Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for some but not for others
If you are a Chartered Building Surveyor who is familiar with the building regs and how they are written in order like document a, b, etc this book is not for you as it is divided into building sections i.e roofs, walls etc and the building regs requirements for every section however, the book is really good for the average builder, trader or DYI enthusiast who is looking...
Published 10 months ago by Alan Sanchez

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a beginners guide
As a Chartered Building Surveyor I was after a guide that was a quick reference to confirm my "thoughts". This is not the book for that. The book itself is nearly 2 inches thick - maybe the"in brief" is a little misleading. Secondly, the book is not set out per parts of the Approved Documents (ie A, B, etc but per building element (ie walls, roofs, etc) which makes it...
Published 21 months ago by Rupert Elliott Consulting


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a beginners guide, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
As a Chartered Building Surveyor I was after a guide that was a quick reference to confirm my "thoughts". This is not the book for that. The book itself is nearly 2 inches thick - maybe the"in brief" is a little misleading. Secondly, the book is not set out per parts of the Approved Documents (ie A, B, etc but per building element (ie walls, roofs, etc) which makes it slower to reference for someone who has knowledge as to how the building regulations are structured.

I think that this book would suit builders or homeowners as people who need to know what the requirements are without understanding the full context, but for Architects / professional users this is not the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for some but not for others, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
If you are a Chartered Building Surveyor who is familiar with the building regs and how they are written in order like document a, b, etc this book is not for you as it is divided into building sections i.e roofs, walls etc and the building regs requirements for every section however, the book is really good for the average builder, trader or DYI enthusiast who is looking for a book to know what to do and how to comply without having to understand every bit of the regulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building regulations for the practical person, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
I have always found the building regulations to be put together by 'legal people', for 'legal people'. And in practice the official documents are not much good for the average person actually working on site who are required to comply with them - Builders, carpenters, plumbers and electricians. This book consolidates all the information, by their application, which makes it the perfect reference guide for the average tradesman or DIY'er. Small enough to keep in the van, and cost effective. It will certainly be remaining in my van for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
This Book is well suited to meet the needs of every day life at work, i have referred to it on many occasion for clarification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
the book helped me in my work and college it covers what a small builder needs and is easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone working within the built environment, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Regulations in Brief (Paperback)
It dosen't matter if your an Architect or site Carpenter, owning a copy of this book is a must for anyone working within the built environment in the U.K.
As an Estimator/CAD Technician and one time site carpenter I use this book everyday at work. I also use it as to help me with my University Degree course studies.

Rather than thumbing through each and every Approved Document "Building Regulations in Brief" gives you the answers to the most common construction problems/details.

I highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65df474)

This product

Building Regulations in Brief
Building Regulations in Brief by Samantha Alford (Paperback - 9 Feb 2012)
28.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews