Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
What a great book. For anyone interested in experimenting with electronic sound-making, no previous experience is needed as it starts from a very basic and accessible level to more complex circuits with oscillators, VCOs and sequencers.

Taking an approach that hands-on music making is a needed balance to the world of music software, this alllows you to get...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by D

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the ultimate
This a good book for those interested in messing around with electronic components and making some music.

I do not give it 5 stars mainly because the early chapters are rather too basic. There are loads of electronic books with chapters on "how to solder". I'd rather seen more in-depth projects with better circuit diagrams. One other problem is that you have to...
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by Mr. A. J. Miles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
What a great book. For anyone interested in experimenting with electronic sound-making, no previous experience is needed as it starts from a very basic and accessible level to more complex circuits with oscillators, VCOs and sequencers.

Taking an approach that hands-on music making is a needed balance to the world of music software, this alllows you to get stuck from early on. There are plenty of projects to keep the tinkerer busy for weeks, nay months, and it also dips into circuit bending.

Written in a lively and interesting style, this 2nd edition of the book also includes a DVD demonstrating the projects and clips of sound artists' work. What a bargain!! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative Swiss Army knife, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic general introduction to the world of experimental electronica, circuit bending and hardware hacking.

It would be perfect for art school students, artists and anyone who uses words like 'upcylcling', 'repurposing' and/or 'glitch' who wish to explore their ideas through hacked sound and visuals.

It makes few assumptions and takes you through safe working practices, how to solder and a little (necessary) physics (Ohm's law).

It introduces basic components and what hardware can be hacked to get them. Pretty much every bit of knowledge and every idea are illustrated with a mini project, experiment, suggestion or example.

Those keen to learn about how to make basic analogue synth’s may find they skim up to Part IV (like me). Initially I wondered if this would mean the book would represent poor value-for-money but the ‘Building’ section is explained and illustrated so well that I'm happy to pay the price for this part alone. Thanks to this book I can now look at schematics and (very slowly) decipher what's going on and therefore what parts are likely to yield interesting results from component changes, shorts and feedback.

You’re still going to have to put the hours in but this book is an essential Swiss Army knife of ideas that will see you through your first adventures into hacking electronica.

My only wish is that there was another section building upon parts IV and VI (waveforms, ADSR etc) but I suspect the author would feel there’s enough information in the book to engage in a creative process to deconstruct existing kit, work it out yourself and maybe come up with something new in the process.

An essential go to book for any creative bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book, 7 Dec 2010
By 
A. R. Capon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
This is very nicely written book by someone that knows what they are talking about.

A nice read indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
It's not very thorough in any aspect. It contains some information about electronics basics, circuit bending and hacking, some overview about sound art and in the end there are some easy but interesting projects that help you get started with building your own electronic instruments. I think that the book is inspiringly written and a good starting point where to start your further studies in electronics and in sound art...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good guideline, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
good for beginners to intermediate electronics, sometimes a little unclear, but searches on the internet solves that problem.

recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for noise hackers, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
A very interesting and engaging book, the breadboard examples are my favourites and I'd like to see a whole book of more of this in the future too perhaps, but the whole book is essential reading for anyone who likes to create or manipulate sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the ultimate, 25 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
This a good book for those interested in messing around with electronic components and making some music.

I do not give it 5 stars mainly because the early chapters are rather too basic. There are loads of electronic books with chapters on "how to solder". I'd rather seen more in-depth projects with better circuit diagrams. One other problem is that you have to have a few dozen components hanging around to do any of the projects.

It's a good book but it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 Feb 2013
By 
A. W. Box "AWB" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking (Paperback)
I don't think I got anything out of this. Unless you have lots of discarded electrical goods laying around or you spend time at the local dump it is going to cost you.
A month later-
Having said that I have to admit that on a subsequent reading there is one section in the middle of the book that did prove worthwhile of further study. I'll stick with my rating though as it hasn't raised my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking
Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of Hardware Hacking by Nicolas Collins (Paperback - 9 July 2009)
£28.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews