Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Really unusual mystery not what I expected did enjoy enormously. Very believable with some true facts, sometimes a bit too much description of rooms and attire.
Published 13 months ago by Beryl Callaghan

versus
49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disaster
Most American authors when setting a story in England, peopled with English characters have the courtesy to get the details right. Within the first few pages I encountered several sidewalks, the police detective wore a snapbrim which later turned into a snapbrim fedora (neither of which are appropriate) and the victim's purse (handbag) was missing. The American...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There was a good storyline and it was easy relaxing reading. Only spoilt from time to time by the American language that was used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Foyle is better, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, I know Foyle is set in Hastings, but the premise is similar. Good enough to read as an undemanding bedtime or not feeling well sort of tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars London Blitz Murders, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book - almost like a biography but with enough twists and turns to keep me guessing almost to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 3 April 2013
By 
Gazza (Yorkshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as an Agatha Christie fan it was good to read a book in which she appeared as a character. Fascinating insight into the blitz too. It was a bit spooky when the flats she lived in (& that appeared in the book) were featured on the One show only a week after I finished this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the blitz, 3 April 2013
By 
J. Nicholas (E.Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book had you hooked from the begining. the ending was not a disappointment
either,would recommend this book well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book but until reading the authors notes at the end did not realise about the true facts of the story. It was a great read. Can't wait to read some more books in the disaster series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie ruleZ..., 10 July 2004
By 
Dejan Ristanovię (Serbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The London Blitz Murders (Mass Market Paperback)
The book is based on real murders done by a new Jack the Ripper during WWII, in London. Agatha Christie appears in a book, helping police inspector and pathologist solve the crimes. The author did thorough research and mentioned a lot of Agatha's novels (no spoilers included!). There are also many details about her life.
The book is an interesting read for Agatha Christie fans, and it plots a nice picture of London in the days of the war, but if you expect a whodunit novel, you will be disappointed. I recognized the killer the moment he was introduced, the police suspected him from the beginning and, finally, he was the guilty one. No twist in the plot, and even the murderer's motive is not revealed (mass murderers don't have a motive?)
If you compare The London Blitz Murders with A.B.C. Murders (Agatha's novel about the mass murderer), you can see why Ms. Christie was one and only...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By no means exciting!, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title suggests intrigue but the content is not there. My speed reading was at super speed. Couldn't wait to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit disappointed as I thought the storyline would go more in depth, but too much about agatha christie and what she was about. Maybe I should have looked into it more, before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too drawn out, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The possible links to Agatha Christie were overdone and the ending spoilt what could have been a good story of war time London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London Blitz Murders
The London Blitz Murders by Max Allan Collins (Mass Market Paperback - May 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews