Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift
Bought this as a christening gift and the parents were really happy with it. (The baby is too young to appreciate it yet!)

It looks good and of course contains all the Winnie the Pooh stories and the ORIGINAL ILLUSTRATIONS by E H Shepard which were so lovely.
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Mrs. J. Lester

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful edition, bad printing
This is likely the most handsome edition of the Winnie-the-Pooh stories published in recent decades. Unfortunately, the printing of the illustrations (apparently reproduced from at least two or three different sources, or using vastly different scan settings) is less than stellar. Throughout the first book (Winnie-the-Pooh) and much of the second (The House at Pooh...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Benjamin Stone


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Lester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this as a christening gift and the parents were really happy with it. (The baby is too young to appreciate it yet!)

It looks good and of course contains all the Winnie the Pooh stories and the ORIGINAL ILLUSTRATIONS by E H Shepard which were so lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Collection of Stories, 11 Jun 2009
I found this book wonderful. It contained all the well known Winnie the Pooh stories and ones that are not so well known.
I also found this product a wonderful 1st birthday or christening gift that children or adults can treasure for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bed time read for all ages, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Winnie-the-Pooh (Hardcover)
YOu can never go wrong with Winnie-the-Pooh. A. A. Milne's stories about these woodland dwelling toys are a delight! No matter your age, there is enjoyment for everyone in these witty, intelligent and touching tales. I defy anyone to dislike these timeless joyful yarns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book to own, 10 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you have been brought up on Pooh or not it's good to have all the stories you knew, and even some you didn't, in one book.
Nice and big and good bedtime reading, maybe a bit heavy for kids to take to bed, but I'd say if you wanted to get Mum or Dad a present for having read them to you a few years ago, this nicely presented book with it's solid slide-in box cover would be perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keepsake, 22 Feb 2009
By 
L. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fabulous collection of stories in hardcover book, presented in a keepsake box. Would make a lovely present for newborn, birthday, christening or any adult who just loves winnie the pooh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 4 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie-the-Pooh (Kindle Edition)
Kindle arrived an hour ago and went on charge. Had worried about "setting up the wifi" - pushed one button and all was well.

But what book to introduce myself to this new technology?

For some unknown reason I hit Winnie-the-Pooh. No idea why. Probably because it was free and I thought it would be a trivial giggle.

I was and am blown away, gob smacked and totally wowed!

I did not know that the illustrations would be included, or that they would be rendered so clearly and wonderfully.

I could not believe how easy it was to start a "kiddies book" and be unable to stop reading.

Having downloaded loads of classics with grand plans of going all intelligentsia, I may just stay in 100 acres wood and revel in the joys of timeless master-class penmanship.

If you get a moment and are thinking "what to try next" please, please download Winnie-the-Pooh.

I honestly don't care what happens now. Reading Winnie has justified buying a Kindle. The rest is just gravy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood nostalgia condensed in this magical volume, 16 Aug 2001
By A Customer
As a fan of Winnie the Pooh throughout my childhood, i was delighted to find this treasury. A A Milne's character & poems are brought to life by the brilliant illustrations and artwork. My copy will be passed down a few generations at least...a must for all Pooh fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful edition, bad printing, 13 Mar 2012
By 
This is likely the most handsome edition of the Winnie-the-Pooh stories published in recent decades. Unfortunately, the printing of the illustrations (apparently reproduced from at least two or three different sources, or using vastly different scan settings) is less than stellar. Throughout the first book (Winnie-the-Pooh) and much of the second (The House at Pooh Corner) the drawings are either pale or have a distinct yellow tint, or both. The two collections of poems fare much better. It's a shame really, since otherwise the book is beautifully put together. Ironically, in the American complete edition, published by Dutton, the color balance is fine but the saturation is way too high, giving the pictures a candy-flavored appearance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah... The Great Tales Of Winnie The Pooh, 7 Jan 2005
By 
J. Maddison "Bunchuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a Truly Brilliant Book!!!!! Im 16 and I still love Winnie The Pooh. The stories are always Funny and Interesting the Characters Loveable. Its truly a classic children's tale and should be read to all children. Nowadays all children do is watch TV Children Programmes But I think that Stories Should Have The Equal share in a Child's Enjoyment. For They Promote and Encourage a truly active Imagination.
This Book Is The Best Example of Classic Childhood Story Telling. Its Just So Involving and Fun, Its Unbeatable. (That's My Rant) This Book is Full amazing Illustration great tales and will be a firm source of bedtime reading for Many Weeks To Come!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 2 Dec 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie-the-Pooh (Kindle Edition)
Amazon have a habit of adding reviews from one format into another, this review is for the Kindle version, I have no control as to which format this review appears under. So disregard if viewing anything other than the Kindle version.

I don't understand why I managed to get this for free as a classic book, and now Amazon are selling it for nearly 4 GBP. It may be worth waiting and see if it drops back into the free classics.

The text alignment is good, no split paragraphs as I have seen in other e-book scans. I did notice some spelling mistakes and odd characters in place of punctuation marks, but a later re-download seems to have corrected most, if not all of these flaws.

This is a timeless classic book of Winnie-the-pooh and friends that can be read to children time and time again. I had it read to me as a child, I have read it to mine and one day I hope to be reading this to my grandchildren. There is a innocent comical edge to this book which explores the relationships and adventures between some of the most famous characters from our earliest days.

I let my children watch the Disney film before I read this to them. It helped them visualise the characters and hear their voices which greatly helped me as I am no storyteller!

A beautiful book that children (and some adults) will always love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

The Winnie the Pooh Collection
The Winnie the Pooh Collection by A. A. Milne (Hardcover - 3 Sep 1990)
Used & New from: 24.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews