Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2015
It is the 5th book in the series but can happily be read with out having read the preceding 4. It is old Sci-Fi started in an almost pre atomic age and concluded I think before manned space flight so the vision of the future is perhaps in some respects supplanted by what we now know not even 100 years later. The view that smoking is totally harmless whilst pretty much all other substance abuse isn't but only wrecks the body for one example.
Still a good read and not many transcription errors as some of the earlier books in the series and it is all there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
A Saga to the stars is my heading for this masterpiece I purchased this and a couple of other titles within the saga as I have read the others to death. This saga is now counted as one of the classic's of the Sci-Fi world and simply it is. This tale stand on its own as a book but works far better if you get the whole saga they are getting harder to find now so this time I will take better care of them. If you do buy into this saga expect a few late nights as you read just one more chapter they are addictive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the fifth book of the Lensmen series. The social attitudes are old fashioned, the science is outdated, and the language is florid, but it is still a great read.
This is the third book to describe the exploits of Kimball Kinnison. These books are the core of the Lensman saga. Starting with Galactic Patrol the excitment is non-stop through to the end of Second Stage Lensman.
If you like action on a grand scale, this is a must read, but start with Triplanetary, First Lensman, or Galactic Patrol first.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
As with the other books in the Lensmen series, this is a classic space adventure. The reason I have marked it down is because whoever has scanned in this text to make the book available, has not taken the time to proof read the book. Therefore there are a lot of annoying bits of text that don't follow the story. i.e. "die" should read "the", so the story reads "die lensman" should read "the lensman".
If you are not going to correct it, don't charge for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
the book delivered very quickly, book was in virtually new condition, brilliant, really this is the grandest of space operas, if a director could do it justice in say an epic 3 film series it would make Star wars look like the ravings of a backward nerd who smoked too much baccy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
I (and many others) believe the best place to start with Doc Smith's "Lensman" series is Galactic Patrol; and as I've said why, at length, in my review of that opus, I won't repeat it here.

Furthermore, if you've already read "Patrol" and Gray Lensman with enjoyment, you'll hardly need my urging to continue.

This is nonetheless probably the weakest of the four main Lensman novels, mainly because of Smith's often-noted discomfort with female characters. It is a curious reflection on his powers as a writer that he can make a thoroughly convincing — even likeable! — character of a thirty-foot, crocodile-headed, winged python with eyes that come out on stalks, but can't manage the matriarch of a tribe of human Amazons (from the planet Lyrane II).

We cannot, to be sure, be surprised that Kinnison's skills at handling females are so deficient: after all, he's spent his formative years galumphing around the Galaxy in search of the arch-villain Helmuth, not hanging out like a normal teenager. Military genius he may be, but socially he's still an adolescent.

(Although... perhaps he's not *quite* as inexperienced as all that? Exactly what *were* his experiences as a Cadet with that "bedroom-eyed Aldebaranian hell-cat", the stunningly beautiful Dessa Desplaines? Whatever they were, they obviously left quite an impression: Kinnison — normally unflappable even by outré developments like hyperspatial tubes materialising in the same room with him — is reduced to a jelly at the mere thought of meeting her again.)

Still, be all that as it may, "Second Stage" has many compensating pleasures, not least the exploits of Nadreck, the cowardly four-dimensional Palainian lensman.

And it leads into one of the strongest finishes of any science fiction series, as Kim and Clarissa's offspring carry the struggle to its climax in Children of the Lens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
The storyline is great EE Doc Smith Fiction but like each of the lensman books in this series for kindle e-reader spoilt by the Huge number of typos and spelling mistakes, Why couldn't they have proof read it before selling it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
The lensman books were a staple of my childhood reading and I was very pleased to find kindle versions of them. Less pleased by the poor typing, spelling mistakes, incorrect words and missing pages.

Nice try but get a proof reader to check them, urgently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Read this series 50years ago now returned to 're read them and still get the same buzz from one of the best wordsmiths of his generation. For those who are looking to read the Lensman series for the 1st time you will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
"Doc" Smith wrote "The Enormous Thing" style of SciFi, galaxy spanning with evil bug eyed monsters, gorgeous women and handsome muscular hero's, machines to smash planets together and destroy suns and only time to say "gosh".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.