Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2012
As a Chartered Building Surveyor I was after a guide that was a quick reference to confirm my "thoughts". This is not the book for that. The book itself is nearly 2 inches thick - maybe the"in brief" is a little misleading. Secondly, the book is not set out per parts of the Approved Documents (ie A, B, etc but per building element (ie walls, roofs, etc) which makes it slower to reference for someone who has knowledge as to how the building regulations are structured.

I think that this book would suit builders or homeowners as people who need to know what the requirements are without understanding the full context, but for Architects / professional users this is not the book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
If you are a Chartered Building Surveyor who is familiar with the building regs and how they are written in order like document a, b, etc this book is not for you as it is divided into building sections i.e roofs, walls etc and the building regs requirements for every section however, the book is really good for the average builder, trader or DYI enthusiast who is looking for a book to know what to do and how to comply without having to understand every bit of the regulations.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I have always found the building regulations to be put together by 'legal people', for 'legal people'. And in practice the official documents are not much good for the average person actually working on site who are required to comply with them - Builders, carpenters, plumbers and electricians. This book consolidates all the information, by their application, which makes it the perfect reference guide for the average tradesman or DIY'er. Small enough to keep in the van, and cost effective. It will certainly be remaining in my van for future reference.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
It dosen't matter if your an Architect or site Carpenter, owning a copy of this book is a must for anyone working within the built environment in the U.K.
As an Estimator/CAD Technician and one time site carpenter I use this book everyday at work. I also use it as to help me with my University Degree course studies.

Rather than thumbing through each and every Approved Document "Building Regulations in Brief" gives you the answers to the most common construction problems/details.

I highly reccomend it!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
A comprehensive guide to the 'regs' with the requirements logically grouped together. A time-saving invaluable resource that will remain close to hand for planning jobs as well as for on-site reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
This Book is well suited to meet the needs of every day life at work, i have referred to it on many occasion for clarification.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
the book helped me in my work and college it covers what a small builder needs and is easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
A topic that needs constant updating. A must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Brilliant and very comprehensive!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)