Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone that thinks they think!
Taoism (pronounced Daoism) is an easy concept to grasp, but like all ways of thought can be a bit dry to swallow. The Tao of Pooh and the Te of Piglet provides a much more palatable form to digest this ancient Chinese philosophy. It is even possible to see how the application of the ideas exhibited in The Tao of Pooh over the next ten years was able to influence the...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by Demos Gehenna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very uneven introduction to Taoism
At times Benjamin Hoff is utterly brilliant. Especially when he takes examples from the original Pooh books and use them to explain Daoist concepts that can be quite obscure to an uninitiated reader. Sadly, the brilliance is counterbalanced by long ranty, and judgemental sections that doesn't at all fit with my understanding of Daoism.
Published 18 months ago by Tomas Folke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone that thinks they think!, 25 Oct 2007
By 
Demos Gehenna (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
Taoism (pronounced Daoism) is an easy concept to grasp, but like all ways of thought can be a bit dry to swallow. The Tao of Pooh and the Te of Piglet provides a much more palatable form to digest this ancient Chinese philosophy. It is even possible to see how the application of the ideas exhibited in The Tao of Pooh over the next ten years was able to influence the writing of the Te of Piglet, which is an even easier read, but provides even more depth. An outstanding two books in one cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the tao of pooh and te of piglet, 18 Jan 2008
By 
S. smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
This book is great, if you love fables, parables, good humour, little known truths about the state of our planet and us then you will love this. It is so unique and funny, a little sad in places, amazing teachings, a real philosophers gem. There is something in this book for everyone as most of my family and friends of various age, gender and walk of life have a copy. Highly recommended for the enlightened, unenlightened and soon to be enlightened. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity itself, 2 Sep 2002
Taoism is an incredibly complicated philosophy to get to grips with. There are so many in depth points to take in and mull over that many people fall by the wayside without ever really getting into it.
Twaddle.
The Tao follows a natural, calm, and simple path. So why are there so many books on the subject which seem to try and impress you with how clever the author is?
Benjamin Hoff has taken a very refreshing view on the subject, and setting his ego to one side has created two books which no home should be without. The basic tenets of Taoism follow a simple, effortless existence. The very state of mind which children have, and adults could do with visiting a little more often. Through the characters of Pooh and his friends Mr Hoff guides us through Taoism in a friendly, comforting way. With the contradictory Dry/Sweet humor inherent in Pooh you will find yourself happily strolling through the Hundred Acre Wood, and out the other side. Having collected a lot of the foundations of Taoism, without even having to think about it. Let Mr Hoff take you back to when you were being read stories of Pooh, and return a wiser person.
The second book takes you further into the Tao, concentrating more on Piglet, The Small. Find yourself taking part in all the stories within and realise that no matter what obstacles are ahead, nothing is out of reach, even for little Piglet.
I first read this book in a hotel room where it sat next to the Gideons Bible(No offence Gideon, but I've read it). Since that time I have found myself buying a new copy each year as a friend picks it up, starts reading, and somehow manages to leave with it.
Two beautiful books which you will want to read time and time again. As indeed will your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun yet informative., 8 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
When I came across this book in the philosophy section of a bookstore I was both amazed and confused. I wanted to know more about so I picked it up and read the synopsis. I was so intrigued by it that I decided to buy the book. Reading the book for the first time I felt like a child again, the way the writer structured the book as a story made it so much easier to understand the complexity of Taoism. Well worth the read if you want to be enlightened and amused at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wisdom of the simple minded, 12 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
The Tao of Pooh and Te of Piglet is an inspiring read, taking complex and often distant Taoist philosophy and bringing it into simple terms for the reader.

The book is throughout accompanied by a "feel good" comic aspect, with the author often adressing Pooh bear directly when explaining complex philosophical ideals such as "P'u"- the uncarved block.

This style of writing leaves it an attractive read to even those who prehaps rarley pick up a book, simply because of its playful nature, by bringing philosophy such as this in such simple terms to the western world Hoff has done what was thought impossible, combining the eastern, and western teaching in a, if not slightly odd, harmony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 15 Jan 2012
By 
K. P. Borley "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Battlesbridge, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Would you like to have an understanding of the basics of Taoism? In the past have you browsed through the books on Taoism in Waterstones, read a few lines which made no sense at all and promplty returned the book on the shelf? Did you go as far as to actually purchase Lao-tzu's Tao Te Ching only to have it sitting on your shelf as an ornament, occasionally picked up, a few lines read and then promptly put back in-situ (maybe I'll read it another time)? But there is something inside you of course that wants to know more about Taoism, you have a deep rooted feeling that it will be good for you, almost as if your higher self is pushing you towards it. Well all is fine, you have been going with the flow recently, taking life as it comes and finding things a lot easier, and you have ended up here reading these reviews. You will notice that everyone has given 5 stars, of course they have, this is a delightful book. This is where you will get your first understanding of the principles of Taoism, of going with the flow, of the uncarved block, etc. The principles of Taoism here are put simply (which is always better). Gone are the abstract quotes (now what do they mean by this?). It's a delightful read, with the help of our friends from the 100 Acre Wood (even Eeyore has something important to teach us), wonderfully written by the sincere and genuine Benjamin Hoff. This isn't a guy who is in this for the money, he loves his Taoism, he loves his Pooh, and wants more people to benefit from the ancient chinese teachings. You so often read claims of books that will 'change your life' but they never really do. Well this one might, probably in a gentle subtle way to begin with (which is always better). You must be on your spiritual path to be considering buying this book. Should you buy it? Well, what does your intuition say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Made Simple, 7 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
It is perhaps ironic that the Tao, the essence of simplicity, has given rise to so many impenetrable works purporting to explain it. This book however, is different in its simplicity, and could justifiably be considered an allegory of the Tao itself. To read this book is to sit at the feet of a master - Winnie the Pooh, a simple follower of the Tao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judgement Te, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
I am relatively new to this Taoist thing but I have several versions of the Tao Te Ching all of which give me a deep inner calmness and focus on life (I could get all intellectual and state my preference of translation but I will leave that to all of the Owls and Rabbits out there) but when times get tough I always go back to the Tao of Pooh as the concept of a bear (Of very little brain)being the ultimate western Taoist is simply superb and the illustrative narration by Mr Hoff is a simple yet charming and enlightening introduction to Taoism.

Having worshipped the Tao of Pooh I was however disappointed with the Te of Piglet as it just seemed to be an endless angry rant about how we (Humans)have ruined our planet which was something of a shame - Judgement Te will come, of that I have no doubt but "We are where we are" so why so serious Mr Hoff?

"Immersed in the wonder of the Tao, you can deal with whatever life brings you, and when death comes you are ready" (Tao Te Ching - Mitchell)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very uneven introduction to Taoism, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
At times Benjamin Hoff is utterly brilliant. Especially when he takes examples from the original Pooh books and use them to explain Daoist concepts that can be quite obscure to an uninitiated reader. Sadly, the brilliance is counterbalanced by long ranty, and judgemental sections that doesn't at all fit with my understanding of Daoism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calmness personified, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) (Paperback)
My brother got this book for me when I was going through a rough patch. It is calmness personified. It has a beautiful flow and gentle humour to it. I particularly like pg.144 which is all about buying shoes that you don't need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh)
The Tao of Pooh & The Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh) by Benjamin Hoff (Paperback - 1 Jun 2002)
8.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews