Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The unique reign of Queen Betsy continues
It's been 3 months since Betsy killed vampire nasty Nostro and reluctantly assumed her role as Queen of the Vampires (see Undead and Unwed)... in short it's time to get a job and earn some shoe money. By chance she lands her dream job selling designer shoes in Macys; despite the fact her new boss Mr Mason feels her sales technique a little unorthodox. Betsy views each...
Published on 7 Feb 2005 by Book Addict

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funnier
I have to say that I found ‘UNDEAD AND UNEMPLOYED’ to be much more entertaining than it’s predecessor ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’. While I enjoyed ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’ I found the main character Betsy to be excessively irritating and the story, although funny at parts, to be a bit predictable. However, in Mary Janice Davidson’s...
Published on 4 Mar 2006 by DevJohn01


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The unique reign of Queen Betsy continues, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's been 3 months since Betsy killed vampire nasty Nostro and reluctantly assumed her role as Queen of the Vampires (see Undead and Unwed)... in short it's time to get a job and earn some shoe money. By chance she lands her dream job selling designer shoes in Macys; despite the fact her new boss Mr Mason feels her sales technique a little unorthodox. Betsy views each pair of shoes as her own exquisitely stitched creation and is loathe to see any leave her protective sphere. Beware all shoppers in scuffed trainers!!!
As termites invade her home, Betsy finds herself moved into a huge mansion; a residence her non vamp friends Jessica and Marc feel suitably reflects her new royal status. Queen Betsy now has plenty of room to entertain large numbers of the undead, including the luscious Sinclair and his feisty sidekick Tina. Oh and let's not forget the resident ghost, a 5 year old cutie named Marie that initially only Betsy can see (another Queenly power foretold in The Book of the Dead - a power she can and does bestow on her friends to prove she isn't going mad). Betsy really needs to read this book!!
When helpless (??) vampires start getting staked in the streets, Betsy is informed that as their Queen it is her duty to investigate and put a stop to these murders. When she obliviously wanders into an ambush set up by a group of human vampire-hunters named The Blade Warriors, she doesn't have the common sense to be afraid. Instead she openly mocks their name before complaining when they shoot her - in fact Betsy spends much of her time in this book being shot at, doused in holy water or staked. Her week gets progressively worse when she realises that the individual killing her subjects must be another vampire. Now if she can just catch the traitor, stop the undead dying again, avoid Sinclair, solve Marie's mystery, read The Book of the Dead (without going mad hopefully) and avoid Detective Berry (after he learns that an attractive blonde woman righted an overturned cab using only 2 fingers), all whilst keeping her job at Macys (and therefore retaining her 60% staff discount) then her week will definitely improve.
Fans of Undead and Unwed will certainly enjoy MJD's humorous and lighthearted sequel. Betsy is marvellously oblivious to things she does not want to acknowledge or deal with (including her feelings for Sinclair) and her relationship with her human friends is hilarious. Jessica and Marc love having a Vampire Queen as a best friend - after all it's a great way to meet interesting and drop dead gorgeous people. I eagerly look forward to the next instalment in this excellent series - Undead and Unappreciated is due for publication in July 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm biting my nails for the next one!, 14 Jan 2005
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
I can't believe how addicted to the Berkley Sensation 'Undead and...' novels I have become. I literally put down the first novel then ran into my nearest bookshop demanding for the next copy. They're fantastic to read and Betsy Taylor is such an ass kicking girlie with such great comic attitude meets Buffy's 'taking myself oh so seriously - not'. I simply love it and I really want to read more. I am sucked in I didn't think I would be but I truly am. I generally saw myself as an avid Anne Rice and Tanith Lee gone vampire goth but oh no this novel is a breath of fresh air from the standard scary dark bone chilling but slightly weirdly romantic vampire novel. It's a laugh, a romantic and action packed laugh with teeth. Put me out of my misery and give me another story, please. Pretty please with icing and chewing gum flavoured lippy on top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Davidson, 3 Aug 2004
By 
Elaine Mccourt (Southampton, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Superficial and supernatural, Betsy Taylor returns again in Davidson's second book in the 'Undead' series. Still laugh-out-loud funny, my only criticism of this one is that is seemed rather rushed at the end, leaving several loose ends that were tied up in only a few sentences. Nonetheless, I still raced through this book cover to cover, loving Betsy's ditzy and self-obsessed attempt to adjust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clueless has risen., 23 Nov 2004
By 
P. J. A. Jennings "pja_jennings" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
Buffey she ain't. Alicia Silverstone should play Betsy Taylor in the film version of this hilarious chick lit novel. It's the same airhead, shoe obsessed queen of the vampires we met in the first novel trying to hold down her dream job in the shoe department at Macys. Needless to say vampire politics of the same nasty kind as last time interfere, but our heroine wins through in the end, displaying unexpected strength and compassion. A light weight book, but very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funnier, 4 Mar 2006
By 
DevJohn01 (Somerset, NJ) - See all my reviews
I have to say that I found ‘UNDEAD AND UNEMPLOYED’ to be much more entertaining than it’s predecessor ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’. While I enjoyed ‘UNDEAD AND UNWED’ I found the main character Betsy to be excessively irritating and the story, although funny at parts, to be a bit predictable. However, in Mary Janice Davidson’s second novel in this series, Betsy is still somewhat irritating but not excessively so and the story was much better thought out adding a bit more mystery to the story. Also new and interesting secondary characters were thrown in with the very charming vamps Sinclair and Tina (my favorite characters in both books) making for an even more interesting read.
While this series may not gotten to a roaring start for me it seems to be getting better with every novel and has the potential to be very good if Betsy tones down the sarcasm a little and Davidson turns up the romance between Betsy and Sinclair. This is an amusing and very likable series and I look forward to reading the next installment and in keeping with the theory of each one being better than the last, I am hoping ‘UNDEAD AND UNAPPRECIATED’ will garner a 4 star rating but for now this one gets 3 ½ stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Equally entertaining sequel to "Undead and Unwed", 3 Oct 2007
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This entertaining vampire romance is the second of a series which incongruously combines chick lit romantic comedy and vampire thriller. Think "Sex in the City" meets "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," from the viewpoint of a new vampire.

The book begins with a police record of an interview with a taxi-driver, who describes how he witnessed a supernatural attack, and how a mysterious, tall, very pale, and very beautiful girl had driven off a vampire. Those who have not read the first book will have no idea what is going on, but those who previously read "Undead and Unwed" will recognise Betsy Taylor from the description.

It continues the "Queen Betsy" comic vampire series, in which the initial group of stories consists of the following six books:

1) "Undead and Unwed"
2) this book, "Undead and Unemployed"
3) "Undead and Unappreciated"
4) "Undead and Unreturnable (Undead Series)"
5) "Undead and Unpopular (Undead 5)"
6) "Undead and Uneasy."

There is also a "Queen Betsy" novella, set at about the same time as book six, in Davidson's collection "Dead Over Heels," one of the three paranormal romance stories in that volume, and another in the similar collection "Undead and Underwater."

There is also a follow-up series, which MJD describes as "a new story arc" featuring the same central characters, begining two months after the events of both "Undead and Uneasy" and "Dead over Heels".

The follow-up "Queen Betsy" series consists as at December 2013 of

7) "Undead and Unworthy (Undead 7)"
8) "Undead and Unwelcome (Undead 8)
9) "Undead and Unfinished (Undead Series)".
10) "Undead and Undermined"
11) "Undead and Unstable"
12) "Undead and Unsure"

"Undead and Unemployed" is mostly told in the first person by Elizabeth Taylor, who prefers to be called Betsy for obvious reasons and is a most unusual vampire. Unlike other vampires, Betsy can say the name of God, and touch the bible or holy water without being burned or hurt.

At the end of the previous book, Betsy was proclaimed as Queen of the Vampires, but she doesn't want the position. Instead she goes looking for her dream job: as death has not changed her fascination with expensive shoes, Betsy tries to wangle herself a job working on the night shift selling designer shoes at top store Macy's.

But although Betsy would prefer to turn her back on her title as Queen of the Vampires, the other undead are not ready to turn their backs on her. A gang is murdering vampires, and the others want Betsy to do something about it. This kicks off a chain of events which soon becomes hysterical - that is, hysterically funny ...

Mary Davidson has great fun with the incongruity of mixing up the vampire genre with chick-lit romantic comedy. An interesting comparison with other authors who have written entertaining comedies by combining incongruous genres would be with Marianne Mancusi and Robert Frezza.

In the same way that this series gets plenty of laughs by combining chick lit with Vampires, Frezza write two very funny books which combined Vampires and Science Fiction ("McLendon's Syndrome" and "The VMR Theory") and Mancusi combined chick lit with time travel in "A Connecticut Fashionista at King Arthur's Court" and "A Hoboken Hipster in Sherwood Forest." Anyone who likes the "Queen Betsy" series is likely to enjoy all four of those, and vice versa, if you have read and enjoyed one of those books you may well enjoy this one.

OK, this is never going to win the Booker Prize or any other great award for classic literature but if you have the right sort of sense of humour, it is pretty good fun. I can recommend both "Undead and Unwed" and "Undead and Unemployed," and enjoyed reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETSY IS STILL IN FINE FORM!, 22 Aug 2004
By 
Ap Nj Dorrall "nicky0512" (plymouth,devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
BETSY TAYLOR IS STILL "UNDEAD" AND STILL UNEMPLOYED.
SHE DECIDES TO GET ANOTHER JOB - AT THE "RE-EMPLOYMENT" CENTRE.
WHILE SHE WORRIES ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO AFFORD TO GET HER BELOVED SHOES, VAMPIRES ARE BEING KILLED AND HER "SUBJECTS", INFORM HER THAT AS SHE IS THE QUEEN OF THE UNDEAD - WHICH SHE STILL CAN'T GET HER HEAD AROUND - IT IS UP TO HER TO FIND OUT WHO IS KILLING VAMPIRES AND WHY? - THAT UNFORTUNATELY MEANS,SHE HAS TO HAVE THE HELP OF THE DELICIOUS AND VERY SEXY VAMP - SINCLAIR(yum,yum) .
THERE IS A LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL!!! - BETSY LANDS A DREAM JOB WORKING IN THE SHOE DEPARTMENT AT NONE OTHER THAN MACY'S.
THIS IS ANOTHER FABULOUS BOOK FROM 'MJD'. THERES PLENTY HERE TO GET YOUR TEETH INTO (sorry!!). TERMITES,A NEW HOUSE,A GHOST,A DERANGED AND JEALOUS VAMPIRE AND THE DREADED STEPMOTHER - WHO IS PREGNANT.
THIS IS JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST, IT'S FULL OF LAUGHS AND VERY ENTERTAINING.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovable characters and very witty!, 16 Feb 2007
I totally love the undead series. This is my second book and so far I absolutely love them! Betsy is an extremely witty character and the sexual tension between her and Eric Sinclair is fantastic! I really enjoy reading MJD books and am becoming a very enthusiastic fan.

One thing though, some of the phrases to describe situations and characters in the books are a tad bit repetitive. That's the only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars. Also in the previous book I found a few typos HOWEVER, this hasn't put me off the book because the characters are so lovable and you really get to build a relationship with them and get engrossed in the story. I absolutely enjoy reading MJD's books! FANTASTIC!

A MUST-READ for those looking for a giggle and sauciness at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undead and Unemployed, 9 Feb 2005
By 
H. S. Abrams (Liverpool United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to say that I am also now addicted to Mary Janice Davidson's Undead series... are more books planned? because I want them.I got both books delivered at the same time and read them both one after the other so fast, and I now crave more! I do recommend that when buying you get both and enjoy. I love the tongue in cheek style and the fact it makes me laugh out loud, then throw in a bit of romance with a yummy guy and together with the shoes you've got everything. Betsy Taylor just has to be the kind of Vampire you would really want to be! Daylight - no problem, death - no problem, Friends - no problem, drinking blood - not necessary! You know the only downer would be the inability to stay awake once it gets light... but then there is the healing thing! Come on how cool would that be I especially like the way she healed Sinclair! I wouldn't say no could you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab fab, 13 Mar 2014
By 
jess (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books! Time and again I can read them over and over. Like eating cake! Can't wait for the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation)
Undead and Unemployed (Berkley Sensation) by MaryJanice Davidson (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews