Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2011
I agree with the first reviewer that the type errors are pretty bad in this Routledge book alas and it does seem as if they really couldn't be bothered. However, as for the philosophy, it is fantastic. It is a very lucid book overall but this is only because I am reading around it with secondary literature. If you have the time to do this, and moreover if it is necessary for study you are pursuing then one finds that every seemingly poetic inference Merleau-Ponty makes actually has great philosophical importance to it in arguing his position. There are admittedly a great many examples that Merleau-Ponty draws on to illustrate his criticism of traditional philosophical positions in the first half of the book and this can get a bit tiring, but this does serve to clarify the conceptual ground he is clearing very well so that one can really understand where he is coming from in laying down his account of perception in the latter half. Overall a vital read for philosophers and those interested in the most important and pressing epistemological and ontological questions of today.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
As I read this book, in a kind of ecstasy I cherish the occasion it gives me for thought and speech. The unlimited fecundity and clairvoyance of Merleau-Ponty's careful guidance is, however, marred by the carelessness of the preparation of this volume. Obvious typographical errors betray both the original text and Colin Smith's translation.

E.g. 'pute sensation' (for 'pure') p. 3, 'reflex are theory' (for 'arc') p. 8, 'receive' (for 'receiver') p. 8.

I appreciate Routledge bringing out a series of wide-ranging and important texts (many in translation) at a price affordable for most. However, the editing or typesetting mistakes occurring every other page give the impression that this edition has been prepared either without competence or without genuine interest.

I recommend buying a different edition of this book.
55 comments|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I am still reading it and it is part of my studies. This is possibly a better translation then the last one. The preface and other starts to the book are heavy going though.Many important questions are raised and to really understand the book these need to be studied but are better discussed so as to glean the full meanings.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
It is perfectly laughable to be asked by Amazon to review a dense, complex, major text of C20 European philosophy in a few sentences a week or two after purchasing it. Ask me again in six months, after I have read it and discussed it sentence by sentence with fellow-members of a philosophy seminar. In the meantime there are reviews and critiques of a few thousand words to be found in academic journals and text-books.

It must be understood that Amazon's title and attribution are completely wrong. The book is not an introduction; nor is it by Taylor Carman. It is by Maurice Merleau-Ponty; it is a full exposition of his philosophy at this stage of his career; and Taylor Carman's contribution to this English translation is one of three introductory essays for English readers.

For now, all I can say is: if you want one of the principal contributions to the development of post-Husserlian phenomenology, and of C20 philosophy outside the Anglo-American analytic sphere in general, buy it and struggle with it. If you want a good read to while away a long train-journey, don't.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 July 2013
I would go so far as to say that Merleau-Ponty's The Phenomoenology of Perception is very far from being a "Forgotten Book", as claimed by the publishers of this 'classic reprint'. If it were forgotten, there would not be numerous students' guides and commentaries on offer. Moreover, there would be el cheapo vintage copies, many of them ex-library, to buy as there are for truly 'forgotten' books.

This is a classic text of philosophy and still very much alive. Second-hand copies are in short supply, due to high demand. Therefor it is obvious to reprint it. So far so good. My problem is not with Merleau-Ponty's at-times-impenetrable, but also rivetting, prose, but with the print quality of this edition. Some very nice books are published by being scanned from the original. This is not one of them. The low quality of the paper and binding are excused by the budget price. Nothing excuses the poor quality of the scan on which this is based. The letters are faint and wobbly and frequently fade out altogether. Enough to give anyone a headache. It's like trying to read while blind drunk. The fuzzy, intermittent text seems to dance on the page. Nasty. It gets worse. The copy which has been scanned has been scribbled in by a previous owner. On page xi of the preface we are already faced with a paragraph someone has outlined in pen. Odd words are underlined. Blots and ticks appear. I was waiting for the coffee stain. Instead I got page 147, which had faded to a mere shadow. It was not alone. Page 274 was a whisper, whole words illegible, the footnotes a spidersweb of half-formed letters.

I need this book and haven't got time to send it back and source another one. I am very displeased. I will not be buying from this publisher again.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
One of the granddads of phenomenology. If you are interested in phenomenology, research into the experience of living, where perception and perceiver are not separate, this is a great place to start.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a great shame Merleau-Ponty didn't write more simply and concisely. This is a major work of philosophy, with important original ideas within it.

But it's difficult to sort the message out from the book. I don't think this is a translation problem- a French friend of mine says the original French is still difficult.

I recommend the book, but warn readers it's not an easy read. However if you are a phenomenologist at some stage you'll have to tackle it.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Rich and informative material, fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
Good book. Very impressed. Many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Exactly as described, thank you :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)