Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market PaperbackChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2006
Top qulaity golden age Sc-Fi, EE 'Doc' SMith is just the best there is. Any science fiction fan should have read these and the Lenseman series, to appreciate the genre properly. Treat yourself to this as a present for a bit of brain-off entertainment!
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
I first read the Skylark series when I was about 8 years old, borrowing the books from my dad. They were already well read by the time I got them and I read them to disintegration! On a whim, I purchased the series again and I've just passed the books on to my 8 year old daughter who loves them.

The books are a little stilted in places and quite parochial to 50's America but they're well paced, well written and above all else very entertaining.

Well worth a read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
E E "Doc" Smith is the master of space opera and considering he wrote his books in the 30's, I think it was, they do not age at all and are truly cosmic in scope. This series is Galactic in scope and the four books make a good series to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Brillint SF writer ; this skylark series although written a long time ago is fantastic, I read them 40years ago and have just finished them again and still couldn't put them down the second time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Read it first as a teenager, still a page turner. Classic Sci-xi with dashing heroes, cunning villains, and of course little green men. ,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
A good start to reading scifi. An easy but gripping read the concepts are a little out dated but generally an good book. try the others in the series.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Excellent book great series
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
ANY SCIFI READER WOULD LOVE THE EE DOC SMITH SERIES OF BOOKS. I HAVE ALWAYS JUDGED A BOOK ON ITS ABILITY TO HOLD ME IN THE DEPTH OF THE STORY RIGHT FROM PAGE ONE. DOC SMITH HAS CERTAINLY DONE THIS WITH ALL OF HIS BOOKS. THE STORY LINES ARE ENTHRALLING GLIMPSES INTO AN ADVENTURERS LIFE OF DAREDEVIL ACTION COUPLED WITH FLUKEY GOODLUCK, AND WHEN THE STAR CHARACTERS ARE THE EMBODIMENT OF PHYSICAL PERFECTION THAT WE WOULD ALL LOVE TO BE THEN YOU CAN'T HELP BUT GET DRAWN INTO THE PLOT OF THE VARIOUS STORIES. EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A TOTAL SCIFI ADDICT THERE IS SUFFICIENT SENTIMENTALITY AND DOWN RIGHT MILLS AND BOON RELATIONSHIPS THAT YOU CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER TO BEGIN TO SEE IF THE COUPLES STAY TOGETHER ETC, ETC. THE SKYLARK SERIES IS PROBABLY THE BEST TO BEGIN WITH FOLLOWED BY THE LENSMAN SERIES THOUGH I WAS INTO VOLUME THREE BEFORE I WAS DYING TO GET THE NEXT VOLUME, STILL VERY ENJOYABLE.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
Great story about an eminent scientist and a megarich recluse, plus wives, who build a super spaceship and travel around space righting wrongs and improving their skills and knowledge.
The story is told in chunks as there is another scientist, who is the evil counterpart of the other scientist, chasing them and trying to kill them.
Some interesting theories are expounded in this novel and a fair portion of valid facts.
See also, The Skylark of Space, for further info on this story.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
great SCI FI
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.