Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, if short, 3 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a delightful book, with appealing characters. The opening chapter draws in the reader and quickly establishes the focus of the storyline.

Seven sisters with special "gifts" that they use to help others, sometimes as individuals, and sometimes together as a group. They have intriguing ways: of communicating with each other; of making things happen across gentle breezes; and especially with curtains!

An injured hero, struggling under the weight of adversity, both mental and physical, who unknowingly needs their help. Plus a tantalising and slightly whimsical prophecy involving them all.

I loved the story, even though I found it to be sadly, far too short. Which is a shame as there was plenty of scope to develop both the characters and the plot; the story presented opportunities that were never pursued. This is particularly true of the last few pages, which speedily brings everything to an almost perfunctory conclusion, almost as if the author was struggling to meet a publishing deadline. Plus, I thought that there was insufficient explanation of certain aspects, for example, the motivation of the hero's pursuers.

In spite of this, I find myself rating this book with 4 stars as I found it to be a pleasurable read. But be warned - at only just over 100 pages, it won't last you long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Drake Sisters" series book 1, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters) (Mass Market Paperback)
Damon Wilder has found sanctuary in Sea Haven, finding peace following a terrifying ordeal which left his partner dead and he physically and mentally scarred. Yet when the locals gossip that Sarah Drake is returning home, in fact he could swear the very wind is whispering her name, Damon becomes restless and agitated, determined to meet this woman who inspires such awe and respect in the townsfolk. Approaching the Drake family home; Damon immediately feels a sense of welcome and walking through the open gate his fate and that of Sarah's is sealed.

Sarah and her six younger sisters (although only 4 Drake sisters physically appear in this book as the others have yet to return from their travels abroad) come from a long line of magical women and each have a special power. Gifted with agility, grace and clairvoyance, it is prophesied that the Drake family home will open it's locked gate and welcome the eldest daughter's true love, and within a year each sister in order of age will find their own destined match. But Damon is not just the man destined for Sarah and the man she quickly falls in love with, he is a man bowed under the weight of the shadow of Death and still a target for those that kidnapped and tortured him nearly a year ago.

This book has everything I want in a paranormal romance; featuring a family prophecy, strange powers, perfect destined mates, equally carefully crafted secondary characters, blossoming love and plenty of humour, intrigue and action woven into the romance. "Magic in the Wind" first appeared in the anthology "Lover Beware" published 2003; however it has been extended by an additional chapter. That said, this is still a very short novel (not quite 150 pages) and far too brief for me because I wanted more, more, more (hence the lost star). I loved this author's "Dark" series until I became annoyed by the same story line overly repeated and never took a liking to her "Ghost Walker" series; yet CF has managed to firmly engage my interest again with her "Drake Sisters" books, an intended 7 book series with each sister taking a lead role. I will certainly be reading the next 5 full length novels currently available in this series (in reading order "The Twilight Before Christmas", "Oceans of Fire", "Dangerous Tides", "Safe Harbor" and "Turbulent Sea") whilst the final book "Hidden Currents" is due for publication July 09.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tale about one of the Drake Sisters, 24 Sep 2005
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sarah's coming home." Ever since Damon Wilder sought refuge in Sea Haven, he's heard the same breathless rumor pass the lips of nearly every local in the sleepy coastal town. Even the wind seems to whisper her name - a reverie so powerfully suggestive that it carries the curious Damon to Sarah's clifftop home, and seeks to shelter him there.
But Damon has not arrived alone. Two men have tracked him to Sea Haven, and into the shadows of Drake House, where Sarah hides her own secrets. And danger- as well as a desire more urgent than either has ever known- is just a whisper away...
Go Read Chapter One
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic in the wind, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christine feehan is a very good author I recommend all her books . The drake sister novels especially . They are fantastic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christine Feehan, 30 Mar 2013
By 
jessie ruxandra worland (north hykeham, lincoln, lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always, Christine writes a gripping yarn. I want to get to the end and yet I don't. I find the stories of the Drake sisters fascinating. Sorry I have almost read all of them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this and will be looking forward to reading more about the Drake Sisters and their legacy. Such a departure from her Dark series, which I really love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Christina Hawkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic in the Wind (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this book for about the 5th time, and it is as great a read now as it was the first time. It is an easy, pleasant read with great characterization making me feel as if I really know the characters. And I am now going to start book 2 - again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recommended to me and I am glad I read it. I will be looking for the rest in the series. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bewitching, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely gentle read nothing surprising but a good book to pass away a lazy afternoon :-)
I give it 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic in the wind, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book. Magically written and coincidentally written about magic. Felt a little short, but that may have just been because I read it so quickly, because I got hooked. A normal day to day life and family mixed with a hint of super natural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters)
Magic in the Wind (Drake Sisters) by Christine Feehan (Mass Market Paperback - 27 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews