Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG! I loved it!
Over eleven thousand years ago, before Atlantis sunk into the sea, a group of warriors met with the sea god's high priest. They were divided into seven groups of seven and assigned each a sacred duty and a magic-imbued gemstone. Some were to sink to the bottom of the world, shielded from prying eyes. Others were to join the lands of humans at assigned locations. They...
Published on 12 Mar 2007 by Detra Fitch

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear...
Conlan is the high prince of Atlantis. After being tortured by Anubisa the vampire queen for seven years he has finally returned home. Only to find that Poseidon's Trident has been stolen and he must reclaim it. Riley Dawson (an empathic social worker) gets caught in between the vampires and Conlan's Atlantean Warriors. She and Conlan are drawn towards one another, but...
Published on 26 May 2007 by Lesley70


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG! I loved it!, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
Over eleven thousand years ago, before Atlantis sunk into the sea, a group of warriors met with the sea god's high priest. They were divided into seven groups of seven and assigned each a sacred duty and a magic-imbued gemstone. Some were to sink to the bottom of the world, shielded from prying eyes. Others were to join the lands of humans at assigned locations. They would serve as first warning on the eve of humanity's destruction. Only then would Atlantis rise again.

Conlan, High Prince of Atlantis, had been captured by Anubisa, the vampire goddess, and tortured for seven years. When he finally returns to Atlantis, nearly dead, it is to learn that Poseidon's Trident has been stolen. He, and the rest of the Seven Warriors of Poseidon, are to surface and retrieve it. Along side the group would be the high priest and Ven, the King's Vengeance. Poseidon's Trident has been the vehicle of ascension for Atlantean kings for millennia. Without it, Conlan could not ascend to the Atlantean throne.

Still raw from Anubisa's torture, Conlan does not wait for the others before heading out for the surface. Upon reaching air, his mind is bombarded with a mind link that only Atlanteans have been able to access. However, this time the link came from a human female who is being attacked by creatures of the night. Conlan finds himself possessed with the need to locate her, protect her, and make her his. Problem is that desiring a human is taboo.

Riley Dawson is a dedicated Virginia Beach social worker. She and her sister, Quinn, have always been emotional empaths. However, they believed it to be a type of twin speak (even though they were almost a year different in age). Being an empath is hard on the heart, especially in her profession. Therefore, she often heads for the beach for quiet healing. Riley knew she should not be out after human curfew. (Only recently have the vampires and shape shifters announced their existence.) But nothing could keep her from the beach after such a dreadful day. The last thing she expected was to be attacked by a group of men. Or for a male of obviously great power to link with her and heed her mental call for help. Riley certainly never expected to find herself among a group of Atlantean Warriors and in the middle of a war!

***** OMG! OMG! I have never come across a plot such as this! I found it to be totally original. Author Alyssa Day grabbed me with an iron hook before I even finished reading the very first paragraph. When that happens, I know the story has great potential; Alyssa Day did not let me down.

This IS a stand alone story, but I am having difficulty forcing myself to wait for the second book in this series. (Actually, book two will be a novella in the May 2007 anthology WILD THING. Book three, ATLANTIS AWAKENING will be released as a full length novel in November 2007. Sample of it is in the back of ATLANTIS RISING.) Be sure you keep note of the info above, because I pity anyone who misses out on this stellar series. Paranormal Romance gets no better than this! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 26 May 2007
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
Conlan is the high prince of Atlantis. After being tortured by Anubisa the vampire queen for seven years he has finally returned home. Only to find that Poseidon's Trident has been stolen and he must reclaim it. Riley Dawson (an empathic social worker) gets caught in between the vampires and Conlan's Atlantean Warriors. She and Conlan are drawn towards one another, but Conlan must remain loyal to Atlantis and Riley is human.

I've read the other reviews and can't help but wonder if I've read the same book. It's generally not a good sign when within the first two pages I am already mentally editing the text - and this continues throughout the book.

Riley is always speaking before she thinks, and worse sometimes acting before her brain is out of park. On p66 she's musing about how she and her sister Quinn are like twins - "ten months apart was close enough to be almost twins". Well no it's not, not unless your mother had the longest pregnancy on record. And once we meet Quinn it quickly becomes clear that Riley doesn't know her sister at all, which makes her 'twins' statement even more ridiculous.

Both she and Conlan are so two-dimensional, that you just don't care about them. Conlan has been viciously tortured for seven years by the vampire queen. But the only reason we're aware it's happened is because every so often he either tells someone, or somebody else mentions it. Because we have little emotional connection to the characters when horrific things happen to them it just doesn't horrify. Riley yelling "Stay away from my boyfriend!" along with Conlan's "Die you foul hellspawn!" just made me want to throw the book at the wall.

To go with our two-dimensional hero and heroine we have a 2-d villain. Anubisa chews the scenery, kills her minions and is appalling. But I don't care because I don't understand why she is that way - she just is.

After the other Warriors turn up there is an improvement in the storyline, mainly because the other Warriors are far more interesting than either Conlan or Riley. How I wish the book had been about them, with Riley and Conlan as a sub-plot.

The frustrating thing is that it isn't all bad. There are flashes of humour between the characters that made me smile. And some of the interactions between the Warriors are very well written - especially Denal, Bastien and Brennan. The problem is that Conlan and Riley should be the most interesting thing in the story and they aren't. There is a good story here, but you have to work hard to find it.

Consider it if you're really stuck for a new paranormal series.

Atlantis Awakening is released November 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart pounding romance at its best, 8 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've hesitated over buying this due to the cheesy cover (i freaking hate them!) but in desperation waiting for JR Wards Lover Enshrined to be released and Kresley Coles new novels, i capitulated and bought this book.

I wont go over the plot again as other reviewers have done so admirably so i will just stick to what i thought of the story and characters.

Conlan - Alpha Male, gorgeous, huge, gorgeous, sensitive, gorgeous, oh and did i mention gorgeous? I thought I had had enough of the same old alpha heroes. Thought they had all been done before, but there is something about this guy that just seemed to make me fall in love with him just a little bit. I think its the emotional connection he has with Riley, the heroine, which i have only ever seen in Christine Feehans Dark books, but this was even better. Less mushy, more believable, and probably what every woman would want in a man if she was honest with herself.

Riley - sweetness itself, a saint, but flawed so she is not too good to be true. The sort of person i would want to be if I had a choice. Goodness runs through her core but she has balls as well.

I adored this story, I really did. I cant wait to read the rest of her stuff, although i was dissapointed to see that she is quite a new author.

I was reminded of a more romantic Black Dagger Brotherhood, when reading this. The warriors banter was funny and reminded me of it a lot. In fact the humour in the book was one of my favourite parts.

I cant recomend this enough if you enjoy fantasy as well as romance and hot sex. If you draw the line at urban vampires as in the JR Ward sense, then the world of Alyssa Day's characters my find you not able to suspend disblief enough to really enjoy it. However, if like me, the more legends and myths the better, then dive in head first and submerge yourself in the warm waters of Atlantis Rising. You wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Warriors of Poseidon" Book 1, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
After seven years of extreme torture at the hands of Anubisa, goddess of death and the mother of the vampire race, High Prince Conlan of Atlantis is released at her command co-incidentally the same day another Atlantean turns rogue, steals the Trident of Poseidon and flees to the surface world. Healed by Alaric, Poseidon's powerful high priest, Conlan is soon keen to retrieve the Trident, aware of the disastrous consequences should such a powerful weapon fall into the hands of either the vampires or shape-shifters that have finally made their presence known to humankind. Yet when Conlan surfaces from the ocean he is immediately bombarded with grief broadcast powerfully enough to breach his mental defences and incapacitate him, but rather than discover an enemy, he instead finds the first human empath in ten thousand years, a woman he quickly falls in love with. Unfortunately he risks Atlantis itself should he fail to marry the Atlantean maiden selected for him.

Over worked social worker Riley Dawson is pretty sure her day cannot get any worse after a young pregnant woman blows the brains out of her ex whilst he's beating Riley up. She's wrong! Knowing the ocean will soothe her, Riley disregards the strict curfew put in place since the vamps and shifters came out of the shadows and soon finds herself facing robbery and rape. Always able to emotionally communicate with her sister Quinn, when Riley feels a dark menace approaching her, she fears that a supernatural being intends to harm her until she realises this new threat is not aimed as her, but at her three would be attackers.

This was a great book, filled with plenty of action, passion and some cracking one liners; however I did have some issues which resulted in a lost star. For a start when Riley and Conlan find themselves under attack from master vampire Senator Barnes; aka Barrabas (yep the chap whose life was saved at the expense of Christ's) AD never fully explains why and in fact the reader is left unclear who Barrabas is actually after. For a social worker Riley sure knew a lot about Atlantis and lastly although she is a powerful empath, unlike her sister she is unable to read emotions from Brennan, a warrior cursed by Poseidon to never feel. That said, you should now disregard my nitpicking and buy this book; "Atlantis Rising" is my kind of romance, with plenty of passion and adventure featuring an incredibly feisty heroine; not only a woman willing to take on the dictates of an alpha male determined to wrap her in cotton wool, but face off vampires and several Gods, including Poseidon himself when Riley believes him to be failing in his duty to protect his people. I also liked AD's role reversal; the things you expect to go bump in the night are working their way through the echelons of politics (both figuratively and literally as those that oppose them normally find themselves painfully disposed of), whereas the good guys are confined to the shadows, unable to reveal themselves to the humans they protect. There's also plenty of interaction with some interesting secondary characters, including Conlan's brother Ven (aka The Kings Vengeance) and the potentially disastrous developing relationship between Quinn and Alaric, Poseidon's most powerful priest vowed to a life of celibacy. I now eagerly await Ven's story "Atlantis Awakening" (due for pub. Nov 07) and Bastien's story "Wild Hearts in Atlantis" in the anthology "Wild Thing" (due for pub. May 07).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 18 July 2007
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
Conlan is the high prince of Atlantis. After being tortured by Anubisa the vampire queen for seven years he has finally returned home. Only to find that Poseidon's Trident has been stolen and he must reclaim it. Riley Dawson (an empathic social worker) gets caught in between the vampires and Conlan's Atlantean Warriors. She and Conlan are drawn towards one another, but Conlan must remain loyal to Atlantis and Riley is human.

I've read the other reviews and can't help but wonder if I've read the same book. It's generally not a good sign when within the first two pages I am already mentally editing the text - and this continues throughout the book.

Riley is always speaking before she thinks, and worse sometimes acting before her brain is out of park. On p66 she's musing about how she and her sister Quinn are like twins - "ten months apart was close enough to be almost twins". Well no it's not, not unless your mother had the longest pregnancy on record. And once we meet Quinn it quickly becomes clear that Riley doesn't know her sister at all, which makes her 'twins' statement even more ridiculous.

Both she and Conlan are so two-dimensional, that you just don't care about them. Conlan has been viciously tortured for seven years by the vampire queen. But the only reason we're aware it's happened is because every so often he either tells someone, or somebody else mentions it. Because we have little emotional connection to the characters when horrific things happen to them it just doesn't horrify. Riley yelling "Stay away from my boyfriend!" along with Conlan's "Die you foul hellspawn!" just made me want to throw the book at the wall.

To go with our two-dimensional hero and heroine we have a 2-d villain. Anubisa chews the scenery, kills her minions and is appalling. But I don't care because I don't understand why she is that way - she just is.

After the other Warriors turn up there is an improvement in the storyline, mainly because the other Warriors are far more interesting than either Conlan or Riley. How I wish the book had been about them, with Riley and Conlan as a sub-plot.

The frustrating thing is that it isn't all bad. There are flashes of humour between the characters that made me smile. And some of the interactions between the Warriors are very well written - especially Denal, Bastien and Brennan. The problem is that Conlan and Riley should be the most interesting thing in the story and they aren't. There is a good story here, but you have to work hard to find it.

Consider it if you're really stuck for a new paranormal series.

Atlantis Awakening is released November 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Water Wonder, 10 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
'Eleven thousand years ago, before the seas swallowed the Atlanteans, Poseidon assigned a few chosen warriors to act as sentinels for humans in the new world. There was only one rule-desiring them was forbidden. But rules were made to be broken...
WHEN SHE CALLS...Riley Dawson is more than a dedicated Virginia Beach social worker. She's blessed with a mind link that only Atlanteans have been able to access for thousands of years. Being an empath may explain her wistful connection to the rolling waves of the ocean, the sanctuary it provides, and the sexual urges that seem to emanate from fathoms below...
HE WILL COME. Conlan, the high prince of Atlantis, has surfaced on a mission to retrieve Poseidon's stolen trident. Yet something else has posseddes Conlan: the intimate emotions-and desires-of a human. Irresistibly drawn to the uncanny beauty, Conlan soon shares more than his mind. But in the midst of a battle to reclaim Poseidon's power, how long can a forbidden love last between two different souls from two different worlds?'

An exciting new series! Conlan and Riley are both troubled, strong characters that find completion with each other in the midst of a battle. Atlanteans, Shapeshifters, Vampires and gods are now focused upon the events unfurling on Earth...and Atlantis is rising...
I love it. The romantic 'bonding' angle just adds spice to this fantastic story. I eagerly await the sequel in November 'Atlantis Awakening'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic stories, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am well and truly hooked like a junkie on these stories, I would recommend them to anyone who likes adventure romance and fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Original fantasy romance., 25 Feb 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
Conlan high priest of Atlantis has surfaced on a mission to retrieve Poseidons' tridant.Yet something else has possessed him,Riley Dawson.Empath Riley dedicated Virginia beach social worker is blessed with a mind link that only Atlanteans can access.Conlan finds himself irristibly drawn to the uncanny beauty and finds they soon share more than his mind.
I can't say i didn't enjoy this book but i found some parts of it long winded and boring.Toward the middle i skipped over many sentences at a time to get to the end faster.The Atlantean warriors are sexy,hot hunks but the stories are a bit boring.I give it three stars because it starts quite well and i found it easy to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 21 Sep 2010
By 
E. L. Joseph (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book in the warriors of poseidon series and it was brilliant. The book centres around the future king of Atlantis who has just endured seven years of torture at the hands of vampire goddess Anubisa. Conlan returns home to find that Poseidon's trident, necessary for his ascension, has been stolen and he and the rest of the Seven warriors of poseidon set out to retrieve it. That's when he meets Riley, a social worker with a gift which has not been seen in a long time. I won't go into any more detail as other reviews have gone over the plot extensively.

I loved Conlan and Riley as the main characters. Conlan is your typical alpha male hero but not as unattractively arrogant as many other male leads in this genre (like in CFs dark series). There is something very likeable about him. Riley is a pretty decent heroine too - good-hearted person but tough as well. The rest of the seven warriors and the priest were also brilliant. They were all very different, interesting and funny - hope they all get a book.
I thought the plot was really good as well - the first few pages didn't really grab me to be honest but after chapter 2 i was hooked.

I thought this book was fab and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The Warriors of Poseidon" Book 1, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seven years of extreme torture at the hands of Anubisa, goddess of death and the mother of the vampire race, High Prince Conlan of Atlantis is released at her command co-incidentally the same day another Atlantean turns rogue, steals the Trident of Poseidon and flees to the surface world. Healed by Alaric, Poseidon's powerful high priest, Conlan is soon keen to retrieve the Trident, aware of the disastrous consequences should such a powerful weapon fall into the hands of either the vampires or shape-shifters that have finally made their presence known to humankind. Yet when Conlan surfaces from the ocean he is immediately bombarded with grief broadcast powerfully enough to breach his mental defences and incapacitate him, but rather than discover an enemy, he instead finds the first human empath in ten thousand years, a woman he quickly falls in love with. Unfortunately he risks Atlantis itself should he fail to marry the Atlantean maiden selected for him.

Over worked social worker Riley Dawson is pretty sure her day cannot get any worse after a young pregnant woman blows the brains out of her ex whilst he's beating Riley up. She's wrong! Knowing the ocean will soothe her, Riley disregards the strict curfew put in place since the vamps and shifters came out of the shadows and soon finds herself facing robbery and rape. Always able to emotionally communicate with her sister Quinn, when Riley feels a dark menace approaching her, she fears that a supernatural being intends to harm her until she realises this new threat is not aimed as her, but at her three would be attackers.

This was a great book, filled with plenty of action, passion and some cracking one liners; however I did have some issues which resulted in a lost star. For a start when Riley and Conlan find themselves under attack from master vampire Senator Barnes; aka Barrabas (yep the chap whose life was saved at the expense of Christ's) AD never fully explains why and in fact the reader is left unclear who Barrabas is actually after. For a social worker Riley sure knew a lot about Atlantis and lastly although she is a powerful empath, unlike her sister she is unable to read emotions from Brennan, a warrior cursed by Poseidon to never feel. That said, you should now disregard my nitpicking and buy this book; "Atlantis Rising" is my kind of romance, with plenty of passion and adventure featuring an incredibly feisty heroine; not only a woman willing to take on the dictates of an alpha male determined to wrap her in cotton wool, but face off vampires and several Gods, including Poseidon himself when Riley believes him to be failing in his duty to protect his people. I also liked AD's role reversal; the things you expect to go bump in the night are working their way through the echelons of politics (both figuratively and literally as those that oppose them normally find themselves painfully disposed of), whereas the good guys are confined to the shadows, unable to reveal themselves to the humans they protect. There's also plenty of interaction with some interesting secondary characters, including Conlan's brother Ven (aka The Kings Vengeance) and the potentially disastrous developing relationship between Quinn and Alaric, Poseidon's most powerful priest vowed to a life of celibacy. I now eagerly await Ven's story "Atlantis Awakening" (due for pub. Nov 07) and Bastien's story "Wild Hearts in Atlantis" in the anthology "Wild Thing" (due for pub. May 07).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon)
Atlantis Rising (Warriors of Poseidon) by Alyssa Day (Mass Market Paperback - Mar 2007)
4.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews