Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
I always enjoy reading Jack Higgins Books. They keep you wanting more. Always action packed and this one is no different. A great read.
Published 4 months ago by S. Henderson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Dillon time filler
If you've read Jack Higgins before (in particular anything involving Sean Dillon) this book will turn up no surprises... if follows the adventures of Dillon (ex IRA, then mercenary, now working for Brigadier Charles Ferguson in the depths of the British government).

This time Dillon's past catches up with him... 10 years earlier he infiltrates a Loyalist...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by Darren Simons


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Dillon time filler, 4 Jun 2006
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drink with the Devil (Paperback)
If you've read Jack Higgins before (in particular anything involving Sean Dillon) this book will turn up no surprises... if follows the adventures of Dillon (ex IRA, then mercenary, now working for Brigadier Charles Ferguson in the depths of the British government).

This time Dillon's past catches up with him... 10 years earlier he infiltrates a Loyalist planned bullion heist but it does not go to plan, and the bullion sinks to the depths of the Irish Sea. Now however, word reaches Dillon that there is a plan to salvage the bullion, and Dillon needs to save the day (having firstly shocked everyone by confirming he was the mystery accomplice on the original heist).

Great literature it is not, but to be honest as Dillon books go, this one isn't bad... Liam Devlin (Dillon's mentor who sometimes makes an appearance) does indeed make an appearance here and the Salters (Harry and Billy) are introduced for the first time. If you have read Jack Higgins' Dillon books before and enjoyed them, then I'd recommend this one; if you've not read Dillon books try out Thunder Point or the one before it (as that introduces you to the main characters). Ah, and if you're not a fan of Dillon, then you'll already have probably decided not to bother.

Expect lots of Bushmills, some pub grub, scuba diving and Dillon taking on ten armed men and winning... all in a day's work really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars C- for effort...., 21 Dec 2004
By 
Jon Mack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drink with the Devil (Paperback)
The book looks promising, but from the word go, it's plain that Higgins has put very little time into it. The faux-attempted rape at the beginning bears a resounding similarity to the faux-attempted assault near the beginning of Higgins' novella 'The Keys of Hell' - out of print at the time 'Drink with the Devil' was published (since republished by HarperCollins).
Indeed, even the characters seem familiar to anyone who has read Higgins' 'The Eagle has Flown'. Liam Devlin ('The Eagle has Landed'/'The Eagle has Flown') even makes a curious appearance, as an elderly former IRA sharp shooter. And in Kate Ryan, we have another Kate who goes slowly mad (see: 'Midnight Runner'/'The Edge of Danger', etc.).

So what's the net effect? Well, expect plenty of Bushmills whiskey; clichéd Irish phrases; and a rather unconvincing plot, which is so silly you wouldn't even be able to guess the end (until the last fifty pages). Penguin should have been more vigorous in their editing - they couldn't even be bothered to correct the odd spelling mistake here and there. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 April 2014
By 
David Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read and well written recommend this series of books as they are easy reading for most tastes good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Kindle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 17 Dec 2013
By 
S. Henderson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy reading Jack Higgins Books. They keep you wanting more. Always action packed and this one is no different. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not finished yet, but good story and strong characters as always. Hope the ending is as good as the rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 5, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still enthralled with Jack Higgins work after so many years. Good book. Looking forward to reading rest of his works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dillon, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read from Jack Higgins.The character of Sean Dillon is really brought to life again.Can't wait to read some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Sean Dillons escapades, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another cracking read from Jack Higgins. Am really enjoying the Sean Dillon series. So glad I was introduced to this series by my brother. Best get started on the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Drink with the Devil (Hardcover)
This is one of four books which I have bought for my son as he has only recently found Jack Higgins. books to be so enjoyable. They are part of his Christmas present. I have read most of Jack Higgins and found them all extremely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

Drink with the Devil
Drink with the Devil by Jack Higgins (Mass Market Paperback - Jun 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews