Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read
Kay is called to a murder of a reporter, Ted Eddings on New Year's Eve. The body is found underwater, which gives the reader Kay's first underwater crime scene. This cases pulls together Lucy, Pete and Benton as further murders follow. The story weaves in the usual dectective work with the high tec world of Lucy. As with all Scarpetta novels, the lives of the characters...
Published on 3 May 2004 by Torialouise

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
'Cause of Death' is the seventh book in the Kay Scarpetta series from Patricia Cornwell and begins when a reporter is found dead in the icy waters of the Elizabeth River in Virginia. This then leads Scarpetta, Marino, Wesley and Lucy into the world of terrorism when the death is found to be related to an investigation into the terrorist group The New Zionists...
Published on 19 Nov. 2007 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Cause of Death' is the seventh book in the Kay Scarpetta series from Patricia Cornwell and begins when a reporter is found dead in the icy waters of the Elizabeth River in Virginia. This then leads Scarpetta, Marino, Wesley and Lucy into the world of terrorism when the death is found to be related to an investigation into the terrorist group The New Zionists.

I've been reading through the Scarpetta novels in order for about a year now and this was the first one that didn't really grip me at all and in places I was even a little bored. The Kay/Benton relationship is also getting a little tiresome as well as Kay's over-protective relationship and over-exageratted problems with her neice Lucy.

The actual murder investigation is ok, if a little unbeliveable. I did find it interesting how forensics were becoming more advanced at the time that the book was written, as some of the procedures and equipment used are things that are fairly basic in this day and age and really made me think how things have rapidly progressed over the past 10 years.

Overall it is a fairly entertaining read for the most part that unfortunately does get a little boring at points, but is one that regulars to the series should read to keep up to date with the flow of the series. If you're new to the Cornwell books, I'd definitely start at the beginning (Postmortem) as the first six books are much better thank this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 7 Oct. 2007
By 
The first half of the book was quite good - Scarpetta was doing her job etc etc (although the reference to Lucy listening to Melissa Etheridge was a bit hamfisted). However, the second half of the book was ridiculous! Dr Scarpetta goes from being the literary equivalent of Quincy to become some kind of undercover CIA operative! I mean, I don't expect my fiction to be believable, but I don't expect it to be this unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Going downhill?, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 7th in Cornwell's Kay Scarpetta series and is the 7th I have read this year (I've been reading 1 a month since May.) and I have to admit this is the first in the series where i've started to grow a bit bored of it all. There's a good enough synopsis on Amazon so I won't go into too much detail of the plot but suffice to say it kicks off with Kay being called out to a scene of a grisly crime. Again, suffice to say the story escelates and Scarpetta seems to be promoted to the level of a FBI agent rather than the mundane forensic scientist that she really is. Add to that the fact she's a lawyer, a mother figure to her seemingly constantly off-the-rails niece Lucy, a teacher at a University, having a risque affair with the head of the FBI and health consultant to chief honcho of Virginia; Pete Marino.
It seems highly unlikely that with all this going on Kay has the time to solve every quirky case thatshe comes across, delving in headfirst and devoting all her time to the case while heading off around the globe. It's all starting to be a bit much for me. Ok, Ok we get it, Kay is one tough cookie, and great at her job but it's highly unrealistic that this absurd character would be able to perform all the dutied to such a high standard, fiction or not.
I will continue with the series in hopes that the next book is a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read, 3 May 2004
Kay is called to a murder of a reporter, Ted Eddings on New Year's Eve. The body is found underwater, which gives the reader Kay's first underwater crime scene. This cases pulls together Lucy, Pete and Benton as further murders follow. The story weaves in the usual dectective work with the high tec world of Lucy. As with all Scarpetta novels, the lives of the characters have significantly moved on since the last novel, you are only given snipbits of information at a time to try and piece together what has happened in the intervening time period. Another great novel. The relationship between the key characters just gets better and better and there is a part of me that is routing for Marino and Kay to get it toegther - who knows....??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
A. H. Mccormack (St Helens, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all Patricia Cornwells books in the Scarpetta series but this one irritated the hell out of me. Her constant putting of adjectives before the verbs really grated on my nerves. Eg but not literally, "she moodily looked", "he manfully said". Plus if I was related to the incredibly rude and impertinent Lucy she'd have felt the back of my hand long since. And why anyone would carry on with the smug, self satisfied Benton is beyond me.

That said,in will read the next one in the hope that Patricia finds her way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stretching credibility, 15 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cause Of Death (Audio Cassette)
This was the 4th or 5th Scarpetta novel I'd read. In a number of others it was difficult to believe how she managed to be so closely involved in so many parts of the cases. This one takes that beyond the limit of credibility.
I don't think it gives away the plot, but several areas are totally unbelievable: how does her ex-assistant get a job in London without any references? How on earth did the terrorists expect to get their contraband to the destination once they had recovered it from the site? Was Kay Scarpetta really the only person who could make the trip to London (in the middle of a national emergency), or gone into the middle of the siege? Is it likely that the same small group of characters from different agencies would be involved in so many cases together?
From their reputation, I was expecting far more realistic stories from this series, I am dissapointed. Ms Cornwell should stick to what she does well (the procedural stuff and some of the characterisation) and not stray into Tom Clancy territory (especially when it is done as badly as here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patricia Cornwell fan, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Flat on my back after an injury, I've been re-reading Patricia Cornwell's earlier novels and catching up with her later ones. I've seen some criticism of her later novels as being less good than the earlier ones, but I feel they have segued from being standard examples of the whodunit genre, into more paranoid, almost sci-fi whodunits, still woven around the same set of characters to provide continuity of the series. The writing is just as gripping as in her earlier work, but is somehow more spare, conveying the plots with an economy of scene-setting that has developed with each successive novel. The plots have become ever more focussed on her and her group of family and friends as targets for bizarre crime. I have to say, I still thoroughly enjoy them and find them absolutely un-put-down-able. Cause of Death is just before midway in the series, when she and Benton Wesley are just getting together, and is one of the earlier type. The denouement was a little contrived, I felt, and would have benefited from being drawn out by a couple of chapters, but still enjoyable reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Kay Scarpetta mystery is solved albeit slowly, 7 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Cause Of Death (Paperback)
I was rather disappointed with this slow moving story. The plot is barely credible and ends rather abruptly leaving the reader with many unanswered questions. As a fan of the early books, I find this one to be a poor rehash of the same old formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read for a rainy day, 24 Feb. 2013
`Cause of Death' is a typical Patricia Cornwell story in the Kay Scarpetta series. There are no real surprises. The story begins with the death of reporter, which turns out to be connected to a terrorist group. So far so good. However, this novel is a bit slow and just average entertainment. However, the constant reminder of the strained relationship between Kay and her niece Lucy gets a bit boring and turns attention away from the actual crime. The novel doesn't really keep up with the development of our times now, but it's an ok read for a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not the best Patricia Cornwell book I read. I might take a break reading her books they are getting boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta)
Cause of Death (Kay Scarpetta) by Patricia Cornwell (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Oct. 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews