Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Higgins Magic
Another Jack Higgins offering.... :) I really can't get enough of him. I have never read another author where the pages just seem to disappear before your eyes. Often I sit down, start reading, and before I know it 3 or 4 hours have passed. Magic.

For anyone familiar with Higgins work, this book is the second installment in the Nick Miller series (the first...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Bridgey

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack Higgins - Brought in Dead.
One of his earlier works (1967)- first time in Paperback. Some people may not like it if they are used to the more recent activities of Sean Dillon and Co. but nevertheless a good story-line and well worth reading. I have enjoyed it.
Published on 16 July 2009 by Gerry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Higgins Magic, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Nick Miller) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another Jack Higgins offering.... :) I really can't get enough of him. I have never read another author where the pages just seem to disappear before your eyes. Often I sit down, start reading, and before I know it 3 or 4 hours have passed. Magic.

For anyone familiar with Higgins work, this book is the second installment in the Nick Miller series (the first being [the graveyard shift]).

Nick Miller is CID copper, but unlike his colleagues he has an independent income (much to their jealousy) and therefore only does the job as he feels that he needs to make a change to society. The book is written with a gritty realism of what life in the 60's must have been like, with many local businesses ruled under the threat of drug lords and crime barons. The book finds Nick Miller fishing a body out of a canal and not being able to detach himself from the case. Along the way to ensuring justice is triumphant (Nick Miller style) we come across beatings, Judo, shotguns, knives and drug addicts.... just what you need to cheer up a cold winter night :)

There is a nice military aspect to the book, as expected from the author, and you really get the feeling that Higgins enjoys what he writes, equally as much as we enjoy reading it.

The main thing that I find fascinating with these early novels is that many of the character traits are brought together to form Sean Dillon, Higgins' hero of his past 17 novels. Millers piano skills and martial arts are repeated along with many others created over the past 50 years.

4 stars out of 5, not quite 100% but nearly there..... and easily recommendable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack Higgins - Brought in Dead., 16 July 2009
By 
Gerry (Cardiff, WALES.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Nick Miller) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of his earlier works (1967)- first time in Paperback. Some people may not like it if they are used to the more recent activities of Sean Dillon and Co. but nevertheless a good story-line and well worth reading. I have enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Higgins....Master class, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
Usually read the Dillon series, but Millers stories are just as good and gripping. Again another classic from the master Higgins. Just read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ian, 1 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Nick Miller) (Mass Market Paperback)
This isn't one of Jack's best but is OK - worth reading if your a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
I like Jack Higgins but I must say there is always something a little more readable in his older works set in the 60s.

This is a good, easy to read Higgins novel. Higgins creates a good atmosphere throughout and in my opinion his Nick Miller, Simon Vaughan and Paul Chavesse books are superior to the later (though still very good) Sean Dillon books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Higgins not quite at his best., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
Ireally enjoyed this typical Jack Higgins novel,the action was fast,but sadly at times predictable.The plot was a little one dimensional,with too few characters to really stretch the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars police thriller, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Nick Miller) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book that gives a look at the police force up north and detective sergeant Nick Miller and his special skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought in Dead, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
Excellent, as expected - as a Jack Higgins fan I anticipate that the story will meet all expections, as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read as normal Jack Higgins novels, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Jc Hirst "The Obsession" (Yorkshire - England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brought in Dead (Kindle Edition)
I think this author keeps you interested in what you are reading. Sometimes I have difficulty in bringing myself to put the book down. Would recommend to people interested in this type of novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brought in Dead (Nick Miller)
Brought in Dead (Nick Miller) by Jack Higgins (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Jan 2005)
4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews