Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those at degree level Law, either LLB or BA.
Containing more legal terms than a student of the subject is likely to need, the Dictionary comes in a easy to read format. It covers not only the current legal terms but also those with historical significance for the legal historian. This book is a must buy for any Law student.
Published on 9 Sept. 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version - Osborn's LAw Dictionary
I bought this e dictionary fully expecting to have the standard dictionary search facility, as in the Oxford English dictionary. All it has is a word search, so if you look up "common law" you get 233 hits. As an e dictionary it is a complete waste of money. The problem is, how to you browse an e book before you buy it.
Published on 12 Mar. 2011 by Jude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those at degree level Law, either LLB or BA., 9 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
Containing more legal terms than a student of the subject is likely to need, the Dictionary comes in a easy to read format. It covers not only the current legal terms but also those with historical significance for the legal historian. This book is a must buy for any Law student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystifies legal jargon, 23 Nov. 2002
Since I bought this book, I have thrown its predecessor dictionary away. The previous one was slightly cheaper and included, oddly, lots of basic law terms (which one would understand anyway) and omitted the more arcane ones (which were the reason for buying the book in the 1st place). Simple test for a dictionary: remember the last few legal terms with which you were unfamiliar, go into the nearest bookshop and look them up. This book is excellent for its coverage of Latin and Norman French 'legalese' as well as terms that have fallen into disuse many centuries ago (save for in the language used by certain Law Lords until recently!) This is by far the best legal dictionary that you will find - and is worth the investment as, sadly, despite Lord Woolf's attempts, latin phrases still curry favour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 17 Nov. 2009
this is a good concise book, summary introduction law book. ideal for first years at the start of their course

look atMooting and Advocacy Skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for LLB students, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Mrs. K. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary (Paperback)
I got this as an after thought after spending a lot of money on the set text books, and so far it is the most used one. It gives clear definitions, and as it is so small you can carry it around even when you're juggling a lot of stuff. I know by the time you've got the rest of the books you wont want to spend more money, but trust me this book is the one you will use the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary, 13 Mar. 2006
Written in a VERY concise and clear manner. easy to follow and understand. terms given are perfectly understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary 11th Edition, 11 Aug. 2010
The legal explanations are clear and easy to understand. The contents are easy for law students to understand. There are some examples given to certain legal terms.

Worth buying for law students as it is user-friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
normal dictionary. I use it well. It's small enough to carry around with my other heavy textbooks without me having to debate whether I should leave it home because it would add substantial weight to my bag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book well worth the money, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Really well written and easy to follow. Bought it for Social Work. Highly recommended for a good introduction to law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful basic piece of kit, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
P. Blackett (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good basic reference work for those needing to understand legal terms from time to time in their day to day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I GOT THIS 1 BECAUSE I COULD NOT AFFORD THE 12TH EDITION AT THE MOMENT BUT THIS WILL DO.

PERRYSHUFFLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary
Osborn's Concise Law Dictionary by Sheila Bone (Paperback - 24 Aug. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews