Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a really good author
I very much like her exploration of older couples with all the baggage that entails, how to make a relationship when you have careers etc to keep you apart- and indeed whether it is worth the sacrifices ( not compromises!) needed to make a relationship. Her message seems to be- take a chnace, or forever regret it. These situations I feel are more relevant to readers than...
Published 1 month ago by CBWHITTLE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Close to" Being Really Good
This book had a great premise, but it felt as if it was about 50 or 75 pages too long; too much waffling between the Secret Service Agent Cat and Second Lady's brother Aidan.
Yes, it's tough to love someone in such a dangerous profession, but if you let them go then you worry and have no relationship with them at all. AND you have to imagine them with someone else,...
Published on 9 May 2008 by Amazon thy name is credit card...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a really good author, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much like her exploration of older couples with all the baggage that entails, how to make a relationship when you have careers etc to keep you apart- and indeed whether it is worth the sacrifices ( not compromises!) needed to make a relationship. Her message seems to be- take a chnace, or forever regret it. These situations I feel are more relevant to readers than easy romance themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book from Kathryn shay, as always once you start you just don't want to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pages to keep turning, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good series enjoyed the journey with the family the ups and downs a good book that has you turning the pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really thoroghly enjoyed reading this book, the author drew you into the story within the first chapter. Thank you.Another fabulous story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant - All stories carry on in each book which was good to follow even though they were no longer the main characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the next book about the O'Neil family

Bailey and Clay are now VP and second lady with 2 children and another on the way

Bailey has a Secret Service Agent C.J. Ludzecky who she and the children love
Pa O'Neil has a heart attack and Bailey brother Aidan blames him self,

there are all at the hospital when Aidan who loves taking photos meets CJ

Pa need to get better so there go to the house by the lake and Aidan falls in love with CJ

Things happen to Clay and one of the children and CJ tell Aidan that she could never go out with him because of her job

so there have a fling

it had me in tears in some places but i loved reading the book

Cant wait to read the next one

i have read all of the hidden cove ones about the firemen and loved them as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 13 April 2013
I liked this book , it was a really good read . I'm surprised it was a free book too but it's just made me but the next two and being fair they weren't that expensive :0))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kathryn Shay is a fantastic author, the turmoil suffered by each character within the story lines quickly draws you in, and the family dynamics are brilliant wish my family were as close as the O'Neils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Close to" Being Really Good, 9 May 2008
This review is from: Close to You (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book had a great premise, but it felt as if it was about 50 or 75 pages too long; too much waffling between the Secret Service Agent Cat and Second Lady's brother Aidan.
Yes, it's tough to love someone in such a dangerous profession, but if you let them go then you worry and have no relationship with them at all. AND you have to imagine them with someone else, having kids with that person and so on. Ms. Shay is such an excellent writer and no one can create families with sibling relationships so true-to-life: funny, sweet, petty spats, taking criticism from them that you wouldn't take from anyone else. Like Aidan's brothers, I got impatient with his hesitance and moping around about Cat.
As his brother Liam said, "My wife DIED. If I could get back even one hour with Kitty I would" or words to that effect. Life is short, so get with it already, Aidan! I liked the Second Lady and Vice President so much I plan to go back and read that book.
I look forward to books about Aidan and Bailey's siblings as well as Cat's sisters. I particularly appreciated the Polish endearments Cat used with her family, especially her brother Luke, who cast a long shadow as an Agent before he retired for his wife's peace of mind.
This language and family unity reminded me of Nora Roberts Stanislaski books. Those were Silhouette Intimate Moments books, Luring a Lady, Convincing Alex, and so on, in case anyone's interested. The sexual tension between Cat and Aidan is well done, but I just didn't enjoy this book as much as previous Shay stories.
Because Cat is worried about her reputation and keeping her emotional distance, there aren't as many love scenes as Shay usually includes. Understandable, but just a warning to those who long for that connection between their protagonists. Her fire fighter books, excuse the pun, are HOT! I'll trade in "Close To You" for Bailey and Clay's story or that of Cat's brother Luke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf2b3cc)

This product

Close to You (Berkley Sensation)
Close to You (Berkley Sensation) by Kathryn Shay (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews