then this is NOT the book for you.

Loved it....Write faster please Miss Bast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This blows, 21 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Witches and Warlocks make up a hidden supernatural community where the two sects, `The Coven' and `The Duskoff' have a long lived standoff, Warlocks only differ by being rouge Witches, ones that break the laws put in place by the Witch governing body. Witches are connected to the world in a way that humans aren't, different Witches can control varying elements; earth, air, fire and water by utilising their own innate magic.

Mira Hoskins is a waitress, with aspirations of going to college, she is trying to rebuild her life after going through a nasty divorce and is now struggling to recover from the effect her cheating ex had on her. She is the epitome of the average luckless soul, with low self esteem, trust issues and poor prospects. That is until Jack McCallister turns up at her work, he saves her from some thugs and when she wakes up he tells her that she is an air witch, the most powerful of castes he also proclaims himself to be a fire witch. Because she is untrained `The Duskoff' will be after her with the aim of sacrificing her life by taking her magic in a demon circle, a witch from each element is needed to open the portal. If this wasn't troubling enough to remain safe she must stay in Jacks apartment until its safe to move, just the two of them...

Considering the guilt Jack feels about the night years ago when he acted as a witness to four deaths by his father the head of `The Duskoff', Jack jumps at the chance to absolve himself of this lingering pain by helping protect Mira, the daughter of the air witch who died at the time. For this reason and the fact that Mira is his bosses estranged cousin he can't have her but the attraction between Air and Fire is intense...

I don't rate this book, it is clichéd, badly structured, poorly written and with boring characters. Jack begins as a womanising thug but with an artistic soul who finds love with Mira who is possibly one of the dullest characters I've come across; she works in a diner, she's treated ill by her husband (who was adequate in bed) but over the course of the book discovers she is special, powerful, has status and finds she is desired by an amazingly attractive and powerful man who is brilliant in bed. She gains everything but doesn't grow or develop as a character, only in her magical talents. Throughout the book till the end she insists she doesn't want commitment after being burned by her husband this irritating refrain is constantly being brought to our attention by a poorly imagined and flat heroine. In fact it's both characters that have their own mantra they repeat; Mira that she's just with Jack for `hot sex' and doesn't want commitment, Jack that he can't have her but is unable to resist her. This was so pitifully dense.

The books structure was uninspiring, the writing merely around the sex scenes, these are graphic and to a degree passionate, but they aren't used intelligently in the books structure to develop the romance, they are simply sex, which make them for me less effective. The structure overall goes something like this: Sex, training, sex, training, sex, sex, small skirmish, training, sex, training, sex, stuck on ending.

I also found the writing itself wasn't very good at all, it's highly uninventive, I wasn't too bothered with the first half but by the second the half it was really starting to grate on me. It also very much follows the formula of Jack did this, Mira thought that, it's all very bland and dull. There are also some really cringe worthy lines and moments:

`She raised an eyebrow. "Really? You came to apologise for lying to me?"'
`It wasn't any kind of hurt, it was hurt with a capital H.'
"What were you thinking?...Oh, that's right, you weren't."
`By the wan light of the moon he could see his...'

I concede the fact that many books contain these clichés, but they don't bother you or even get acknowledged because of the quality of the writing, the inventiveness that the author shows in the surrounding world and for me this didn't happen, the concept is interesting but it became for me just a vague outline without decent characters, writing or development, if it does interest you then you might want to give it a try as other reviewers have rated this very highly and the excerpt in the back of the next instalment 'Witch Blood' looks a lot better but I can't faithfully recommend it given how bad I thought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less sex, more plot please., 11 Jun 2009
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like Kim Harrison's Rachel Morgan series or Laurell Hamilton's Merry Gentry series then you'll enjoy this book.

The story centres around the intense attraction between Mira (an air witch) and Jack (a fire witch) and be warned the sex scenes (and there are a lot of them)are incredibly graphic - definitely not one for Granny or the prudish!!

Once you get past the sex the storyline has potential - this is the first book and centres around an air witch as she learns to use her powers while being pursued by the bad guys but this book could have been so much better if the author had spent a little more time on background information and character development rather than trying to become the next Jackie Collins. I will be buying the next two in the series to find out more about the other elemental witches but I hope that there is a little more focus on plot development rather than the endless sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If it was possible to give no stars....., 20 Dec 2008
By 
M. O'Toole "Avid Reader" (Ardee, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second-worst book I've read in a long time. (see Christine Warren's One Bite with a Stranger for the worst). All of my auto-buy authors seem to be between books, and won't be publishing until early in the new year, so I'm desperately searching for new stuff, and unfortunately found this.

Badly written, with stodgy descriptions, wooden characters, boring sex and a seriously weak plot. If I had known what it was like in advance, I wouldn't have read it from a library, never mind paid money for it.

Apparently the next one is going to be better, but this author just made my auto-not-buy list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars boring!!!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is well written and the character are well rounded but the story is very boring which made the characters boring, it could have been so much better. The story didnt hold my interest i found my mind kept wandering and struggled to read it and i wont be buying any more of this authors work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling Hot, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book solely on the summary. It seemed different, and it was.
This book definitely made an impression. So much so, that I was almost worried that my book would catch fire due to the extremely high degree of sexual tension between the main characters.
In most books, an attraction of this degree would seem ludicrous, but for this book I can only say it suited it perfectly.

I have bought the second book by now, and I will most certainly be buying the others as well. If that doesn't say that this is a good book, I don't know what will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot!! (Pun intended lol), 15 Oct 2012
By 
zoe (Newark, Nottinghamshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
What an amazing story. I like that it is almost down played, and almost believable. I love the heat between the main characters, the setting for the story and the plot in general. What I really adore though is the fluidity of the whole written works. Wide range of vocab, beautiful paragraphs that work on a very deep level and all the nuances of the characters. It just has the whole package, going to be an explosive series and I'm excited to be just beginning it :-) x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review - Witch Fire, 15 May 2010
By 
AngelGoneMad "Naomi" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
(WARNING - THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS)

Witch Fire is the first in the Elemental Witches series. It is a sizzling, hot novel that will leave you begging for your seat to be touched. This story will have you hooked and will make you keep turning those pages just to find out what happens next.

I have to say that I enjoyed every minute of this book. I felt as if I was part in the story, I felt everything that Mira and Jack felt - so much I was nearly blushing at certain parts. It's a magical feeling (no pun intended) when an author can make you feel like this through their written words.

I am used to reading novels that involve vampires, werewolves and all those other beasties that go bump in the night. But this story focuses mainly on the witch world which is interlinked with humans. There is the odd mentioning of demons here and there but nothing too specific. These witches have managed to live amongst humans and have gone unnoticed.

The main character, Mira, is an easy character to relate to in the sense that every woman at some point in their life has been low on their self esteem and unsure of who they really are. She doesn't know her family as she was brought up by her godmother and all her life she never knew she was a witch - let alone a very strong and much sought after Air Witch.

Enter Jack. This is a man who knows what he wants and can't help himself but have it. I'm sure after you read this story you will be wanting your very own personal Jack. It's kind of hard to describe Jack as a character. In the beginning you get the idea he is a womanizer, but deep down he has just never met the right woman. He has a very bad relationship with his father, one that cannot be resolved. Jack witnessed Mira's parents death at a tender age and has blamed himself since. He is full of remorse and guilt for what he witnessed and this reflects in this actions towards Mira.

The villains in this story are the kind that you really don't want to mess with. They have magickal powers just like Mira and Jack but they use theirs for evil. They are also infamous in the human world as wealthy businessmen. They are corruptive witches, known as warlocks, and will stop at no means to get what they want and that's Mira and her powers.

Witch Fire's plot is easy to follow and quite straight forward. It's not one of those in depth stories that you have to sit and read about five chapters to understand what is going on. There were times throughout the book that I was able to guess what was going to happen next but don't let this deter you from enjoying the story. I think I managed to guess what was going to happen because I have read so many supernatural books and have probably come across a similar story outline, either that or I am an ace detective.

I think what makes this book so easy to read is the storyline, the fact that it involves action, love, romance and quite a bit of lust, everything you want from a supernatural romance novel. This book is definitely not for young people, but maybe the more mature teen and adults due to the sexual content. Witch Fire is an ideal book that you can read anywhere...when you are on holiday or snuggling up in front of the fire (at least then you have an excuse for the redness of your cheeks).

Disclaimer: I have not bought this book or been given it free of charge and I am not receiving any money to review this book. I borrowed this book from the local library and everything I have said is based on my honest opinion and thought I would share it with you.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation)
Witch Fire (Berkley Sensation) by Anya Bast (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Jun 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews