Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Medicine We Need--Now
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH is a standout choice in understanding why steady state economics is the answer to our current dilemmas. Why? It's the elegant simplicity and regularity of its presentation. First, engaging anecdotes set the stage. 2) Undeniable data and simple graphs make the reason for change clear. 3)This is followed by a no-nonsense listing of what needs to be...
Published 19 months ago by Carolyn A. (Cary) Neeper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
The title of this book is spot on but i feel some of the points made are a bit niave. We can only wish for humanity to say enough is enough but i fear it will never happen. Tax is part of the answer but also we need to change our philosophy and attitude to wanteing "stuff". Until that happens there will be more books like this in the future. And that is very sad.
Published 6 months ago by Mr. M. S. Pierson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Medicine We Need--Now, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH is a standout choice in understanding why steady state economics is the answer to our current dilemmas. Why? It's the elegant simplicity and regularity of its presentation. First, engaging anecdotes set the stage. 2) Undeniable data and simple graphs make the reason for change clear. 3)This is followed by a no-nonsense listing of what needs to be done.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH's crystal clear how and why make it a book for anyone, and an excellent text for students of any age preparing to design the future. Rob Dietz and Dan O'Neill have handed us the prescription we need to cure the ills of our overused planet and to secure a perpetual, humane future for its life. There is no illegible scrawl in the prescription. The directions are precisely laid out--even the troublesome imperatives, like population stability. The authors introduce each chapter with engaging anecdotes, and illustrate data with simple graphs. A striking conclusion expresses the need to recognize which nations need economic development to attain a good life for their people, which countries should maintain their steady state, and those that need to plan and execute substantial degrowth. The benefits of a no-growth economy are beautifully summarized near the end, along with extensive notes on sources of information and a usefully detailed index. It should be required reading, not just for students.

Buried in the authors' reasoning, which tells us why we must take this medicine, are concepts we can all expand on--the need for technical development that is rationally selective, the need for legal ethics that do not allow the obfuscation of truth, and the need to deny business ethics that trample integrity in pursuit of the bottom line.

Dietz and O'Neill's pills may seem difficult to swallow, but you will find they go down easily, for their necessity is made quite clear. We all want the same thing. We want human genius and the awesome beauty and diversity of life on Earth to survive the long-run--with health, ever-growing enlightenment, and joy in living for all. They outline a good plan for how to achieve that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If enough of us read Enough Is Enough, we may have a lever long enough..., 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
The cartoons alone (by Polyp) are worth the price of this remarkable book - which in its mere 206 pages provides possibly the best and most relevant big picture understanding of the economy anywhere. That's a lot of punch for such a short book, but Rob Dietz and Dan O'Neill accomplish this by being simultaneously smart economists AND smart communicators. Although the topic is daunting - ultimately: the trajectory of civilization; and our opportunity to act NOW to create the best future possible for those we love - Enough Is Enough is both easy enough to read AND smart enough to challenge the assumptions, thinking, and actions of ANY economist.

Several features are responsible for this rare confluence - easy enough AND smart enough - and they warrant calling out: each chapter (1) is headed by a laser-sharp, on-topic cartoon; (2) is explicitly titled in a logical, step-by-step progression; (3) begins with a short but poignant quote by a notable person; and additionally, the book (4) uses plenty of everyday anecdotes and analogies that contribute immeasurably to its accessibility and clarity; (5) has collected some of the most telling graphs of our times; and (6) represents, as the authors acknowledge, the collected wisdom of lots and lots of the greatest thinkers in this field; and (7) the authors really want us to understand this complex, multi-disciplinary subject, and that meant they were willing to work really hard so we wouldn't have to.

As we read the book, I suspect they want us to save our energy for the next phase, the action phase. Fair enough! It's our turn to read Enough Is Enough; to encourage our family, friends, colleagues, and policy makers to, also; and to take the wisdom of Enough Is Enough out into the world to create the best future we can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Enough really is the best way forward, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
Enough is Enough is a detailed yet accessible guide that offers a vision for a just, sustainable and equitable future for the whole planet as suitable for the economist looking for alternative views as the layman looking for deeper understanding of the current problems and how to extricate ourselves.

In a world driven by always wanting more Rob Dietz and Dan O'Neil introduce and elucidate the potentially revolutionary concept of 'enough'. This is a real addition to the literature on how humanity can progress and indeed what constitutes progress. It forces us to consider complex issues such as what constitutes a good life and what is 'sufficient'. These are questions that have been ignored by traditional economics but this book tackles in an interesting and accessible way.

The book clearly outlines the triple crunch of economic disaster, ecological collapse and population expansion that we currently face and, in contrast to many books, offers practical and tested ideas of how to move away from these destructive behaviours and adopt the policies of a Steady State Economy. This truly is a hopeful and inspiring book. Read it and the world will never quite look the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rational Economics, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
I recently finished Enough is Enough, and found the arguments contained in it very compelling. This is a book about the fundamentals of economics, but, as the book explains, it is quite a different approach to mainsstream economics taught in universities. And you don't need to be an economist to follow the reasoning. This is based on reasoning from the basic facts of life - 1 planet, a growing population, increasing signs of resource depletion and ecosystem disruption - and from there lays out the basic principles that any economic system should follow. In short, that is a steady state economy, that doesn't need growth to function.

It is well referenced, with plenty of tips for further reading, and with each chapter is an introduction that relates the big ideas to everyday life. It is an easy read - much like an introduction to some very big ideas, but is sure to inspire further thoughts and interest. It is in all of our interests that as many people as possible read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Enough, 26 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
Last month I attended the launch of Enough is Enough by Dietz and O'Neill, founding members of CASSE, the Centre for the Advancement of the Steady-State Economy.

Everyone should read this book. The authors quote Kenneth Boulding, "Anyone who believes exponential growth can go on forever is either a madman or an economist," and go on to explain in detail why this is true. Of course this story has been told many times before, in An Inconvenient Truth and The Age of Stupid among many others. An Inconvenient Truth tucked its recommendations for action away among the closing credits while The Age of Stupid was a festival of hand-wringing over what went wrong. Where Enough is Enough scores is that after describing the present situation it constantly asks "What could we do differently?" and "Where do we go from here?" Most of the answers are very sensible, although I do take issue with their idea of lowering productivity to provide more jobs. Why not increase productivity and provide more leisure? But that's a debate for another time.
The key issue, of course, is to get enough people to realise that we need fundamental change and to support that change. Maybe we'll get to that tipping point, but the problem is that too many people have too much to lose if they step away from the present system.

The book is full of cartoons and many of them cheapen its image. They give the impression that the cause of all the world's problems is cynical and corrupt capitalists. It isn't nearly as simple as that. There are signs that some business leaders are beginning to get the message, and pitting one section of the community against another is not only no solution, it's a waste of the very limited time we have to get things under control.

There's much to be done. Enough is Enough is a useful route map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A realistic way forward, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
Why don't all the dummies out there get reasonable and come to terms with ENOUGH IS ENOUGH? Do they expect the poor old Earth to cough up ever more in order to satiate their unquenchable thirst for More?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets a new paradigm for economics, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
Everyone should read this book. Ambitious though it may be It gives a clear direction for a better future for the whole world. The analysis of our present woes is precise and pulls no punches. In my opinion it's the only way forward for all of us, rich and poor. We're facing the abyss and if we don't change direction we're all going to fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for every voter, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough is Enough (Kindle Edition)
This book is especially topical following the recent agonising in the UK media over the lack of economic growth in the UK and Europe.

It explains why economic growth (as measured by Gross Domestic Product, GDP), cannot continue to rise indefinitely because it is becoming limited by physical resources. The recent shale gas bonanza in the USA has extended the availability of cheap energy for a few more years, but the logic is inescapable and even there the limit will be reached before long. When the limit is reached (and perhaps it already has been for the UK and Europe), politicians and governments will no longer be able rely on economic growth to reduce poverty and unemployment.

The book goes on to propose measures that can be taken by individual countries and by international co-operation to run steady-state economies. As a scientist, I am not able to evaluate the measures proposed but I am happy to know that serious economic research is being done for the future and that a steady state world may be not only be achievable but may be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding read, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
It is impossible for economic growth to continue forever, but almost every country in the world plans as though it will. Even today's typical environmentalist overlooks population growth and pretends that sustainability and growth are compatible. Deitz and O'Neill lay out an outstanding case for why perpetual growth is impossible, and what we can start doing about it right now. For a book about an academic subject, it is remarkably entertaining and easy to follow.

This book is a must-read for anyone who considers themselves an environmentalist. It's time to change the conversation about economic growth, and Enough is Enough is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Signposts to a new Economics, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources (Paperback)
This is the most useful and thought provoking book that I’ve read in a long time.
In the sixties, I read E. F. Schumacher’s ‘Small is Beautiful’ and wondered why nobody else was preaching the same gospel that there must be limits to growth because of the finite limits of our planet.
Since then, in spite of the moderate growth of the Green Party, most politicians have ignored these limits and focused their policies on Growth as a doctrine as if there are no limits.
Even Schumacher’s own charity, previously named The Schumacher Centre for Technology & Development and which coined the phrase ‘appropriate technology’ has been renamed ‘Practical Action’ and is now just one of many charities encouraging small scale technological solutions to world development problems.
This book shows that Schumacher’s work was not in vain and following recent financial crises, others are looking for a different way to do economics, as set out in several recent books by economist, Herman Daly and ongoing current work by CASSE (the Centre for Advancement of the Steady State Economy).
This book suggests ways forward from the current economic crisis to a steady state economy world- wide and indicates possible steps towards that end. The book is not pessimistic but forward looking and does not shy from the big issues affecting our world economy today including: Over-Production, Control of Population, World Inequality, Financial Debt, Incorrect Aims focused on Growth, Unemployment, and World Trade.
It shows how, starting from here, we can achieve a fair and equal society, world-wide by changing public attitudes step by step.
Based in Oregon, USA and Leeds, UK the authors are practical economists working today and trying to change attitudes today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources
11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews